Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another stunning album!, 16 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Fado Curvo (Audio CD)
Having discovered Mariza through her first album 'Fado Em Mim', I was a little worried that this 2nd album wouldn't capture my heart as much...but it has!!! At first listen, I didn't take to this album so well, I enjoyed the traditional fados 'O Silencio da Guitarra', 'Fado Curvo' etc, but I certainly didn't take to the 'pianofied' fados! However, after listening just a few times to Mariza's amazing voice, the seriously intense guitar playing, and by reading the lyrics (in both Portuguese and English) I fell in love with Mariza and fado all over again! 'Aneis do Meu Cabelo' although being one of the 'pianofied' fados is now one of my favourties by Mariza, the emotional intensity behind it is enourmous! And the very traditional fados are, as per usual, stunning. It is also nice to see Mariza branch out to Coimbra fado (challenging stereotypes[!]) and to sample music from the South and North of the country.
All in all, though at first this album may not seem as such a spectacular masterpiece as 'Fado Em Mim', I promise you that it's fantasticalness will be revealed after only a couple of listens and you will not regret buying this cd!
Oh, and on a side-note, I haven't experienced any of the technical problems that the other reviewers have, it copied fine to my computer and then onto my MP3 player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 2nd album - but see her live!, 24 Mar 2005
By 
Roy Ward (wylam, northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fado Curvo (Audio CD)
Mariza, faced with the usually difficult second album, came up with another gem. She has expanded further, introducing more upbeat fado to her followers, and extending the range of instrumentation. As magical as her recordings are, it is her stage performances which tower above her contemporaries (genre wide) and take her firmly into the realm of Diva. If you haven't experienced her live performance, do so. The Union Chapel DVD provides a flavour.
Her next album "Transparente" comes out soon, and with it another world tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fado Curvo, 25 May 2003
This review is from: Fado Curvo (Audio CD)
Mariza does it again - her second album is a work of art - she transfixes you with that voice that has so much depth and emotion. There are some fados, which are true to the traditional style both melancholic and in the Portuguese Folklore style - Primavera, Vielas de Alfma, Feira de Castro and Fado Curvo. This will please those who are purist. However, she also pushes the fado style to a new level and dimension, that has jazz influences - this can be heard in O Silencio da guitarra, Retrato, Entre o rio e a razao.
The last track Aneis do meu Cabelo is my favourite - very much in the genre of fado - melancholic, she sings about not mourning her death or visiting her grave, but instead to keep forever the curls of her hair. In this 'fado' Mariza sings accompanied by a piano - her voice is so exposed and she expresses every word, emotion and breath - the song is so emotionally moving. Shut your eyes when you listen to this fado and you could almost imagine that she is sitting in your room singing to you.
This is a must album for any Mariza fans or anyone wanting to be introduced to Portugal's most treasured art form - Fado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice music, pity its not a real CD, 25 July 2003
This review is from: Fado Curvo (Audio CD)
Nice music this, but unfortunately this isn't a proper compact disc so watch out, it may not play on your equipment - I can only play the first few tracks, so I'll be returning the disc.
Its got some sort of "copy protection" thing on it, which basically screws up any sort of advanced CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caveat Emptor, 1 July 2003
By 
M A Jackson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fado Curvo (Audio CD)
This CD employs one of the increasingly prevalent 'copy protection' systems.
This means that you may encounter problems when playing the CD in standard Audio CD systems, for example it won't play on my car CD player.
If you intend to play the CD on a PC or on a DVD/CD player then you will almost certainly encounter difficulties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mariza's new album - Fado Curvo, 22 April 2003
This review is from: Fado Curvo (Audio CD)
Mariza does it again - her second album is a work of art - she transfixes you with her rich voice that has so much depth and emotion. There are some fados, which are true to the traditional style both melancholic and in the Portuguese Folklore style - Primavera, Vielas de Alfma, Feira de Castro and Fado Curvo. This will please those who are purist. However, she also pushes the fado style to a new level and dimension, that has jazz influences - this can be heard in O Silencio da guitarra, Retrato, Entre o rio e a razao.
The last track Aneis do meu Cabelo is my favourite - very much in the genre of fado - melancholic, she sings about not mourning her death or visiting her grave, but instead to keep forever the curls of her hair. In this 'fado' Mariza sings accompanied by a piano - her voice is so exposed and she expresses every word, emotion and you hear every breath - the song is so emotionally moving. Shut your eyes when you listen to this fado and you could almost imagine that she is sitting in your room singing to you.
This is a must album for any Mariza fans or anyone wanting to be introduced to Portugal's most treasured art form - Fado.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous and no problems with the CD, 20 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Fado Curvo (Audio CD)
I have only recently discovered Fado and I'm now absolutely hooked on it. Mariza is one of the youngest talented stars of Fado and she is to certain extent developing the art in her own fashion. But make no mistake, her performance of this music renders a well seasoned maturity in the art. Her voice simply sends shudders down my spine. I purchased "Fado Curvo" and the double album; "Fado em mim" in Portugal. I have not experienced any of the technical problems mentioned by other reviewers. My CDs play very well in the car and I was also able to transfer them to MP3 format quite successfully on the iMac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb singing, brilliant backing, 8 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: Fado Curvo (Audio CD)
This singer packs an amazing emotional impact, and her fabulous, earthy voice is beautifully set off by settings that vary from traditional to innovative. The haunting "Menino do Bairro Negro" is particularly memorable. Perhaps Amazon should consider adding a sixth star to its ratings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic music, 18 Mar 2005
By 
mvj "Martin V." (Nr Folkestone, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fado Curvo (Audio CD)
Fantastic music, but if like me you want to carry all your music on your laptop then you will be disappointed. The music is software protected and I am unable to transfer the first track onto my computer. However all the other tracks are able to be put on computer. Buy this and enjoy Mariza's spectacular singing. I hope that you enjoy this album as much as I do.
Martin J.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mariza just impressed me, 14 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: Fado Curvo (Audio CD)
Yesterday i went to a Mariza's show in Portugal and I just loved it!
Not only her music and her voice but also her simpathy!
I just loved one song called "Chuva" (Rain) and the Amali'a cover of "Barco Negro" (Black Ship).
Mariza just gave us a great show, and now she is going on tour...
I became a fan!
Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fado Curvo
Fado Curvo by Mariza (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews