Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You become totally absorbed into this game!
This is one of the best games I've ever played. I don't have any online facilities so I play on 1 player mode but it is still a kick-ass game. You actually find yourself peering around the screen to get a better viewpoint of the enemy because the graphics and headset get you totally absorbed into the game. Using the headset makes the game much more real. You feel a bit of...
Published on 11 Dec 2003

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOCOM = SO-SO
SOCOM is the very first game released by Sony to support the new network adaptor, enabling you to play the game online, using a standard broadband internet connection. It also comes bundled with a headset enabling the player to talk to other players whilst online, or to order their team around in single player mode.
The headset is no gimmick, it works very well. It...
Published on 28 Aug 2003 by CJ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOCOM US Navy Seals, 19 Sep 2003
This review is from: SOCOM: US Navy SEALs (includes headset) (Video Game)
This game is awesome, Its based around the Elite Navy Seals not SAS,The US Navy Seals are just as good if not better. The game is very entertaining and puts you in charge of a small four man team of elite Navy Seals. You are the lead team member as you command your small team through various and exciting levels. Lots of fire fights await you as you hunt down terrorists and rescue hostages as well as capture enemy terror leaders. This is an awesome game. Also this game includes really good AI, Your Seal team members are awesome and deadly. These guys dont mess about, when you command them to fire at will they do with great skill and precision. They can almost finish the mission for you. When your team engage in fire fights they dont mess about, " Hostile Down"
Fantastic game Buy it, Looking forward to SOCOM 2 US Navy Seals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony and Zipper pull it out of the bag!, 1 July 2003
This review is from: SOCOM: US Navy SEALs (includes headset) (Video Game)
Just buy it ok.
Need more than that? Ok, let me tell you why you'll like it first. Well, actually let me just say that this game nearly ruined my relationship, I am part of the Beta Test Team that got this game a couple of months before the general public. During that time I spent every spare moment online on the game. I even had to go out and buy myself a new home cinema kit just so I could tell from which direction I was being shot at. In the end my girlfriend gave me an ultimatum, it was her or the game... I'm still deciding.
I think the two best parts of this game for me are the reward you get from well planned teamwork and the design of the levels. I don't think there's a single one that I don't enjoy playing even if I am completely rubbish at certain ones.
Now, why you might not like it. I personally don't care about these points but they are common complaints. The most common complaint I think I've heard is that you can't use a keyboard and mouse, you have to use the joysticks. If this were a PC game then for that reason alone it probably wouldn't sell. However, all PC's have keyboards so you get to choose whether you want to use keyboard and mouse or joystick. PS2's don't generally have keyboards, so in my mind by not allowing anyone to use them means that we're all playing on a level playing field.
There are other minor complaints but they are really down to individual preferences rather than major issues. Check out the forum on Playstation.com and you'll find plenty of topics.
Oh, and the single player offline game is not bad either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Socom Navy Seals: looking good!, 17 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: SOCOM: US Navy SEALs (includes headset) (Video Game)
I bought socom a few days ago from amazon and already i am impressed. As a single player game this is a feast but online this will be the banquet! I've got raven shield for the pc where bossing your collegues around is great fun, but on this game the AI is more advanced, on raven shield they either did the mission for you or if you put on a higer difficulty setting, you felt as though you were alone. On socom the skill of your team mates feels right, it doesn't make you feel as though you are rubbish or king of the game, but makes you feel like a collegue, which is the aim of the game.
There wasn't as many weapons as raven shield, like i'd hoped, put plenty to lead you men in to battle with varied plans and equiptment.
Untill i get the online function for my ps2 the headset sits on my wardrobe, but untill then, Yeeeeaaaahaaaa!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Socom is very impressive !!, 17 Jun 2003
This review is from: SOCOM: US Navy SEALs (includes headset) (Video Game)
Finally - a game that is worth my money.
After taking the horribly repetative and very dull Silent Hill 3 back in total disgust i picked up SOCOM US Navy Seals instead.
What a difference!
SOCOM is a great technical achievement for both Sony and Zipper (the developers).
Why?
Well - the first time your hear one of your squad members answer you through the supplied headset is one of those great gaming moments that induce a huge silly grin!!
Expect other game designers to rip-off this very cool in-game device very soon.
Graphics are good too. Not jaw-dropping or anything - but easily good enough to not be an issue.
I prefere truely great gameplay to amazingly pretty graphics anyway!! Too many games look amazing yet play at best averagely. SOCOM is not one of them.
I have a feeling SOCOM 2 - which is out later in the year - will look even better - which will be the 'Cherry' on a very substantial cake!!
Gameplay is impressive - though its not an easy game - so be prepared for a few hours getting used to the controls/commands. Its well worth it though - and you will be issuing voice commands to "Bravo" team - without even thinking about it - before you know it !!
This game was developed with the help of the real US Navy Seals - which explains why the game can be so tough - this is as real as it gets and just running in and blasting everything in sight will not work.
Thankfully - this is a very real US Navy Seal simulator !! Very cool indeed!!
The 12 missions have a great variety and get much harder after about the 4th level. Theres no proper 'training' mode though - which is the games only over-sight as far as i'm concerned.
Sound in the game is handled very well - with all the usual SFX being in place - along with some very 'action movie' type soundtrack music along the way!!
Very rousing in the heat of battle believe me!
So - if you like a game to challenge you and you want more than just a 'run and gun' FPS (which i hate) then pick-up SOCOM. Its just superb and - whilst not as ground breaking as Splinter Cell - is easily my second favorite game this year (after Splinter Cell).
The fact that i have only played the single player mode shows that SOCOM is also really great value - as by all accounts the online mode is far superior to the single player mode - with much bigger maps and hugely impressive levels.
Wow!! Cant wait.
Well done Sony - keep it up.
PS Speaking of Online modes - i cant wait for Resident Evil Online later in the year. Should rock!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Online play, 7 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: SOCOM: US Navy SEALs (includes headset) (Video Game)
Ive been beta testing this title online now for 2 months and I can say its the best online game I've played. You can talk to other players using the headset while playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: SOCOM: US Navy SEALs (includes headset) (Video Game)
SOCOM: U.S. Navy SEALs, is a winner. With a tight mix of stealth (remember to hide those dead bodies so the other terrorists don’t find them), action, and espionage, SOCOM is like a spy movie wrapped up inside a warm blanket of solid gaming fun. Once u take it online (if you can manage to find a PS2 Online Adapter in stores !) , you won’t be able to stop playing it for many months to come , but dont worry if u dont have broadband because the single player is excellent , and the headset u get with it works brilliantly. A MUST BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOCOM = SO-SO, 28 Aug 2003
By 
CJ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: SOCOM: US Navy SEALs (includes headset) (Video Game)
SOCOM is the very first game released by Sony to support the new network adaptor, enabling you to play the game online, using a standard broadband internet connection. It also comes bundled with a headset enabling the player to talk to other players whilst online, or to order their team around in single player mode.
The headset is no gimmick, it works very well. It has an earpiece through which you hear other players and an unobtrusive boom microphone for you to speak into. All other sound is relayed through your TV as usual. Sound quality is clear and loud, and the mic picks up your voice very well considering its size. Naturally, for online play, the headset is essential, and it is supported by other current and upcoming PS2 Network games. Commanding your team in single player works surprisingly well, the system does not need to be ‘trained’ to recognise your voice, as long as you speak clearly and use the right commands, it simply works.
The online multiplayer aspect of SOCOM is standard stuff, with team deathmatch, demolition (essentially a bomb-based capture the flag) and hostage rescue (Counter-strike like) modes. It plays well enough, but the controls can be fiddly and when one shot can kill, being taken out of the game due to the sometimes tricky controls is frustrating. The team element does not always work as well as it should, and sadly cheating is becoming more common on the multiplayer servers. Sony have so far struggled to find any solution to the latter problem. It’s all OK, but not the greatest online game ever.
The muddy graphics do not help, as the screen is often quite dark (maps being set in jungles and the like), so picking out enemies is a challenge. This afflicts single player too, where switching to night vision goggles is no help as they just offer a zoomed-in scope view which is difficult to use whilst moving round the map. So you just have to crank the game brightness up as much as you can and squint a lot. Graphical detail is average, with some very bland textures but nice animation.
The single player campaign involves a lot of stealthy play, which is pretty difficult when you can’t always see what is going on. You are also limited in what you can get your team mates to do. You can order them to clear rooms, move to waypoints, etc. but amazingly cannot order snipers to take down certain targets or tell them to go prone. Oh dear.
Your ammo loadout is a staggering three magazines unless you choose to take more when loading out your team. So taking extra ammo is a necessity as most missions involve you taking down most of the terrorists yourself, and hence quickly running low on ammunition. The weapons themselves are quite well represented, with a nice variety (although you will tend to stick to the silenced MP5 and M4). Grenades are well done, with a fiddly but accurate throwing method.
Your team can be pretty stupid, if they are following you they are sheep-like and often get shot to hell by a bad guy standing right in front of them. Thankfully, the same bad guys also have poor reflexes, so if they get the drop on you, you can usually react first. This is handy as the missions are usually pretty long, with no save points and a lot of slow movement, watching and waiting. As only a few hits will kill you (and it’s then mission over), getting killed right near the end of a mission is frustrating as you don’t always feel like plodding through all the slow creeping around an enemy camp all over again.
You can just kick it all off and get stuck into firefights, but this often gets your guys killed and doesn’t really feel right in the game. You are supposed to be an elite Navy SEAL after all!
SOCOM is one of those games that you desperately want to like as it has so many nice ideas: varied missions, great cutscenes (your team being inserted by boat, etc.), the voice comms; but it also has a number of problems: the disappointing graphics, tricky controls, lack of team commands, sometimes rubbish AI.
It’s worth noting that SOCOM II is due for release in November. This is so close to the original that you suspect SOCOM 1 was rushed to get it finished as the big launch game for the PS2 network. Hopefully, the developers will address a lot of its issues in the sequel and we will get a better and more satisfying game as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOCOM, prepare to kiss your social life goodbye, 23 May 2003
This review is from: SOCOM: US Navy SEALs (includes headset) (Video Game)
This review only relates to the online version of the game.
You play as either us seal or a terorist over 10 mutiplayer maps, ranging from desert, artic snow blizzards to jungle swamps. Once you've joined a room you choose your preffered weapons and explosives ranging from sniper rifles to heavy machine guns, and grenades to claymores. Each team supports up to 8 players for some serious online battles. Included is a headset which is vital for survival and team victory. You can call in your position, warn teamates of enemy whereabouts and discuss tactics.
Nothing is more satifying than planning an ambush and winning the round, serious fun. Missions range from hotsage extraction to planting bombs to destroy enemy bases through to team death match. Don't go rushing in guns blazind because when you die that's it till the next round no respawn. This forces you to work as a team, you don't want to sit it out till the next round. However once you're dead, you can watch your team mates and pick up tips!
You have the option to setup a clan if you regularly practice with the same players. This is an excellent way of working out serious team tactics and makes the game even more enjoyable. You can only talk to live team mates, bit once killed you can talk to other players in the deadzone!

There are some issues with the control system, the main problem being when you get over excited in a fire fight and accidently press l3 and switch to single fire mode! This becomes less of a problem with practice.
The single player mode will have 12 missions and you take control of a team, and get this you can order them via the headset!
Over all I love this game and would highly recommend it.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOCOM: US Navy SEALs (includes headset) (Video Game)
Son who is 17 love this game and plays regular. Love the interaction especially and the graphics are really good for Playstation 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Socom, So Good!, 27 Feb 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOCOM: US Navy SEALs (includes headset) (Video Game)
I bought this mainly for the headset because I have the other two Socom games. It sure makes a difference to all the games to play with the headset, giving much more realism to the game-play. Now there are more powerful consoles out there, it may seem a bit old hat to have a fairly flimsy and plasticky ( is there such a word?) head set but when this first came out for the PS2, it must have been revolutionary. It's not only a head set to listen with, it has limited voice recognition too! Top marks to the game programmers and publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SOCOM: US Navy SEALs (includes headset)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews