Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It will grow on you
I know there are over 100 reviews for this album, so my lonesome one probably won't make a difference.
I have to say that this album is a fantastic addition to the Madonna saga.
It signals another change in direction for the star, using many modern influences.
First track 'American Life' is great, and the much ridiculed rapping is fine with me, as it always...
Published on 9 Nov 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Will the real Madonna please stand up?
Well the long-awaited new Madonna album has arrived.I rushed out today to buy it and have now listened to it several times. This is what I think............
We had a taster of the direction that she was heading in with the release last year of the James Bond theme "Die Another Day". While this single,which features here on American Life,was a new direction for James...
Published on 21 April 2003 by Gary Walsh


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It will grow on you, 9 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: American Life (Audio CD)
I know there are over 100 reviews for this album, so my lonesome one probably won't make a difference.
I have to say that this album is a fantastic addition to the Madonna saga.
It signals another change in direction for the star, using many modern influences.
First track 'American Life' is great, and the much ridiculed rapping is fine with me, as it always brings a smile to my face - and at least Madge rapped herself, instead of getting in somebody else to do it.
Second track 'Hollywood' offers some good rhyming and the video for this track was very imaginative. Also at the end, Madonna's voice is deepened and sounds really good - it's hard to explain.
Skipping forward to track ten, there is the Bond theme 'Die Another Day', which is a great song, but was perhaps not the best of Bond themes.
These three tracks are the current singles from the album, with the double A side of tracks four and six as an upcoming single.
I just hope that the negative reviews don't deter Madge from making future albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is the Message Behind the Music? Love Changes Us, 5 May 2003
This review is from: American Life (Audio CD)
What can you expect if you buy this album? The Limited Edition comes with stamps, poster, and is presented in a white leatherette fabric box, silk-screened in black and red ink with a CD-ROM portion. The songs are soft pop and acoustic with some guitar as it conveys a more personal look into Madonna's emotions and views of the American Dream as it is not what it seems.
If you are expecting a "Ray of Light" or "Music" Album then you will have a surprise. This album is a more personal style of lyrics with sounds, beats, and pop styles not at all comparable to high tech trance club sounds yet very impacting to soften even the hardest of hearts. Collector's will find this to be a similar style as "Like A Prayer" as Madonna opens up and reveals more of her fears, visions, experiences, and love for her life, family and world.
Songs sure to be of great impact in my view would be "Love Profusion", "Nothing Fails", and "Mother and Father" as all 3 have messages that have shown how Madonna has learned to deal with certain issues of her life as well as valued what is important which is love and not material things. It is apparent that her learnings of the Kabbalah have had a way to impact her enough to have them in her songs.
The second single with video, or so it seems "Hollywood" has a faster paced tempo and a catchy type music that is sure to become a hit. "Nobody Knows Me" has a very techno electronic introduction as Madonna sings through the lyrics of how nobody knows her. Unfair critics as well as jealous people would probably fall into this category. I like that song for the empowerment it portrays since it shows confidence, power, and control are still strong in Madonna.
On the same techno/electronica style, "Die Another Day" is more likely to make any listener feel an energized feeling of wanting to move, dance, or just sing along. It may seem to some that this song was out of place from the others but I feel it was a very nice compliment in it's effect to have very cool sounding enhanced vocals which create a different mood for the average listener.
It may take some Madonna fans or listeners a while to adjust to the constant changes of Madonna but isn't that what makes her such a success? You never know what's next, nobody knows her, not really.
As Madonna continues to conquer the world like a Falcon and with a hunger so strong it is obvious she only gets better with time. It is apparent her life events and experiences will help the world be a better place for others to feel love in their hearts, be more spiritual, and put God in the center of their lives rather than the passing material things of this life. For the American Life is not what it seems and Madonna has shown by living it that the key is LOVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect followup for interntional pop-queen!!!, 27 April 2003
This review is from: American Life (Audio CD)
I can understand why critics disagree with this being a good album. It is a very odd album. This is the kind of album it takes time to like. But once you get to that point it's absolutely amazing. I had the exact same thing with "Music", but once I liked it I couldn't get it out of my cd-player anymore. This album is a lot better than "Music" due to its lyrical content. The lyrics may not be very deeply written, but you can hear real clear that they come from Madonna's heart. I'll explain it as a techno-version of "Oh Father" and "Papa don't preach". Only a 1000000 times better than that. The first song is "American Life" which everybody knows. If you don't like that song, don't judge the whole album based on that song. The album is completely different. If you listen to the cd in a store or something, start off with "Mother and Father" and "Nobody knows me". What am I saying though, the whole album is fantastic!!! Another great bonus is the tv version of "Die another day" with Madonna's laugh in the middle and the 30 second ending. To make a long story short.....BUY THIS ALBUM!!!
I'll grade every song for you on a scale from 1 to 10:
1)American Life (9/10)
2)Hollywood (9/10)
3)I'm So Stupid (10/10)
4)Love Profusion (9/10)
5)Nobody Knows me (10/10)
6)Nothing Fails (10/10)
7)Intervention (8/10)
8)X-static Process (8/10)
9)Mother and Father (10/10)
10)Die Another Day (9/10)
11)Easy ride (8/10)
I think it's pretty clear that I enjoy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madonna... i salute you!!!!!!, 21 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: American Life (Audio CD)
This album is amazing, totally different to Music and Ray Of Light - her earlier albums.
Here we have a collection Of well written lyrics and fantastic music.
Lets start with the opening track "American Life" - This song isnt one of Madonna's greatest...it doesnt even come close..but it grows on you...its about how the we live in a perfect world where the public only care about fashion, glitz and glamour - sort of living in *THE PERFECT WORLD* while ignoring the reality of life.
*Hollywood* - is apparently the second single to be released...its perfect pop - light and easy on the ear - a good song. *Im So Stupid* - Not a good choice for a single ...very rock and pop....think Candy Perfume..but with less rock...i give this song 2/5
*Love Profusion* - This track is fantastic - possibly her greatest Ballad ever, The lyrics are beautiful and madonna's voice is at her fullest with more maturity than ever before, this would do well as a single ...5/5
*Nobody Knows Me* - This is a great song to dance to in the clubs, as soon as you hear it, you wont ever doubt it is a mirwais track, so many sounds on this one, bleeps and plenty of Vocoder involved here...Think "Impressive Instant" but with more stabbing sounds. a great song to get down and dirty on the dancefloor 5/5
*Nothing Fails* - The Mother of the album, *Nothing Fails* is sure to be a single - its very haunting and reflects *Secret* and *Like A Prayer* rolled into one, the choir is simply amazing, i defy anyone who doesnt like this song, the choir alone simply sends a chill down your spine. 5/5
*Intervention* - what can i say? looks like another possible single for Madonna with this one, very light, and plenty of guitar on this one. 4/5
*X-Static Process* - Madonna's voice really shines on this track - Think Evita - the lyrics are very beautiful here also "Jesus Christ will you look at me ?
Don't know who I'm supposed to be
Don't really know if I should give
a damn when you're around,
I don't know who I am". wow - 3/5
*Mother And Father* - Madonna sounds like a child on this track, but in a way it suits the song, its very upbeat and dancey, "Oh Motherm, why arnt you here with me", "I got to give it up", "i got to let go* madonna sings in a childs voice about her mother who dies so long ago....if this song was a ballad it would bring tears to your eyes. 5/5, shame about the rap
*Die Another Day* - well i think most of you have alreay heard this by now, a good song.4/5
*Easy Ride* - great closing track, very slow and easy on the ear, as great as it is...not a possible single. 3/5
All in all the album is perfect, but not as good as "Like a Prayer" or "Ray Of Light" - i think what we have here is Madonna trying to re-create "Like A Prayer" with a hint of "Ray Of Light" including a little imaturity of "Music" also, there are some brilliant ballads, but not a patch on her earlier efforts...with all the reviews Madonna has been getting eith this album, its sure to cement her firmly to her thrown she has ben sitting on for so long throughout the years.
Madonna - I SALUTE YOU.
Album Rating ****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna + Missy = classic!, 19 April 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Life [CD 1] (Audio CD)
Well, once again Madonna surprises us with something, erm, different. When I first heard this track I absolutely hated it and thought Madonna had finally become too experimental. She had lost a fan. But then I heard it again and again on the radio and, like many of her songs, it grew on me. OK, so the rap isn't exactly mind-blowing, but it's a laugh if nothing else. However, skip to the Missy Elliot remix and the rap actually sounds quite good! This is without doubt my favourite mix of the track. If you like Missy's other stuff, I'm sure you'll like this version. Her extra rap at the start kicks things off nicely and surprisingly the parts where Madonna sings gel with Missy's reworking. A classic remix - much better than the original and well worth buying for this mix alone. As for the 3rd track, well, it's value for money at being over 10 minutes long but that was the problem - it started to bore me after 6 or so minutes. Not bad, but one for the clubs really.
If you want to buy only one of the 2 CDs available at the moment, I'd recommend this one. The other one featuring remixes by Paul Oakenfold and Felix Da Housecat is good too, but the Oakenfold remix adds little to the original and Felix' version is OK, but not one of his best in my opinion. Good if you like 80s sounds, but not for me. Alternatively, you could wait until 28 April and buy CD3 which has all the remixes on the one CD. Either way, if 'American Life' is supposedly the worst track on her new CD, Madonna's new album should be a classic. Now if only we could get to see that video.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where can she go next?, 12 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: American Life (Audio CD)
Drawn with dark, introspective hues, American Life is the flip side to 2001's Music, which was intentionally aimed to be easy on the brain and heavy on the hips. From the opening lines of the title track, it's clear that we've caught the 44-year-old artist in a reflective state of mind. From there Madonna meditates on religion (the glorious "Nothing Fails", which glides from a lean arrangement into a choir-chanted climax of the refrain "Makes me wanna pray"), family ("Intervention", a charming ode to her son, and "Love Profusion", a plaintive love letter to her husband), and the world at large (the rock-charged "I'm So Stupid"). It adds up to some of the more literate, deeply heartfelt material she's ever offered. But it's during "Hollywood" and "The X-Static Process" that Madonna shines brightest. Despite their disparate styles, both songs illustrate that no amount of experimentation or growth will hinder her apparent love of - or her knack for crafting - perfect pop songs. As an album it leaves you completely sated, but still wondering where she can possibly go next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instantly impressive, 21 April 2003
By 
Mhairi Donald (Greenock, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: American Life (Audio CD)
Madonna has been in the music business for 20 years now and her appeal never wavers. This album is a perfect example of why she continues to be such a phenomenal success. After having just listened to the album for the first time, I already feel like pretty much every song is an old favourite.
The first single, American Life and the Bond theme, Die Another Day were already familiar - but the rest of the album was still instantly enjoyable. Madonna has once again married a huge range of musical styles and moulded them into her own original style. Her voice (or voices as it changes so much throughout) is at its most stunning.
For me, stand out tracks are the beautiful Nothing Fails and X-Static Process.
There is definitely something here for all tastes and something for all moods. I would recommend this album for anyone, whether they are Madonna fans or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing fails for Madonna! an underrated classic., 13 Jun 2008
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Life (Audio CD)
Music was a successful album for Madonna and sales rocketed as did her drowned world tour(which was an immediate success)this is an indirect follow up from Music and Ray Of Light which turns out to be very good.
much in the same vein as Erotica this is an album that is highly regarded as an underrated classic.

there are a few great tracks on this album,with a techno feel ballad approach i love nobody knows me and Mother and Father,they are great and hard hitting tracks on this album which symbolizes her career and her personal life.
American Life and Die Another Day are extremely strong and also provides a strong beat.
Hollywood is basically mocking the stars in Hollywood and the whole fame system.
Nothing Fails and Love Profusion are calm and reassuring tracks.
Im So Stupid has techno written all over it but it is a fun song.
Intervention is by far the best song on the album which talks about her highs and lows and how she has become the star she is.
Easy Ride finishes off the album in an uplifting tone and shows fans that her career was in fact NOT an easy ride.
very good album,while a footnote to the spectacular Music,it got the #1 spot on the charts and remains an indepandant album and a very hard-hitting one that should be respected...all in all a 9/10 from me.
track list-

American Life-10/10-fantastic song and extremely deep.
Hollywood-10/10-great style and a retro feel.
I'm so stupid-8/10-very good change of style for this song:).
Love Profusion-10/10-very calm compared to the rest of the album but still great and very upbeat.
Nobody knows me-10/10-symbolizes Madonna's career and the fact that although she is a HUGE legendary figure nobody can sum her up entirely, a tour de force.
Nothing fails-10/10-a semi-ballad if you will and again very enjoyable.
Intervention-10/10-awesome song,i personally love it loads and is an underrated Madonna classic.
Mother and Father-10/10-a personal song for Madge about how she coped with her mothers death,while contains a strange up beat techno rhythm for a background, it's distorted and wonderful in vision.
X-static process-10/10-A fantastic acoustic piece.
Die Another Day-10/10-a classic song although it had to be released early because the film was released in October 2002 with the album released early 2003 but that doesn't mess with the sheer quality of the song.
Easy Ride-10/10-nice ending to the album which shows that her career was certainly not easy.

No other artist has or will ever create an album as definitively artistically deep as this! not Kylie, Britney,Beyonce,Gaga or ANYONE! and American Life may have sold 4 million globally but it's quality matches that of previous albums work, while following albums Confessions and Hard Candy also follow a structure of layered and intriguing songs. American Life is an album that acts as somewhat as a sequel to Ray of light and Music's Electronica works and had a symbolic tribute to the patriotic and controversial albums of the 60's that were anti War and very political works they were!

American Life is a resounding phenomenal success in the respect that it reaches into Madonna's soul as an intellect and her tour in support of the album was very much symbolic of her journey, as music icon, legend, artist, musician and dancer and highlighted her personal aspects within each performance, while this is my leas favourite Madonna album of the past decade, this is an absolute masterpiece of an album that ranks among some of the greatest works in music history. While not entirely perfect, this shows why Madonna is and always will be The Queen Of pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential CD, 27 April 2003
This review is from: American Life (Audio CD)
On a first impression, the cd art (and generally, Madonna's new look) is much more attractive than "Music's" cowboy themes, which did concern some people!
The tracks are diverse while not straying too much from both Madonna's classic styles and what she has tried to achieve since "Ray of Light". Here is a rundown of the best tracks:
American Life- Not really the most obvious choice for a title track, but that doesn't stop this from being one of the album's most memorable songs. With an amusing electronica backing and likewise funny, clever lyrics, Madonna's voice works well with this kind of music. A hip-hop track to compare with Missy Elliott's best. However, the recurring swearing at the end could be construed as an excuse to have an "explicit content" label! And it can be a shock when the beat breaks off and the guitar starts strumming, although that does set off the rest of the song well for the fast-moving vocal climax.
Hollywood- I'm a big fan of this track- much smoother than American Life, and a cool electronica backing, and soft, simple but memorable vocals/lyrics make this essential to the album. It possibly refers to Madonna's own film career- lines like "I tried to leave it but I never could...this time it's got to be good...I've lost my reputation right and good...etc... reflect on Madge's own, less than perfect, relationship with Hollywood.
Love Profusion- Also a fave of mine! The simple lyrics and crooning singing in the style of "Ray of Light's" Frozen are enhanced by stylish backing vocals. This song is very simple but very addictive.
Nobody Knows Me- Another rap- like American Life- with a kind of electronic, beeping noise in the backing that's very catchy. Once again, deep (but still feminine) vocals again work charms.The story of the song sees Madonna try to exonerate herself from being told "how to lead her life" or let " a stranger give her a sexual disease". Yes, it's pretty unconnected but sounds good!
Nothing Fails- That's a pretty positive title! With stringed interludes that are hauntingly beautiful to compare with chirpy beats to be enjoyed, Madonna's tones are joined near the end of the song by a glorious choir for a great climax to the song.
Mother and Father- Madonna sings in childish tones for, apparently, her most personal song yet "my mother died when i was five...my father had to go to work, i used to think he was a jerk", against bold, rhythmic electronica. This might not sound like an effective formula, but the wistful choruses transform what otherwise might be audially insulting into another essential.
Die Another Day- Opening with a spooky, trembling intro, and proceeding with synchronised vocals and a masterful beat that combines excellently with a warpy type of electronic sound, and the imposing cello, this really is some of Madonna's best material. It works best against the opening scenes of 007 James Bond's latest instalment(of the same name) and should be enough to convert Bond Fans into Madonna fans!
Easy Ride- By the end of an album, you've usually had your fill, and the last track isn't often that good anyway. Mentioning no names. However this is arguably the album's best song, with heartwrenching strings and guitar, and soft, tender vocals. The electronica is at first reluctant, yet culminates in a powerful climax before relaxing back into strings. The lyrical themes are pretty self- centered, but ignore that and you have pretty much the perfect Madonna song.
Overall, this album would be scoring ten out of ten, but Amazon won't let me, so five shall suffice :)
In my opinion this is possibly the best of the three latest albums and an essential addition to the collection of either long-term fans of Madonna or general pop enthusiasts. The styles of her music have matured a lot and will satisfy anyone disapponted in "Music".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madge Is Back With Her Best Album EVER!!!!, 23 April 2003
By 
simon bray - cotton (Wolverhampton, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: American Life (Audio CD)
At last the long awaited new album from the Queen is released!!!
I was so excited that i got to work early on the morning this was released so I could stand outside Woolworths waiting for it to open, I then made up some feeble excuse to go out so I could listen to it in the car, and I was not disapointed!!!!
From the opening lines of American Life you just know this album is gonna be a classic, and although people couldnt quite get to grips with Madge rapping, once you reaslise she is justing taking the mic out of herself it suddenly becomes amusing.
The next track to be released is Hollywood and it is brilliant, irresistable pop beats mixed with tight electro grooves make this a fab summer song and the fact that she takes the p***s out of her failed attempt to conquer Hollywood makes it all the better.
Other notable tracks are Nobody Fails with its choral parts makes you reminice back to Like A Prayer, Mother and Father is mad but brilliant and of course Die Another Day is just pure class!!!
In short this album is probably the best album of her career, its not in your face pop like Music with its over synthesised, yet brilliant, songs, its chilled out laid back and down right amazing, if you buy one album this summer make it this one!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Life
American Life by Madonna (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews