Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


355 of 368 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent binoculars which incorporate the most important features for astronomical viewing
This posting begins with a discussion of some core information about binoculars for astronomical viewing that should help potential purchasers make a more informed purchase decision.

If you have other viewing objectives than astronomical objects, or are already familiar with binocular specifications, you may want to stop here or just read the latter part of...
Published on 9 Dec 2009 by One-Reader

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great for 18 months, then failed
Worked well for about 18 months and then one day went out of collimation (produced double images) in a big way for no apparent reason. It's a mystery why - I didnt drop them or bang them about. Even adjusting the (hidden) prism adjust screws didn't bring them back to collimation. I have modded mine to make a 15x70 monocular - basically I cut it in half! Now it's just...
Published on 10 May 2011 by Dr Chris


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Jeanette Watts (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71009 15 x 70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
After trying out the celestron skymaster 25x70 binoculars, and not being impressed by them, i returned them for the 20x80's which was a bad mistake, they looked like they had been opened up and tampered with, the screws on the left hand side of the eyepiece were damaged, ie ruffed up, plus the black paint was scuffed off, plus no one in the family was able to focus the left eyepiece, i am in the process of returning them, in the meantime i ordered the 15x20's which arrived today, well we all agree in our house hold these are the best ones yet, crystal clear images, plus the bonus of them being a little bit lighter to hold, the tripod mount does wobble a little, you just have to give it a second or two to settle down, but over all i would recommend the 15x20 over the other two, to be honest there is not much difference in what you can see out of all three
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice astronomy binoculars, 14 Oct 2011
This review is from: Celestron 71009 15 x 70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
Probably...the best option to choose if you're looking for astronomy binoculars. It gives to you good brightness with a wide FOV. Put it yor basket!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly built - binoculars break and no guarantee after a year, 8 Oct 2010
This review is from: Celestron 71009 15 x 70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
I used these binoculars a lot for stargazing and they are good. (So not one star)

Unfortunately after about two years, the part holding one of the eyepieces to the central focusing area broke. I did not drop the binoculars or anything like that. So it must be because they are poorly built.

Unfortunately the guarantee is only for a year.

If you buy a pair, I hope they last longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor collimation, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71009 15 x 70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
I bought them on recommendation, and the pair I tried were excellent, so I ordered some.
First pair arrived and gave a very bad double image, so thinking I was just unlucky I returned them for a replacement, which were almost as bad. Ended up with my money back. Quite disappointed.
Amazons returns system is very good though for these problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very impressed, 27 July 2013
By 
David Sanders (surrey uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71009 15 x 70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
Think these are great for the price. Rather heavy as others have said and need a tripod. Got a Hama Star 63 for about £18 which does the job well. When I first opened box thought the tripod mount looked OK but it isn't ! get a metal one.
Now enjoying great views of the moon and stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
By 
J. M. Fernandez Gallego (LAS PALMAS,CANARY ISLANDS,SPAIN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Celestron 71009 15 x 70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not focus if you wear glasses!, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Celestron 71009 15 x 70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
Can't focus the binoculars, not even at far objects. I wear glasses and the focussing screw will not allow me to focus the right and left at the same time so one is out of focus. However according to other reviews lots of people seem happy with them, so I guess I was unlucky that I need binoculars with separate focussing on both lenses not only one. Beware spectacle wearers!!,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too powerful, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71009 15 x 70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
The magnification on these is such that they're almost impossible to use without a tripod. The image was also disappointingly fuzzy. I wanted them for stargazing, but they are clearly not designed for this, so I sold them after a couple of months and bought a pair of Pentax 8x, which have proven far more suitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71009 15 x 70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestron 71009 15 x 70 Skymaster Porro Prism Binoculars (Electronics)
They have big scope so you can find your subject easy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews