Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2001
This title is one of my favorites because they have picked a folk law story in our history in the uk and make of it a brillient and very funny carry on film that will pick you up when you are feeling down or just fed up with it all. This film has the very young Barbara windsor staring with Mr Sid James a must for any collection
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2013
This was originally released in 1974 and was the last of the decent period Carry On films, in my opinion. This film also marked the last appearance of Sid James in a Carry On film and I think this is one of his best roles in the series. He died two years later. The plot of this film basically is a send-up of the Dick Turpin legend and I think it is much funnier than most critics would have you believe. Most critics seem to have a universal hatred for this film, but I think their opinions are unjustified and totally inaccurate. I don't trust what they say, because they are wrong most of the time and I rarely agree with their opinions. If you love the Carry On films, or classic British comedies in general, then you won't go wrong with this film. In my opinion, it is one of the best of the series and almost as good as some of their earlier films. Four stars from me, without any hesitation. Just ignore what the critics of this film say, because they are wrong.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2007
I know that this movie is just a crude reworking of the Carry On Don't Lose Your Head which seems to show that poor old Talbot Rothwells writing skills had faltered owing to his health difficulties but it has a special place in Carry On history . They really should have ended on a high with this one because what followed was poor - Carry On Behind was a crude version of Carry On Camping , Carry On England was like the Confessions Film writers doing a spoof of Carry On Sergeant and Carry On Emmannuelle was a mixture of a tierd 1950's trouser dropping farce with soft porn chucked in . This film was the final effort of that great writer Talbot Rothwell and the last film to see acting from Sid James , Barbara Windsor & Hattie Jacques . The humour is getting cruder - but the sight of Sid James as a highwayman is an absolute joy . It was a hit at the cinema and proved that Carry On should have ended on a high . After this That's Carry On ! got the best reception at the cinema because it was true to what the series was all about i.e. cheeky but harmless humour delivered by popular members of the team . The films that followed Carry On Dick where so bad that the finance people failed to fund Carry On Down Under , Carry On Again Nurse or Carry On Dallas as they wanted to make money not lose it . So Carry On Dick although poorer for Charles Hawtry's absence is the last hurrah for a series in decline . Well worth watching if you need reminding how great comic actors can make you laugh ! Looking at what followed it makes you appreciate Talbot Rothwells abilities as a writer more & more .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2000
The gang are back with another outragiously funny carry on movie. This time the gang are back in the 19th century. Dick Turpin (sid james) is running riot from his local parish church with the help of his bell girl (Barbour Winsor)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 August 2015
1974's 'Carry On Dick' was a historical entry in the 'Carry On' movie franchise, in many ways. This period piece marked the last 'Carry On' appearance from Sid James, Barbara Windsor and Hattie Jacques, and it was the last to be penned by Talbot Rothwell, a master of the saucy innuendoes which are running high in this one, the 26th film. Although I adore the following year's 'Carry On Behind', nothing was quite the same after 'Dick'.

Captain Fancey (Kenneth Williams) has an aim in life is to get his hands on the notorious Big Dick Turpin. Together with Sergeant Jock Strapp (Jack Douglas), he enlists the help of Reverend Flasher (Sid James) to help to track the outlaw down. The only problem with the latter is that this Rev isn't all he seems.

This is by no means a perfect 'Carry On', but 'Dick' is still thoroughly entertaining, with the usual endless smut, and good performances from the gifted cast, most of whom are the well-established dream team. There are better historical spoofs in this series for sure, namely 'Up the Khyber', but this one is still far superior to the dire 'England' which followed.

The DVD, like all of the 'Carry On' 'special editions', also contains a collectable booklet with facts, figures and biographies of the actors. You also have a film commentary from Jack Douglas, and one of the better entries in the ITV 'Carry On Laughing' series, the episode 'The Case of the Coughing Parrot', with Douglas and Kenneth Connor playing at detectives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2010
With notorious highwayman Dick Turpin running rampant, it falls to the effete Captain Fancy to bring him to justice. Bawdy comedy featuring all the key members of the Carry On team. All in all it was a very funny film
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2003
Carry on Dick, 1974, marked the end of the truly great carry ons as many of the regualrs left the series fir various reasons. This was the last carry on for babs, sid james and hattie jaques. As with all carry on films there is a quite basic plot: Sid, peter butterworth and babs run a church, but also rob highwaymen on the side ad stash their loot, for later, sale, in the church. Their house keeper ( who doesnt know this)thinks sids a genuine vicar, this sets up for comedy throughout the film as hattie gradulally realises somethings up. Kenny connor, kenny williams and (in an excellent role) jack douglas are the bumbling cops that try to get catch them, headed by big berny breslaw. Eventualy the cops find out its sid etc... this really is one great carry on film. Jack douglas especially is my favourite in this one, although, as ever, all of the cast do a really good job. the jokes are quite low quality (talbot must have been running out of steam), but this is the last great carry, makred particualrly by the last appearance of the three great actors mentioned above. I would STRONGLY recommend anyone buy this
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2008
If you have ever wondered what a director means when he asks for stage presence then look no further, Sid James, Bernie Bresslaw, Joan Sims, Hattie Jaques, Peter Butterworth, Jack Douglas, Kenneth Williams, may be older, but they are in top form. The jokes are not tired they are simply old fasioned. Dont spoil it by revealing the plot, just buy it and enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
This is one of my favourite carry on films before they became to smutty, I have always enjoyed thier historical take ons Sid James in my view really shines in this one as the vicar/dick turpin character and indeed does Bernard Bresslaw as his police chief chief character I have noticed sometimes he is cast as the downtroden and if you will the idiot sidekick but here he takes charge and it's Kenneth Williams who is the fool this time and it's a treat to see Bernard Maynard and there is a bit in where Sid as the Vicar is giving a serman and Bernard M says a classic one liner worth watching just for that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
A must DVD for all the family. Would recommend to all! Very funny to enjoy. A perfect DVD for carry on fans. One of the best films in the series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)