Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unthugged Review, 1 Sep 2003
By 
Michael Jacobs - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Un-Thugged (Audio CD)
I originally bought How to Cut and Paste Vol. 1 over a year ago; it was so unique that it took me a while to get to grips with it a really enjoy it. A few months back i spotted volume 2 in a hop and just had to buy it out of curiousity. Like all Yoda albums it took a while to get used to but after a couple of plays through I was loving that, it was a unique style.
So the questions I asked myself upon Stumbling on 'Unthugged' were 'Will he be the same with Dan Greenpeace?'... 'Is it really worth buying another of his albums?'
Well an abundance of money took over from common sense and I bought it anyway. Now, it has a more proffesional studio feel to it at first - which you could argue takes away Yoda's almost amateur touch; however, the talent and ideas are still there and it's just as wicked.
The actual tunes weren't quite as good or catchy as the ones on How to Cut and Paste 2, but there was still a good selection on there. But despite all of that, it's actually completely gangster and you will love it if you love this DJ. If you've never heard of him before, you'll love it, but I'd suggest you get How to Cut and Paste Volume 2 (by him) instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mix master mate's, 3 Aug 2003
This review is from: Un-Thugged (Audio CD)
The first thing that hits you with Un-thugged is how obviously British it is.where as Yoda's mix tapes vol 1 and 2 had a very strong American feel to them.
From the opening sounds of the Avengers theme to Acker Bilk's Mister men and the who wants to be a millionaire (idiot) You're left in no doubt that this is home-grown.
Greenpeace and Yoda's turntable skills are highlighted brilliantly in the way they cut up the theme tune of (are you ready for this)........................... Emmerdale Farm, believe me this will be one of the funkiest breaks you've heard in an age. It also demonstrates their willingness to try everything and that it's not what you play it's how you play it.
The track selection for this mix is top notch. The superb Pazant Brothers:Chic-a-boom, Critically Acclaimed:Wallflower and gangster lean by Clipse. As usual there is a mega mix not Reggae this time but 80's Hip-Hop instead.
The title Un-thugged is an unusual one considering the content of this mix, You've got Ju Ju and Bloody Moon threatening to punch you in the face, Greenpeace and Yoda making fun of each others Skills and someone stating "Here Greenpeace you think your hard, you think your that Yoda don't ya" It could all be some kind of post-modern irony !!
This is a totally fantastic mix which is unafraid to take in many other genre's of music besides Hip-Hop. Ultimately you are left asking yourself how clever does someone have to be to make such a disparate bunch Songs sound so cohesive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cut ups at their best, 8 July 2003
This review is from: Un-Thugged (Audio CD)
This is a definate mood change for Yoda, calling the LP un-thugged but including thuggish hip-hop (bloody moon)Also Greenpeace and yoda making fun of each others skills, must be post modern irony. However this is an excellent Mix Tape, listen to the cut up of the Emmerdale Farm theme tune and marvel as these two dj's transform it into one of the funkiest breaks you've ever heard. This is a must just for the Pazant Bros "chick a boom"
If you loved Yoda's Vol 1 - vol 2 mix tapes, this is the logical progression and also a bit of departure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why you need this album, 20 July 2003
This review is from: Un-Thugged (Audio CD)
Wow - where to start? This album is so cramed full of good stuff it's hard know where to begin - from the Sublime Meat shake by Ugly Duckling to the Demigodz - The Demigodz (a hip hop remix of the muppets 'menum a num' song) its all great! Although its not all comedy - of particular worth is Ju ju's punch you in the face. Basically if you liked how to cut and paste 1 and 2, you need this album - It's worth the asking price for the Jive Dunny's B-Boy old school mix alone!
Good job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ave it!, 19 Jun 2003
This review is from: Un-Thugged (Audio CD)
Having already purchased the 1st two Yoda cut and paste albums, i was quite dubious about purchasing another so soon after, as i like to buy a lot of different genres aswell. i took the plunge and although the same style as cut and paste i was immediately impressed. As usual with Yoda you get the amazing scratching from the kick off, with all the comedy samples you could wish for, but there was a major difference with this, as the title may give away! Unthugged is a fair bit more rugged with the hip hop than the previous two, but it doesn't take away the sheer class of the record. I didn't know too much about Dan Greenpeace, but he adds his own brilliance, buy it and 'ave it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1's & 2's = 4 Humorous Hiphop, 1 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Un-Thugged (Audio CD)
I first heard some of Greenpeace and Yoda's stuff on their Radio 1 Essential Mix which got me interested in their stuff which I thought hell, try and buy. Overall ace! strange concept, oldskool Jewish turntablist's but I like something eclectic and it provided, Emmerdale gangsta & Ugly Duckling made me laugh my ass off and their skills aren't in question throughout. If the Pharcyde and Mel Brooks ever got together this is what it'd sound like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unthugged and better than ever., 7 Jun 2003
This review is from: Un-Thugged (Audio CD)
DJ Yoda accompanied by Dan Greenpeace has released yet another classic mix of beats, samples and star wars references. It is everything you have come to expect from DJ Yoda and more, flowing continually from start to finish scratching and rapping. With an ever quirky edge and a excellent in-sleeve this album is a must for any fan of DJ Yoda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Un-Thugged
Un-Thugged by DJ Yoda (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews