Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect souvenir for who checked TiŽsto this year!
This double CD shows exactly how TiŽsto, the best DJ of 2002, works the crowd. Who knows TiŽsto by "In Search Of Sunrise" series only, don't know half of what's going on on this CD. Many people accuses TiŽsto for being too soft because of "In Search Of Sunrise" CDs and the first part of his live sets (which are focused on progressive and Oakenfold-like trance). "Nyana" is...
Published on 16 Jun. 2003 by fabiostein

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Progressive Trance
Nyana consists of two cds, each of which showcase a different side of Tiesto's live sets. The first cd is generally quite driving and intense while the second demonstrates a more relaxed,uplifting sound. Before i get down to brass tacks, i have to say that this cd is far too long. Trying to keep a listener's attention over 27 tracks is a tall order, even for Tiesto. Ok, i...
Published on 8 Oct. 2003 by Colmus Furios


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect souvenir for who checked TiŽsto this year!, 16 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Nyana (Audio CD)
This double CD shows exactly how TiŽsto, the best DJ of 2002, works the crowd. Who knows TiŽsto by "In Search Of Sunrise" series only, don't know half of what's going on on this CD. Many people accuses TiŽsto for being too soft because of "In Search Of Sunrise" CDs and the first part of his live sets (which are focused on progressive and Oakenfold-like trance). "Nyana" is here to show TiŽsto's harder side and explain how he works live sets.
The first CD (Outdoor) is based on his arena's sets and what he usually play during the second part of his sets: techno, tech-trance and veeeeeeeery uplifting melodic trance. The highlights are tracks 02, 04, 07, 10, 14.
The second CD (Indoor) follows the pattern he created with "In Search Of Sunrise" (but way more danceable) and what he usually plays during the first part of long sets, specially in clubs: progressive, melodic trance. The highlight are tracks 03, 04, 08, 09, 11, 13.
I personally enjoyed more the first CD because it's so uplifting and energic! It really took me back to that night TiŽsto played @ Club Space in Miami during the Winter Music Conference... ahhh... the best set I've ever heard in my whole life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Beyond Belief!, 7 Jan. 2009
By 
Gene and Bolly (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nyana (Audio CD)
i was ridiing into work one morning and got stopped at the lights. sitting in traffic i heard this wonderful sound coming from the car next to me so i knocked on the window and asked the driver what the music was he was listening to. with a huge smile on his face he said, "TIESTO! NYANA!" i had never heard of such a thing but ordered it online and OH MY GOODNESS i was blown away then and every time since when i listen to this album. it's a beautiful blend of uplifting trance that will bring the biggest smile to your face and give you goosebumps the size of golfballs! you will be in trance heaven bar none :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Varied..., 10 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Nyana (Audio CD)
Another very good release by DJ Tiesto. I have to say though that I didn't quite fall in love with this compilation the first time I stuck it in my CD player. CD 1 is more of a slow start to the jounrey but once the cd has been played a couple of times the realisation is that Tiesto is simply easing you in for what is to come...
...that is what makes his work so special. He pays a considerable amount of thought and attention to how and where he is going to record his tracks. This way he can recreate the feeling of bliss he himself feels as the eager consumer pops the merchandise into the sound system! Tiesto has a completely unique style. He seems to combine all the best elements of trance into his work to create something uplifting, melodic and yet progessive. This CD is exemplar material of such a style.
CD 1 is slightly more vigorous with harder undertones. Quality vocals are characteristic throughout the entire compilation, for example Jan Johnston and Sinead O'Connor on Disk 1. The gabriel & Dresden Mix of Andain's "Beautiful Things" on CD 2 is well worth a mention - a track that leaves a feeling of warmth and content inside those who have the pleasure of listening to it.
If you are more of an Uplifting kind of person CD 2 will be ur focus. "Catcher - Destiny Sunrise" has the kind of haunting melody you will want to hear again and again. Tina Arena's contribution to The Roc Project's "Never" has been well receieved, another highly regarded track in tranceland at present. Othe rfavourite's are "POS - Remember (Summer Sun) and "Solid Globe - North Pole", placed conveniently to round-off a truly physically and psychologically addictive compilation.
Tiesto gives you the trance, the whole trance and nothing but trance - it's Class A - and MUST be bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Progressive Trance, 8 Oct. 2003
This review is from: Nyana (Audio CD)
Nyana consists of two cds, each of which showcase a different side of Tiesto's live sets. The first cd is generally quite driving and intense while the second demonstrates a more relaxed,uplifting sound. Before i get down to brass tacks, i have to say that this cd is far too long. Trying to keep a listener's attention over 27 tracks is a tall order, even for Tiesto. Ok, i appreciate that the compilation is meant to reflect his live sets but, all the same,some of the tunes on this cd are just making up the numbers.Around 10 tunes per cd would have been ideal and would have improved the quality control in a big way.
Cd 1 starts off slowly with a sort of progressive house style and, for a few tracks, appears promising as the rhythm picks up nicely. It gets a bit mediocre around the middle, though, and only gets going again with a decent effort in "Tears from the Moon" featuring the vocals of Sinead O Connor. Disc 1 then finishes strongly with some solid trance numbers including the excellent "Urban Shakedown" from Solar Factor, aka Mr Push himself, M.I.K.E.
The second cd is in a different vein altogether, focusing as it does on the less intense, more uplifting stuff which is no bad thing.The musical quality on the second disc is better overall than the first one and most of the tracks are quite uplifting and melodic. Standout tunes include the excellent "Nothing" from Holden & Thompson as well as the final three tracks which are top notch.
A word, though, about some of the vocal tracks. I always feel that adding vocals to dance tunes is somewhat of a fine art and doesn't always succeed. Examples of good vocal tunes would be "Remember" by BT or, in a more muted style,"Nothing But You" by Paul Van Dyk. The vocals on this cd aren't great and definitely detract from some otherwise good tunes such as The Roc Project track which has a good melody but a dire vocal by 1980s songstress Tina Arena! Sort it out Tiesto,please!!
The exception to the above would be the Sinead O Connor tune which, in fairness, is decent enough.
To sum up, Nyana is a decent enough effort but is as frustrating to listen to as it is enjoyable. This is unfortunate as Tiesto is capable of a lot better. The excessive amount of tunes lost the album points as far as i'm concerned as this could have been excellent.
Worth a listen but not outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top stuff from Tiesto, 31 Oct. 2003
By 
This review is from: Nyana (Audio CD)
Have to say this album lived up to all my expectations from the world's #1.
Two very different CD's which come together to form one great compilation. The 1st cd starts off with a kind of thrashy hard house which is not really my cup of tea (one star taken off for this),the Cd then progresses into the real hard trance that Tiesto is renowned for and by the latter part of the cd he has really whipped up a frenzy.
The 2nd CD is excellent in it's own right, more relaxed and uplifting trance with the use of more female vocals. Excellent track selection with excellent mixing, you find yourself drifting away into the music which is the sure sign of a top mix.
Overall highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A warm up to the summer..., 28 May 2003
This review is from: Nyana (Audio CD)
Tiesto needs no introduction as we see another beautifully mixed double cd with some fantastic tunes that'll get you ready for the summer.
Somewhat reminiscent of his In Search Of Sunrise series, these two CDs remind us of how flawlessly Tiesto can mix a selection of tunes together to create a CD that's greater than the sum of its parts.
No up-front in-your-face hard tunes on this album, just a beautiful selection of relaxing euphoric trance.
My favourite of the two would be the second CD, 'Indoor', with it's slightly lower paced tempo and more chilled selection of tunes. Tunes like 'Mr Sam vs Fred Baker - Forever Waiting' and 'Solarstone vs Sirocco - Destination' create a summery warm feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Progressive and uplifting, 9 Mar. 2004
By 
L Roberts "lwsrbrts" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nyana (Audio CD)
All but one of the tracks on this double CD pack were virtually unknown to me yet each choice that Tiesto has made is a good one. My favourite of the two has to be the Outdoor CD (Disc 2). My mind, ears, heart and soul appreciate every second of Andain - Beautiful Things (Gabriel & Dresden Mix), it is a lyrically perfect song that warms the heart and soul.
Tiesto's choice of tracks is anything but mainstream, yes I've heard a few of them but each is a great track in its own right and was relatively unknown at the time of release of this CD. The only track I see that has become somewhat mainstream is of course Motorcycle - As The Rush Comes but reading a bit more into the "mix" of the track it was an exclusive Demo given to Tiesto to be played by him. Because of the fantastic reception the track got it became more mainstream, as they inevitably do.
Disc 2 is certainly more chillout than it is dance your socks off but Disc 1 makes up for this, it's a lot rougher on the ears and easier to dance to however let's not forget that you're not going to be dancing at the bus stop with your Discman on full pelt. These two CD's were created to be listened to and loved not thrown in the CD player at some massive trance lovers party with 1000 people waving their hands in the air. If you're a Tiesto fan you're not likely to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A warm up to the summer..., 28 May 2003
This review is from: Nyana (Audio CD)
Tiesto needs no introduction as we see another beautifully mixed double cd with some fantastic tunes that'll get you ready for the summer.
Somewhat reminiscent of his In Search Of Sunrise series, these two CDs remind us of how flawlessly Tiesto can mix a selection of tunes together to create a CD that's greater than the sum of its parts.
No up-front in-your-face hard tunes on this album, just a beautiful selection of relaxing euphoric trance.
My favourite of the two would be the second CD, 'Indoor', with it's slightly lower paced tempo and more chilled selection of tunes. Tunes like 'Mr Sam vs Fred Baker - Forever Waiting' and 'Solarstone vs Sirocco - Destination' create a summery warm feeling.
5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Second CD, 12 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Nyana (Audio CD)
First CD is too cheesy for my tastes for a fair part. The first few tracks are quite minimalist, decent, but then it gets into cheese. The track ft. Sinead O' Connor is superb though, though if it wasn't for that, I don't think I'd ever listen to the first CD.
Second CD is superb, less cheesy for the large part (and what cheese there is is Gabriel & Dresden style high quality cheese), and has some excellent tunes, particularly tracks 1, 3, 8 and 10. The only bad tune on the CD is track 7, which is one of the worst and most annoying trance tunes I've ever heard, spoils an otherwise great CD, which is why it's got 4 stars and not 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dutch Pride Strikes Again, 12 July 2003
This review is from: Nyana (Audio CD)
Make your choice: Outdoor or Indoor. Outdoor: old-fashioned quintessential TiŽsto, high-adrenaline and enjoy the standoff with 2003 Pinkpop festival "Winner" Junkie XL. Obsession standing for what these two are to the Dutch (and this Dutchman in particular) - if you ask me. Respectful to Sinead O'Connor in a great In Search of Sunrise Remix.
Indoor: believe it or not: I play it in the office and my days get longer with the same energy levels at 9pm as at 7am...
Enough said: buy it and love it: it is another masterpiece. I have given this CD away to 20 (Non-Dutch) friends and they agree: this guy is right up there with tulips, windmills and cheese....
So is this his best ever then? Debatable. The tracks are well chosen, the technical blending is skilfully done as always and disc 1 is a feast of recognition: this is how we know him. Burning down the house, perhaps this time somewhat toned down compared to earlier sets and discs.
So is this his best ever then? No, just another great one, so we can also enjoy the next one again and the one after that and the one.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nyana
Nyana by Tiesto (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews