Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars diverse, mellow and challenging, it gorws on you in 3 plays
Those enamoured of the Canterbury scene will eventually come across Kevin Ayers. Nearly 30 years after seeing the ads in the music press for Banamour, I decided to try it out. It's not what I expected, seemingly far removed from Soft Machine and only the most passing and distant simiarity with Caravan. It's hardly progressive but, after 2-3 plays, it does become...
Published on 2 Nov 2001 by Allen Mac

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The eccentric Mr. Ayers.
I have re-discovered the work of this charming eccentric english musician.
I have some of his albums on vinyl , but will be replacing them on the cd, maybe cassette to!
Published 20 months ago by Lockhart '81


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars diverse, mellow and challenging, it gorws on you in 3 plays, 2 Nov 2001
This review is from: Bananamour (Audio CD)
Those enamoured of the Canterbury scene will eventually come across Kevin Ayers. Nearly 30 years after seeing the ads in the music press for Banamour, I decided to try it out. It's not what I expected, seemingly far removed from Soft Machine and only the most passing and distant simiarity with Caravan. It's hardly progressive but, after 2-3 plays, it does become compulsive. A mixed, mellow compilation that gets under the skin - interesting vocal and guitar effects all in some type of challenging singer-songwriter frame. Never mainstream but masquerading as something accessible - which it is but also challenging on another level. I don't think they make stuff like this anymore. It's why the 70's was so distinctive and unique - music of character and a little eccentricity? Makes me want to explore the Ayers colection a bit further
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Banana'tastic, 29 Oct 2007
By 
Derick Holcombe (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bananamour (Audio CD)
I have loved this album since it was first released and it just gets better and better as the years have passed. The first album is charming and lovely, the second a bit too patchy, the third is very good, but Bananamour is the one. It has everything I associate with Kevin Ayers. It is fun, stoned, happy, warm, silly, soulful, melodic, laid back, engaging, tasteful, drunken, intelligent, unpretentious, joyful music, well played (take a bow Steve Hillage) and well produced. The remastered cd sounds great and the booklet includes the inserts which came with the original album, plus an informative essay (although I would still like to know who played the synth on "Decadence"). The extra tracks enhance the original. Oh, and just like the other three remasters, the cd itself is a facsimile of that wonderful two tone green Harvest label! Don't think, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Banana Follies, 17 July 2004
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bananamour (Audio CD)
Kevin Ayers and the band 747 toured the Bananamour album in 1973 as Banana Follies and I was fortunate to see them at the Queen Elizabeth Hall on May 26th. The sleeve notes to this release mention that the preceding night's QEH gig on the 25th was recorded for a possible live LP "but Ayers' performance proved lacklustre and the overall result proved too disappointing to release". Perhaps they recorded the wrong night as I remember no such shortcomings and it seemed as if Kevin Ayers was on the verge of major stardom.

Although both the band and the material lacked the eccentricity and inspiration of his former outfit, the Whole World, it seemed that these concessions had made him and the band into more of a commercial proposition.

This is also true of this album. The whole affair is very restrained in a rather deliberate and British fashion, and this works to good advantage on some of the numbers, such as the excellent Shouting In A Bucket Blues, which features Steve Hillage on guitar, though at times there are lyrical weaknesses, and whimsical tributes to Syd Barrett and Nico both fail to show real insight into their subjects. Overall, though, this is still a strong and idiosyncratic album. Archie Leggett is allowed a lead vocal on the soully mock-sinister When Your Parents Go To Sleep, with a horn section featuring Howie Casey, and Soft Machine buddy organist Mike Ratledge solos on Interview.

Stardom failed to follow and Kevin's next release was on the Island label.

Of the bonus tracks, the highlight is a reggae reworking of old favourite Clarence In Wonderland, recorded with the band Greyhound, under the title Connie On A Rubber Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oooh, Such a Randy Cat..., 9 May 2009
By 
Diziet "I Like Toast" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bananamour (Audio CD)
Kevin Ayers' albums can be a bit variable. It seems unlikely that, say, Joy Of A Toy is by the same artist as this album. But one thing that tends to link them is Kevin Ayers' lovely, rather fruity, baritone voice and tongue-firmly-in-cheek sense of humour.

This album is special, and is probably the most consistent, too. Although there are tracks that hark back to Shooting At The Moon, there are also tracks that look forward to The Confessions Of Doctor Dream.

But there are a couple of really stand-out tracks. One is 'When Your Parents Go To Sleep'. This has got the most wonderful horn section on it, and the backing singers sound like they're having a party. I love the lyrics - all about a guy waiting outside the home of his girlfriend, 'waiting for the lights to fade, and your parents go to sleep. Then, just like a randy cat, into your bed I'll creep'. And the backing singers come in 'Oooh, such a randy cat'. And in the middle, with the full-on horn section, baritone sax parping away, we get one of the sexiest sax solos I've ever heard. I think it's an alto, but I could be wrong. It's just joyous.

Yes, there's a lot of irony and black humour ('Decadence' is a less than flattering portrait of Nico), but some of the humour is endearingly silly - listen to 'Beware of the Dog'. I won't spoil it for you; it is kind of 'Cheech and Chong' but in a rather English sort of way.

This CD release includes four extra tracks which, in some ways, spoils it a bit as 'Beware of the Dog' is clearly the end. But you can always re-arrange the track listing.

Still, a gloriously idiosyncratic and English rock album. Classic. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bananamour (Audio CD)
Good to have a CD as well as vinyl copy. A great album - sad that he is no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bananamour (Audio CD)
I have this on original vinyl and love it. I bought this cd so that I could play it easily in my studio and office. Ayers is brilliant here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The eccentric Mr. Ayers., 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bananamour (Audio CD)
I have re-discovered the work of this charming eccentric english musician.
I have some of his albums on vinyl , but will be replacing them on the cd, maybe cassette to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars folk rock, 10 April 2013
This review is from: Bananamour (Audio CD)
This is british folk rock a bit tame for me why five stars well im not into folk rock but theres a couple of tracks that i liked and im not going to hit on a gernre im not into as this kevin ayers has talent and it is a good album. But i dont play it as much as america self title album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bananamour
Bananamour by Kevin Ayers (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews