Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it
My girlfriend had wanted a Bodum for a while but had very specific ideas about what it should look like (there being many different types). She found this one on Amazon for significantly less than the high street and placed her order.

It arrived with Amazon Prime's usual quick delivery and in perfect condition. It's considerably bigger than we thought it would...
Published on 14 Feb 2010 by L. Bartlett

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish
Very shoddy item. The chrome plated steel that holds the glass to the handle started to rust on the first day it was used. Now the rusting is quite bad and it looks a mess. I was under the impression that Bodum was a decent make but this is worse than the tesco one I've had for years.
Published on 17 Dec 2010 by Mark Ashworth


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 14 Feb 2010
By 
My girlfriend had wanted a Bodum for a while but had very specific ideas about what it should look like (there being many different types). She found this one on Amazon for significantly less than the high street and placed her order.

It arrived with Amazon Prime's usual quick delivery and in perfect condition. It's considerably bigger than we thought it would be and makes enough for 4 mugs (rather than 4 cups) which has worked out well when we're entertaining. If you plan to make a decent size mug of coffee for more than 2 people this is the one you want.

Would 100% recommend this product and its purchase through Amazon.

Very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bodum 1.5lt Coffee Maker, 10 Jan 2011
This is a lovely looking French Press coffee maker and holds enough coffee for about 5 large mugs. I bought it as a Christmas present for my sister as she needed a new larger coffee maker and she loved it. It was exactly the size she was looking for as she wanted something she could get more than 2 cups of coffee from. The shiny stainless steel makes it look more elegant than the plastic coffee makers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars disappointing lid, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Bodum 1928 Chambord Coffee Maker - Stainless Steel - 8 Cup /1.0 L (Kitchen & Home)
ideal product for making good coffee. would have given 5 stars but disappointerd that older model had metal lid but new one has been "cheapened" to plastic lid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 29 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Bodum 1928 Chambord Coffee Maker - Stainless Steel - 8 Cup /1.0 L (Kitchen & Home)
This is a very good cafetiere.

The capacity: It can certainly fill 8 espresso cups, the little ones. If you want to go for standard mugs, or breakfast cups, you'll have just over 2 units of either mug or cup. The choice is yours!

It is very unlikely the glass can brake because of a temperature shock, as it is special glass for this kind of circumstances. This is different if the glass is brutally manipulated or if there are strong strikes from within when spooning the coffee in the (just under)boiling water before waiting for 3 minutes and pressing.

When pressing the coffee, do not rush to pour it and wait a few minutes for the coffee to set and avoid the "mud" at the bottom of the cup.

Another way to avoid that "mud" is to grind the beans yourself on a coarse setting, so that the ground is not too fine. The ordinary ground coffee tends to be too fine for cafetiere (better for filter).

If not in a rush to drink the whole cafetiere, and worried about the coffee cooling, you can always use a teapot cover. It works really well to keep the coffee warm. Another way is to use a camping thermos bottle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bodum 1923 Frech press coffee maker, 5 Feb 2011
Excellent coffee maker plus looks good on shelf when not in use.
Makes 1 average size mug of coffee, would recommend using 1 measuring spoon of coffee per cup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very practical, 5 Jan 2013
Very sturdy and practical coffee maker, only slight downside is having to remember to turn the holes in the black plastic piece to the spout before putting the lid on every time. Otherwise highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely coffee pot!, 20 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Looks great & makes good coffee, what more do you ? And lovely Amazon UK helped sort out delivery problems too;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars that's what I call coffee, 29 May 2009
This review is from: Bodum 1928 Chambord Coffee Maker - Stainless Steel - 8 Cup /1.0 L (Kitchen & Home)
I have been brewing my coffee using a french press for years and the difference to filtered coffee is amazing. The flavour is much rounder and better. Coffee oils remain in the coffee and add to the exceptional taste. If you have problems with high colesterol you should stay with filtered coffee since the oils remain in the filter.
Make sure the coffee grind you use was ground for a plunger - it is much more coarse.

Bodum coffee makers look great and are an eyecatcher on any table.
It always earns much admiration when I put it on the table. Usually at least one of the guests hasn't come across a french press before and they are always intrigued and excited when they get to press down the plunger!

Please don't be worried about safety as one review implies. I have never had any problems. Just rinse the cafetière with hot water to prewarm the glass before you add the coffee (keeps the brew hot, too) and press down gently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I can show off at work too!, 11 Nov 2010
I bought this as some collegues in the office also use them and the coffee in liquid form that they produce tastes so much better than just out the tub! This is because ground coffee keeps all the oils rather than disguarding them like dehydrated coffee!

Anyway, the size is just perfect for my needs, enough to share with a friend and not too big that I would struggle to lug it around!

The quailty and finnish is pefect and after a few uses I can see that this one will stay with me for a while with out fault!

Bravo Bodum, Awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best cafetiere, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After trying a couple of different brands and types over the years I can safely say this is the best so far. Its the attention to detail and the quality that makes it particularly good. As long as you like the styling of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews