Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorky's just keep gettin' better!, 19 Aug 2003
By 
D. J. Kidd "topmunki" (newcastle, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleep / Holiday (Audio CD)
This new album from much under-rated Gorky's is quite possibly their best since major label debut "Barafundle". The album is the perfect soundtrack to a hazy summer's day and can't help but make you feel all warm and cozy inside! Quite simply, anyone with an ear for good music should own this. Its unmissable- if only the general public knew what they were missing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richard James comes into his own, 7 May 2004
By 
S. P. Maxwell (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleep / Holiday (Audio CD)
I won't comment on the excellent Euros Childs songs here, as they have already been covered by the other reviewers. Instead I want to write about Richard James, who has always been one of the songwriters in the band but who didn't really come to the fore until How I long ... (the early Eating Salt Is Easy being a fine exception to this rule!). On this album, with Shorelight, I feel he achieves greatness for the first time. His distinctive, classically-influenced guitar style, which is present throughout the main body of the song, is beautifully offset by the last, strumming, wordless section, which builds and builds until it can't build any more, then bows out gracefully without outstaying its welcome. I don't know if the violin in this section being so quiet was entirely intentional (I was saddened to see that Gorwel Owen only had a minimal input on this album, a first for Gorky's) but it works, somehow adding rather than diminishing its haunting power. Listening to the album for the first time, this was the first song to really deeply excite me and make me think 'Wow!'. Of course other songs on the album deserve this praise as well, but I think it's worth making a big deal about James's biggest achievement to date! May he continue to flourish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonder!, 28 Oct 2003
By 
Jr Arguile "jaganarthur" (rother district, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleep / Holiday (Audio CD)
This album is so wonderful! Happiness is one of Gorkys' best songs ever, and contrary to one review, the patience needed to get through Pretty as a Bee is exceedingly rewarding. I can only think of "Foot and Mouth", from The Blue Trees, which comes near to this recording. But the stuttering link after the drone of the verse grabs your attention, even though it is only one organ, just like the verse! You just need to be patient and open-minded. And "Pretty as a Bee" ends with a "proper" song which actually feels like a wind down after the faintly uneasy first six minutes or so.
This is again contrary to the other review, but "Red Rocks" emerges as a most beautiful ending to the album. It is very quiet and sad and is perhaps the highlight of this album along with Happiness.
The charm of Gorky's Zygotic Mynci's early stuff remains in Sleep/Holiday, but the ego has left and now they are fine band, and they should be cherished because a band like Gorky's is very rare these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutly one of the best, 14 Dec 2005
This review is from: Sleep / Holiday (Audio CD)
When I first listened to this album, I found it pleasent enough but didn't think that I would come back to it that often. However, I found that I eneded up listening to it every day for a couple of months. I suddenly came to the conclusion that it is one of my favourite albums of all time. I must admit that I did like all the other Gorky albums also, but this one took a bit longer to absorb. I know that Euros Childs has a solo album out soon. Have Gorky's split up? I hope not anyhow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gorky's just keep gettin' better!, 19 Aug 2003
By 
D. J. Kidd "topmunki" (newcastle, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleep / Holiday (Audio CD)
This new album from much under-rated Gorky's is quite possibly their best since major label debut "Barafundle". The album is the perfect soundtrack to a hazy summer's day and can't help but make you feel all warm and cozy inside! Quite simply, anyone with an ear for good music should own this. Its unmissable- if only the general public knew what they were missing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorky spark, 8 May 2005
By 
knowledeayton (Hereford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleep / Holiday (Audio CD)
Sleep / Holiday shows that Gorky's are still capable of poodle rockin' (as on Mow The Lawn, in which Euros talks of how his true love wishes him to get his hair cut because he "couldn't see my tootsies while I'm doing the watusi") and of oddities such as Pretty As A Bee (which evokes memories of their debut Tatay), but largely sees them happily occupying their own niche in the left-field as purveyors of a singular brand of folk-rock. Happiness is one of their most intelligent and beautiful songs to date, and Single To Fairwater possesses a similar wistfulness whilst being sung from the perspective of an emotionally-bruised female ("Of all of my boyfriends, well I hate you the most - to look in your eyes, you're a f*cking disgrace"). When they're on the money, few bands soar like Gorky's.
Similarly, there are few bands that occupy a place in my heart such as Gorky's, but I'll be honest, they can be frustrating. They can produce moments of such sheer, unbridled joy (Barafundle, Spanish Dance Troupe) that when they tread water (Gorky 5, How I Long...) it can be a mildly deflating experience. Of course, it's my own fault to have such perpetually high expectations of them - ultimately, even the 'lesser' Gorky's albums are still worth a field-full of Killers or Kasabians.
Sleep / Holiday, though, is Gorky's on prime form. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 9 July 2004
This review is from: Sleep / Holiday (Audio CD)
at first i was slightly dissapointed by this album, it is somehow more sparse and muted than their previous work. no more harpsichords, choirs or orchestras; instead, the songs are nearly all based around acoustic guitars, piano and violin. however i find it is their warmest, most comforting album yet. my track by track review:
1. Waking for Winter: 9/10 great opener, one of the more upbeat songs on the album and i like the words: (i once new a lady from southend dear sadie, she gets up in the morning her hands they aren't steady)
2. Happiness: 9/10 a classic gorky's ballad with a great chorus and very nice lyrics
3. Mow the Lawn: 6/10 the 'rock' track, amusing if fairly average, not nearly as good as equivalents on earlier albums.
4. Single to Fairwater: 7/10 nice but repetive, euros sings from a female (or gay) point of view which is interesting
5. Shorelight: 9/10 written by richard james, unremarkable at first, after a couple of listens it becomes wonderful. very sparse instrumentation, which is typical of this album.
6. Country: 8/10 upbeat nostalgic number which does exactly what it says on the tin: country. short but sweet
7. Eyes of Green Green Green: 7/10 nice enough but not their greatest. as close as gorky's have got to filler.
8. South of France: 8/10 lovely harmonies, great melody, but somehow sounds incomplete.
9. Leave my Dreaming: 9/10: see above. haunting melody, beautifully sung but leaves the impression of a demo. brian wilson would have made a pocket symphony out of this one.
10. Only Takes a Night: 7/10: another richard james song; not quite as good as shorelight but in the same vein. watch out for the acoustic thrash at the end.
11. Pretty as a Bee: 5/10: unnecessary, too long and doesn't really go with the rest of the album. very repetitive to the point of being dull, the organ sound is annoying. a definite low point
12. Red Rocks: 9/10 the album ends on a high with this, a very quiet and muted song which only reveals its beauty after repeated listening.
all in all a quality album, but not up to their usual high standard. i would still recommend this to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well my true love Maggie said the grass is getting shaggy, 21 Oct 2003
This review is from: Sleep / Holiday (Audio CD)
Gorky's are great! This, their newest album, is a beautiful folky album. Yes, it is very different from their earlier rawer sound but it is a fantastic album in its own right. I was a little disappointed that all the songs are in English but never mind.
Waking For Winter, Mow The Lawn, Country and Eyes Of Green Green Green are the livelier points of the album but the slower songs are brilliant. This is the perfect album to snuggle up on your sofa with a cup of tea watching the people outside get drenched in the pouring rain to.
For me the last two tracks are a slight let down. Pretty As A Bee goes on too long for what it is (which is more or less nothing) and if you are still awake for Red Rocks then you might be astounded by its averageness.
However, 10 great songs, 1 average one and a sevrely dull one still makes it a good album. Gorky's are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafea8fc0)

This product

Sleep / Holiday
Sleep / Holiday by Gorky's Zygotic Mynci (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews