Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just Metal
I bought this album purely on a recommendation from a friend, I had never heard HIM before but I was very pleasantly surprised. Iniatially I was a bit put off by the packing, it seemed to indicate that this album was going to be all dark gothic metal. However this is not the case, whilst the album does lean in that direction the songs are very accesible. Funeral of Hearts...
Published on 4 Dec. 2003

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking the passion of their previous releases.
HIM have a reputation for producing fine metal ballads, which so brilliantly merge 80s gothic romance with the Power Metal best displayed by Iron Maiden, Helloween and more recently, Soil. However, 'Love Metal' promises to be marvellous, but is by far the most inconsistent HIM release, to the point that the first four songs are amazing (including the spectacular 'Buried...
Published on 25 Jun. 2003 by Chris McGuirk


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just Metal, 4 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Metal (Audio CD)
I bought this album purely on a recommendation from a friend, I had never heard HIM before but I was very pleasantly surprised. Iniatially I was a bit put off by the packing, it seemed to indicate that this album was going to be all dark gothic metal. However this is not the case, whilst the album does lean in that direction the songs are very accesible. Funeral of Hearts for example is very catchy rock.
HIM have also managed to create a sound of their own by mixing hard guitars with a lot of piano/keyboard parts, this works to great effect on lots of songs especially Sacrament. The real stength of the band though, that lifts them above so many mediocre bands is Ville Walo. A wonderful voice and a charismatic frontman, HIM is undoubtedly his band.
My criticism would be that the album slighty to often descends into the 'sludge' guitar riffs to often. HIMs best moments on this album come when they move away from this. The acoustic section in Endless Dark for instance which is the highlight of the album.
This critism aside HIM are still better than most popular rock bands around at the moment (Linkin Park,The Darkness).
I recommend this album to anyone who wants hear some slightly different rock music and enjoys listening to a singer with a great voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! Ville Valo + HIM = Perfection!, 20 Jun. 2004
By 
This review is from: Love Metal (Audio CD)
You would think that after three albums the quality of HIM's work would be going down hill, but in fact it seems to be getting even better. Love Metal is really up to date music but it hasn't lost HIM's amazingly deep and meaningful lyrics.
Ville Valo's voice is truly stunning and his vocal range is fantastic, Linde is an excellent guitar player, Midge adds beautiful bass lines, Burton's keyboard skills are excellent and gas's drumming though somewhat slacking behind the others in quality is perfect for this album.
Buried Alive by Love: 8/10 - I love this track loads and it is a fantastic start to the album, the almost psychedelic intro is completed with Ville's voice entering from a distance. Great lyrics, great music and very catchy. I however have over listened to this song!
The Funeral Of Hearts: 10/10 - Beautiful. Simply beautiful. Ville's Voice is really done justice in this song. The first ever HIM song I heard was this and I simply fell in love with them. It is a beautifully, deep song with a really wintry feel about it which is reflected in the wonderful video.
Beyond Redemption: 7/10 - Don't be put of by the rather worrying intro, this song is actually great! Ville's loud breathing is enough to turn any cold heart warm. It is completely adorable! Slightly predictable lyrics but fantastic all the same.
Sweet Pandemonium: 7.5/10 - Big words in this song!!!! It is really great but the chorus seems a little bit disconnected from the rest of the song but beautiful all the same.
Soul On Fire: 9/10 - Very catchy, I love this song. Not sure that I completely understand it, but there again I am quite young!!!! It's a get up and dance around your room pretending to be one of the living dead kind of song!!!
This Fortress Of Tears: 8/10 - Quite a long intro to this song but its worth the wait. Nice chorus. Quite slow but a nice change
Circle Of Fear: 10/10 - Ville Valo's voice in this song is completely heavenly it is so low and deep *shivers*. This song is incredibly moving it really gets to you. I love the part where the music quietens and Ville is singing almost without accompaniment.
Endless Dark: 7/10 - A bit repetitive but a pretty song. Deep, dark and quite sinister. Rather irritating drumming though. It is quite a good song until the repeats in the chorus; I mean how many people can make the word "dark" drag on for about 5 or 6 seconds - repeatedly!?!
The Path: 9.5/10 - I really love this song, I know a lot of people, especially new HIM fans, don't agree with me. It is quite "old HIM" but I think it is incredibly moving especially when the drums and guitar join in. It is quite long (HIM have a habit of putting a really long song on the end of each album). Great lyrics.
Hope that was helpful. These are the views of a 14 year old. If you are my age or younger, infact however old you are, and looking for something a bit darker and deeper: BUY THIS ALBUM. HIM are deffinatly one of the best bands Finland has spat out!
Check out: [...] for HIM's official site.
ENJOY.
Luv
Charlie
xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love metal? You will when you've heard this..., 11 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Love Metal (Audio CD)
This album is AMAZING. It exceeded my expectations beyond imagination. The songs have a deeply gothic mood, as would be expected....but they have a melodic, poppy edge, more so than on 99's 'Deep Shadows and Brilliant Highlights'. On this album they blatantly and intentionally pay their respects to their influences, such as Iggy Pop; they make no attempt to hide their influences. This approach enriches the album, making it very diverse and very listenable. Even if you have never bought anything by this band before, I strongly encourage you to buy LOVE METAL... there are a lot worse things you could do than introduce yourself to Finland's best export.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Metal, 28 April 2005
By 
Sara Casey (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Metal (Audio CD)
The album Love Metal is HIM at its best. The album starts off with the heavy Buried alive by love and takes you on journey through medolic haunting songs that anyone can relate to. The piano in The Sacrament is a haunting reminder of lost love and Circle of Fear is just mind blowingly amazing. The digipak version holds Loves Requim on it and this coupled with The Path is a journey through love and what people will do for a loved one. Everyone should have this album and be in total awe of this Finnish rock band and the enchanting charm of Ville Valo's voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mainstream success? Let's hope so..., 2 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Metal (Audio CD)
Well, upon hearing the new HIM album, Love Metal, I can honestly say I was really impressed. After two full lengths LPs (Deep Shadows and Brilliant Highlights being my favourite of the two) and one mine-album/EP I think their record company will have been pushing for mainstream success in more countries. However, HIM have remained true to their quite individual sound, and have made a good album in the progress.
The album opens with the fantastic 'Buried Alive By Love'. From the swift drum time-in, you know you're in for fast opener. Ville sings fast and passionately before the song opens up into an excellent sing-along chorus that is sure to become a live fixture, and a pretty raucous one at that! Shifting down a gear, 'Love's The Funeral of Hearts' is a heavy but slow song reminiscent of previous albums. Another very good song. Track Three, 'Beyond Redemption', is another cracking song, with some deep guitar drones and a great chorus. 'Sweet Pandemonium' follows with a slow guitar riff before filling out into a very HIM-ish song with some slow, breathy vocals. A good slow song before perhaps the album highlight... The riff-tastic 'Soul On Fire' holds nothing back. It is a quick guitar and drum driven opening and then a quiet verse before opening up into an amazing and wild chorus. This is probably my favourite track and you'll realize what I mean. With some (usually dark) but great lyrics, let's hope they pick this one live often. 'The Sacrament' follows with a nice piano opeing to calm down with after Soul On Fire, and becomes a nice steady love-rock song. Nearly a highlight, very good, with an excellent and melodius pre-chorus.
'This Fortress of Tears' is the closet thing you get to a balled really on this album, with very heavy guitars and bass after the intro, but with a very quiet and relaxed verse. 'Circle Of Fear' is another HIM-ish rock song with a nice acoustic and electric guitar intro. The acoustic guitar drives the verse, and ends up in a very competent song. 'Endless Dark' has an electric tinged opening (listen to it with headphones for full effect) before moving onto a heavy pre-verse. this is another god sonmg, with a good pre-chorus again and chorus. 'The Path' has a very restrained opening with guitar and keyboards, and folds out into another ballad-ish song that fits in with 'Fortress...'. The last track is listed possibly just on the digipak, but has a psychedelic opening with voices reverberating round both ear pieces. A good finish to the album. Quite quiet and slow.
'Love Metal' is an achievement. Hopefully HIM will achieve more widespread fame in the UK certainly, and cement their careers on mainland Europe. They have not lost their emotion and 'gloom' aspect from their previous albums, but build on it. The only thing it lacks is a real balald, like 'In Joy and Sorrow' or 'Close to the Flame'. My favourite track is probably 'Soul On Fire', but the opener is an excellent song too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album ever, 18 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Love Metal (Audio CD)
This is the best album ever by far every single song is good,
the guitar riffs and vocals work well together, the lyrics make no sense whatsoever and the choruses as ever are catchy.
List of songs:
Buried Alive by Love: Personally not my favourite 8/10
Funeral of Hearts: A great song 10/10
Beyond Redemption: This should of had a video 10/10
Sweet Pandemonium: A really catchy chorus, repetitive guitar 8/10
Soul on Fire: A lot like Buried Alive by Love 8/10
The Sacrament: The best amazing piano 10/10
Fortress of Tears: A 5 Minute wonder 9/10
Circle of Fear: The best guitar song 10/10
Endless Dark: Probably the weakest but the chorus is still good 7/10
The Path: The longest song and probably the best lyricly 8/10
Every song is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Submissive, 6 May 2003
This review is from: Love Metal [Digipak] (Audio CD)
'Love Metal' is the first 'HIM' album I have in my C.D collection and I must admit I am sad to say it.
On hearing this album I can understand why they are such a highly recommended band.
The album gushes sweet rock music that will bring you to a state of doing nothing but standing next to your C.D player listening and watching the seconds pass as you devour each and every digitally encoded spec of sound.
The album hosts ten amazing anthems that deserve every rock fans respect and admiration.
I can honestly say that there is not a single 'filler' tack on this album and if you enjoy any form of rock music you will be thrilled with this purchase.
We are looking at a possible 'Album Of The Year'.
Essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album - But Watered Down, 19 May 2003
This review is from: Love Metal (Audio CD)
The anticipation leading up to the release of this album was immense. HIM are my favourite band, the epic Greatest Love Songs and Razorblade Romance, captured and enchanted me, with thier awesome songwriting and fabulous blend of Metal/Gothic elements. However with this release, the emphasis of finally breaking through in the UK and US through musically sacrificing was imminent. It has took its toll unfortunately on this album. The metal elements and Ville Valos voice seem very much watered down and more accessible.
However, this is still a great album,blossoming with great melodies,which are a great tribute to the awesome songwriting prowess that is Ville Valo. Highlights are the infectious "Buried Alive By Love", pop laden "Funeral of Hearts", the awesome "the sacrament" and "Sweet Pandemonium".
The title "Love Metal" may seem a little too self-proclaimed and ambitious, certainly love,but the metal seems very much discarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album By A Great Band..., 8 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Love Metal (Audio CD)
Having heard the singles "Buried Alive By Love" and "The Sacrament" i decided to go out and buy "love metal" and it is a purchase i do NOT regret. The Album starts with "Buried Alive..." and it begins as it means to continue. Each song has been very well produced and this helps to create a distinctive sound. From catchy guitar riffs in "Soul On Fire" to the epic, slow moving,"The Path" Ville's vocals along with the rest of the bands musical prowess result in a very good album. This is probably my second favourite album by the band...i would recommend "Razorblade Romance" as being the best. However, "love Metal" is very accesible and a very good buy. The album is more of a consolidation of HIM's music, rather the doing anything which is pushing the boundary but having said that, It is a very good album, one which is catchy and represents great value for money. I highly recommend this. 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new experience, 23 Jan. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Metal (Audio CD)
I'd never heard of this band until I heard Funeral of Hearts on the radio and then bought the CD Metal. I'm a great music fan but not particularly of metal music but this album is a cross between inteligent metal and melodic pop.If you like your music with energy then this album is for you as each track has a sence of urgency about it which makes it a fast and furious set.There is a sence of early 70's about their sound ( I was around at the time!)and reminds me of the Zep/Sabbath school in parts which is a good thing for those unfamilair or too young to remember the heyday of British metal. I appreciate good music and this band are professional and entertaining so give them a try.You won't regeret it!( does anyone think the lead singer looks like a young Marc Bolan?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Metal
Love Metal by HIM (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews