Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NYPD Blue season 1
This a terrific beginning to a brilliant show which has spawned 9 other great seasons of it. It shows the lives of tough street cops and how their jobs has affected their personal relationships. starring great actors David Caruso as Det.John Kelly and Dennis Franz as Det.Andy Sipowitz. Other terrific performances from Amy Brennerman and Sherry Stringfield, and if you look...
Published on 4 Sep 2004 by Amanda Louden

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing. Not a patch on Hill Street Blues ...
Very disappointing. Not a patch on Hill Street Blues. No likeable characters and a somewhat mechanical plot - a somewhat harsh judgement but it did not live up to its rating.
Published 3 months ago by JASPER


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NYPD Blue season 1, 4 Sep 2004
This review is from: NYPD Blue - Series One [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
This a terrific beginning to a brilliant show which has spawned 9 other great seasons of it. It shows the lives of tough street cops and how their jobs has affected their personal relationships. starring great actors David Caruso as Det.John Kelly and Dennis Franz as Det.Andy Sipowitz. Other terrific performances from Amy Brennerman and Sherry Stringfield, and if you look closely you will see a pre-Friends David Schwimmer.
A tough detective series like you have never seen before which will keep you wanting to watch more. My recommendation. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i waited a long time for this............, 9 Jun 2003
This review is from: NYPD Blue - Series One [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
For true fans of this show this collection is a must. NYPD blue has long been my favorite show on the tv and to be able to sit down and watch the whole first series in one hit was great. All the emotion, comedy and realism takes hold of you from the moment it starts to play and does'nt let you go till the end of the very last episode. The added extras contained on the discs give a wonderfull insight into the making of the first series. It really is a great piece of television. You should buy it!!!! I only hope it wont take as long before they release the rest of this wonderfull programme on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Gold!!!!!, 20 Jun 2003
By 
J. E. Parry "Jeff Parry" (Pontypool, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NYPD Blue - Series One [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
NYPD Blue will always be remebered for the "shakey camera". The programme has all the hallmarks of a Steve Bochco/David Milch inspired series. The humour, drama, ensemble performances and slickness are very reminiscent of Hill Street Blues and LA Law. Not forgetting the catchy Mike Posy theme.
This series is dirtier and grittier than most UK and US cop shows. The spotlight falls mainly on David Caruso and Dennis franz as Kelly and Sipowicz. However as the series builds so the other characters are fleshed out and givenn their time in the light.
We follow Sipowicz through his alcoholism and clean-up and Kelly through his marriage break-up and troublesome affairs. The series follows their professional and personal lives and shows how they interact.
James McDaniel gives a fine turn as, what seems to be the obligatory black, Lieutenant and this helps to bring the racism and minority aspect into the storylines. It shows the problems he faces at work from his squad and his superior and also some of his home life.
Sherry Stringfield as Laurie Kelly brings realism to her job as as a DA and we are introduced to her conflicts with mobsters, lying boss and her own relatonship with the squad.
Nicholas Torturro as Martinez introduces the junior cop to the squad and follows his development. There is Licalsi's problems with the mob that ends her relationship with Kelly and could threaten his position.
As the series progresses we meet bent cops, family members, lawyers, drug dealers and victims. We follow the story of David Schwimmer's weak lawyer who, following a mugging, decides to arm himself and take revenge. We see Sipowicz get shot and his discussed at the way the shooter gets away unpunished.
This was the forerunner of the "down and dirty cop" shows. It shows the police, and their work, in a more realistic light. we see the decisions that they are facing everyday and the pressures that surround them.
This began what has become a successful and essential TV series. Some of the characters leave but the show is well written and engrossing TV.
More programmes should be made with this quality and detail. Why do the Americans seem able to do this but not the Brits? They also invest in 22-24 week series whereas UK TV sticks to 6-12 week runs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magnificent Cop Drama, 8 Jun 2006
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NYPD Blue - Series One [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I bought NYPD Blue on DVD despite having never seen a single episode. I love watching cop dramas like The Shield and wanted something else that I could enjoy on the same level.

Although NYPD Blue looks pretty dated now, none of the action or drama is diluted and it recieved much acclaim from both sides of the Atlantic when it was first screened. Audiences were hooked by the gritty realism of cases worked by detectives of the 15th precinct. The show also delves into the main characters personal lives and we learn about Kellys marriage break up, Sipowicz's battle with alcoholism and Martinez's pain caused by his junky younger brother. This personal touch is a nice contrast to seeing the detectives tough impersonal approach when dealing with homicides, drugs, corruption and mobsters.

NYPD Blue is gripping TV and paved the way for Law and Order, CSI and The Shield with it's uncompromising approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NYPD Blue Series One - the original and best, 30 July 2003
By 
Phil Kelly (Doncaster, S.Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NYPD Blue - Series One [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
For fellow NYPD Blue addicts - this is a must see again opportunity. The strength of the cast as well as the wonderful and very powerful dialogue are everything that you will remember from 10 years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUYERS OF THIS SET BEWARE!, 9 Jun 2004
This review is from: NYPD Blue - Series One [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
NYPD Blue is most likely the greatest police drama ever to come out of the U.S. It is an absolutely fantastic show and is still great in its 11th season! However, buyers of this set beware. Fox have stated that due to poor sales of the first two seasons, no further seasons of NYPD Blue will be released on DVD, and as a person who intended to buy the entire series as a collection, like many others, can no longer do so. So, I just want to say that the show itself is great, and having the first 2 seasons on DVD is fantastic, but fans of the show like myself who wanted to own the entire collection, won't be able to, so for most, its not worth buying the first 2 seasons at all, as you'll just have an incomplete set. Funny how FOX have neglected to make this easily available public knowledge isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are there more?, 21 July 2004
This review is from: NYPD Blue - Series One [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
So FOX state they won't release more, but they recently retracted (again) and said they will tenatively release S3 at some point in the future (allegedly) which is good news considering that now I've bought S1 and S2 I need to go on with the show. I was a latecomer coming to the show on TV midway through the Sorenson saga, so its great to see the roots of all the drama presented in this slick little box set. Simply put, NYPD is the daddy of all modern cop shows and it still packs a hell of a punch. Franz's powerhouse performance and Caruso's intensity make for a great double act. The supporting cast are sidelined, but still deliver edgy, believable performances. If you like your cop shows, if you like a gritty edge to your drama, then NYPD Blue is the name of the game. Absolutely superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best NY Cop Drama of all Time, 29 Mar 2005
This review is from: NYPD Blue - Series One [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Compelling, Superb, Gritty. Denis Franz simply shines as the morose sipowicz, but this was surely David Caruso's finest hour, of any film or tv performance as the heroic john kelly.
Is this is a realistic portrait of the midtown precinct pre-911? I dont know, much was made of the phrase 'reach out' being false. I dont care, its superb prime-time us tv at its best. Its kicks Law and Order into touch, no question.
On the other hand, my girlfriend calls this NYPD Boring, and cant stand it. You decide...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NYPD CARUSO, 18 July 2005
By 
This review is from: NYPD Blue - Series One [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Season 1 of NYPD Blue is quite simply one of the best cop shows ever and is a must have on disc...Buy it simply for David Caruso & Dennis Franz..yes the other characters are good but it is these two that make it..in particuar David Caurso really stands out here & it is so annoying that he didn't give us 2 or 3 season of Dec John Kelly to enjoy.....I won't go into stories but i loved the dvd's.....A must have..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best TV cop show, 30 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: NYPD Blue - Series One [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Here in the UK, primetime schedules have been cluttered with inferior homegrown police/emergency dramas over the last few years.
Thankfully, in the mid-1990s someone spotted the potential of NYPD Blue, and it's great to see the original cast of characters again on DVD.
The music, the camerawork, the complex personal lives, some imaginative storylines, and the legendary interview room scenes combine to produce a clever mix of 1950s-style crime thriller and modern thirtysomething drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NYPD Blue - Series One [DVD] [1993]
NYPD Blue - Series One [DVD] [1993] by Mark Piznarski (DVD - 2003)
£22.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews