Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!!!!
At last, the start of the DVD series I have been waiting for. MASH is my all time favourite TV series and to see it in all its glory after 30 years is just so satisfying.
Mash the TV series is not nearly as satirical or dark as the Robert Altman movie, but excels in so many ways. The first series takes a little time to get going for those new to the show, but when...
Published on 20 Aug 2003 by Mr. Andrew I. Love

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars mash
i realy love mash order Season 1
but Amazon EU S.a.r.L. send me season 1 cover and season 2 dvd .........
Published 4 months ago by Rudi Bøkseth


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!!!!, 20 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 1 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
At last, the start of the DVD series I have been waiting for. MASH is my all time favourite TV series and to see it in all its glory after 30 years is just so satisfying.
Mash the TV series is not nearly as satirical or dark as the Robert Altman movie, but excels in so many ways. The first series takes a little time to get going for those new to the show, but when it does it is great.
As soon as you hear the opening bars of one of the greatest TV themes of all time you are in for a treat. (oddly, they tinker with the theme tune about of a third of the way through the series and it becomes very 70s - but by the end the original is restored).
The acting of most of the cast is excellent:
Maclean Stephenson as Colonel Henry Blake excels as a non military man struggling with day to day command of an anarchic unit;
Loretta Swit as Margaret (Hotlips) Houlihan epitomises pent up sexuality;
Gary Burghoff as 'Radar' O'Reilley is as sweet a character you are likely to find, but is more worldy wise in this first series than in later ones, where his character developes (regresses?) into an almost childlike innocent - the son/kid brother replacement for his displaced colleagues;
Larry Linville is the tightlipped Major Frank Burns who is destined to be the butt of many a gag;
Wayne Rogers is Trapper John and in this series is not relegated to a secondary character.
The outstanding performance, however, is that of Alan Alda as Dr Benjamin Franklin Pierce (Hawkeye). This is one of the defining characters of both the programmes and of American TV. There are teething problems in the first series but Hawkeyes credentials are soon established and he takes the essential heart and conscience of the series. It is a performance of great wit but also great integrity.
Sidelined in the first series are William Christopher's Father Mulchaey and Jamie Farr's cross dressing Klinger. But those of us who love Mash can sit and watch with anticipation of their rightful places being established later.
There are some things that I had forgotten. The show started with another occupant of 'The Swamp' (Frank,Hawkeye and Trapper's tent) - Spearchucker, the only black character. He mysteriously disappears halfway through series 1 - the official explaination being that the producers discovered there were no black surgeons serving in the Korean War. And Father Mulchaey was played by a different actor in the pilot.
remember, though to turn of the laughter track which marred the shows in the States. In the UK we were lucky when BBC2 ditched the laughs and let the show stand on its own.
Mash is a superbly funny and essential part of TV history.
I can't wait for series 2 -11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but beware, 24 July 2003
By A Customer
Many have been waiting to purchase the MASH TV series in the UK for a long time - it's been available in the US for a while now. The series is great - the early seasons, with Wayne Rogers, McLean Stevenson and Larry Linville are the best. However, those buying the video beware - they have canned laughter. The show was shown in the US with canned laughter, but shown in the UK on BBC2 with the laughter track removed. This VHS version has the canned laughter, which is disappointing as the show is not often laugh-out-loud comedy. Those buying the DVD version have a choice to remove the laughter track if they wish.
That said, it's still a great show and worth having in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent comedy, a great investment, 19 April 2003
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 1 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Set during the Korean war MASH is the account of the staff of the Mobile Army Surgical Hospital 4077th set near the front lines with the sole purpose of fixing soldiers quickly and dispatching for further treatment elsewhere. It is however a TV legend in its own right, and has been a long time coming to DVD. The barbed humour although occasionally slapstick comes back to a satire of the army life with a clear anti-war thread running throughout the programme. Although picking off where a movie left off (albeit 3 years later) the TV series is most definitely superior.
The juxtaposition of two young brilliant but disaffected surgeons (Alan Alda’s “Hawkeye” & Wayne Rodger’s “Trapper”) against the older, less able, “true blue” Maj Frank Burns (performed excellently by Larry Linville) allows for excellent situation comedy. This is all under the command of Col Henry Blake (McLean Stevenson), a good surgeon but weak commander with the true administration centre of the unit focussed on a 18 year old corporal from rural Iowa named “Radar” O’Reilly (Gary Burghoff).
Struggling against Army order, inefficiency and apparent stupidity series one showcases classic episodes where Trapper & Hawkeye trade a desk on the black market for medical supplies, cheat in a boxing match to stop a much liked nurse from being transferred, obtain an incubator for the hospital by working their way up a dizzying array of uncooperative officers and even deal with unexploded ordinance in sharp satire aimed sqaurely at the military. But the true root of the comedy is in the fast and frequent exchanges between characters.
This is a truly enjoyable DVD that will give food for thought but also entertainment. If let down at first, persevere, this is a truly great series and is well worth the investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally on DVD..., 13 April 2003
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 1 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Although I'm exctatic about M*A*S*H being released on DVD, I don't see why it couldn't have been released in England alongside the releases in America (2 years ago). However, I'm not complaining now!
Season 1, although not the best season, is a great starting season for a tv show. The characters are introduced well and sufficiently fleshed out so not to appear 1 dimensional, except for Frank, and somewhere throught the season the balance between drama and comedy is struck. There are classic episodes such as 'Dear Dad', 'Dear Dad Again' and 'Sometimes You Hear The Bullet'.
Hawkeye and Trapper make an excellent pair of friends and jokers around the camp, although Alda's protrayal of Hawkeye steals the shows effortlessly.
I'd recommend this to anyone - young and old alike - I never saw this show when it was first broadcast but it's a classic - it won't age. 5 star rating from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll never stop laughing, 26 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 1 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
This DVD combines the sincerity of war with the comic genius of actors such as Alan ALda and Larry Linville. This DVD will keep you entertained for years, know matter how many times you watch it. To me this series is the start of great comedy and in my opinion one of the 3 series which is classified as classic mash (to end with Series 3! BUY IT! you'll regret it if you dont!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4077th heaven?, 24 April 2003
By 
A Lewis "AdyL" (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 1 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Some people love MASH, others loathe it. If you love it, you don't need me to tell you that having complete MASH seasons on DVD is a great idea.
MASH ended in 1983 and unless you live in the US or have access to satellite, that's been it for MASH. In the US and on satellite episodes are edited by US networks (allegedly), not shown in original order and are shown with the hideous laugh track. Thankfully, this collection suffers none of these problems.
What you get : each Season-1 episode included in the original order, in their original length & format (no TV edits) with the laugh track optional. First episode is the TV pilot where Alan Alda and co. are introduced. Colour, sound and picture quality are as good as you can expect for something filmed in the 1970s. I didn't come across any problems with quality.
There are no "behind-the-scenes" extras or interviews. Collection does include printed episode notes, but these aren't extensive, including just episode title and original air date. You cannot watch one episode after another, you go back to a central control menu at the end of each episode.
So, the lack of DVD extras and detailed notes is a shame, so is not being able to watch episodes back to back. Is the collection worth it ?
With all Season-1 on DVD, in original format/order, no adverts, good picture/sound quality and no laugh track (yippee!!) - well, if you like MASH, a huge yes. Verdict would haven been 5-stars if there'd been any extras.
Note: review is based on US Region-1 DVD (apart from US version being in NTSC and UK in PAL, shouldn't be any differences between them).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the best of M.A.S.H., 7 July 2004
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 1 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
Delighted to have this superb series out on DVD at last. Rather surprised by a previous reviewer who said this wasn't the best series, because it is easily my favourite. It contains my two all-time favourite episodes, the one where Hawkeye and Trapper steal Henry's new oak desk to swop it for medical supplies witha Korean black marketer ("You know how it is, Colonel, we all look alike"). And even better, the sublime Captain Tuttle episode, where Hawkeye and Trapper manage to convince everyone that the imaginary Captain Tuttle is a real person. I was also amazed by the person who said that gorgeous Wayne Rogers was miscast as Trapper. I utterly disagree, I think he was smashing, I always liked him MUCH better than Hawkeye, and was absolutely heartbroken when he left the series. And of course McLean Stevenson was wonderful as daffy Colonel Blake, and Loretta Swit is great as obnoxious Margaret Houlihan, before they made the deadly mistake of trying to soften her character and tunr her into a nice person. Every actor in this series is superb, scripts are hilarious, this programme simply never palls. I don't know how many times I have watched and re-watched it over the last thirty years, and I don't care. Now I've got it on DVD I can watch it even more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The historic first season of TV's greatest show, 10 Jan 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 1 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
If you pinned me down and forced me to name the greatest show in the history of television, my answer would have to be M*A*S*H. No show comes close in terms of comedy, yet at the same time few shows can rival the emotional depth, complexity, and power this show evoked over the course of its historic run. This first season of the show relied principally on comedy for its sustenance, but the roots of this most humanistic and profound of shows are clearly laid in some critical episodes of winter 1973. I was not quite two years old when M*A*S*H premiered on September 17, 1972, and while I have seen many of the early episodes in syndication, I was basically watching these first twenty-four episodes for the first time. As a youngster, I didn't like Frank Burns at all, and that kept me from truly enjoying episodes such as these, but now I see that Frank was a very important character who helped make this show such a success. Colonel Henry Blake is another great character I am now learning to appreciate anew, and Trapper John - well, what can you say? Trapper was the best, and the timing and rapport between Alan Alda and Wayne Rogers rivals that of Harvey Korman and Tim Conway on The Carol Burnett Show. The show was never as funny as it was in its early years, and the ability to have these shows in their uncut, original glory is enough to make me thank the gods of entertainment for the invention of the DVD.
One can't possibly speak to every episode's individual quality in the context of a review, but there are many classic, unforgettable moments contained in these first season episodes. The show really hit the ground running, in a way that let you come to know the main characters by the end of the pilot episode. There are a few issues and growing pains experienced, but not many. The character of Spearchucker Jones, the African-American doctor who shared the Swamp early on, was a mystery to me, but I have come to learn that his character (the equivalent of Chuck Cunningham on Happy Days) is a carry-over from the original M*A*S*H motion picture. Father Mulcahy was played by George Morgan in the pilot, with William Christopher taking over the role immediately thereafter. Corporal Klinger's initial episodes are quite noteworthy; in episode 4, he briefly appears as a guard dressed in women's garb, but his next appearance in episode 12 finds him getting into a fight with Major Burns and having to be talked out of murdering him. Even Radar is not the innocent young man he would come to be in later seasons, as he quite often serves as a willing partner in crime to Hawkeye and Trapper.
As for the best episodes, I have to start with episode 8, I Hate a Mystery. Not only does it introduce us to Radar's teddy bear, it provides some of the longest laugh tracks in television history. Episode 12, Dear Dad, features the first episode built around Hawkeye's letters home to his father and ends with Santa Claus shimmying down from a helicopter to render aid to a wounded man pinned down in a bunker. Episode 17, Sometimes You Hear the Bullet, is clearly the best episode of the season; not only that, it serves as a powerful preview to the sense of humanity that would characterize the show over the course of its eleven-year run. Hawkeye cries for the first time since coming to Korea when an old friend of his dies on the operating table. Colonel Blake speaks to two of the first things he learned in command school - rule number one is that in a war, some men die, and rule number two is that doctors can't change rule number one. This episode is also memorable for Ron Howard's appearance as an underage enlistee and for Frank's application for a Purple Heart after he throws his back out dancing with Hot Lips. Episode 18, Dear Dad ... Again is another terrific episode. Not only does Frank get drunk and loud, Hawkeye bets that no one will even notice if he were to walk into the mess tent naked.
There are just too many great memories for me to mention here. Suffice it to say that this is a must-have for M*A*S*H fans and affords us a terrific means for making the show and its timeless themes a mainstay in the formative years of current and future generations. I would have loved to see any kinds of special features included, but the episodes of M*A*S*H speak for themselves. This is entertainment at its very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars laugh track?, 16 Oct 2003
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 1 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
"Korea 1950 one hundred years ago", so starts the pilot episode of M*A*S*H The much loved show that ran for eleven years.This 3 disc box-set has all 24 episodes of year one. For a T.V. show from 1972 the print is beautifly clear.(They used film and not videotape). The outdoor set is from the original feature film and two actors carried on their roles from the film. Gary Burghoff.(Walter "radar" O'Reilly) & G Wood.(General Hammond).
The extras don't go any further than languages and subtitles with one BIG exception. This is where it scores high with me, you can veiw the programe without a laughter track!
my one small complaint,is going to sound quite petty,but somebody didn't do their homework regarding the pictures on the discs' themselves.Discs' one and three have Hotlips and Hawkeye from the wrong year. But the best is number two with a shot of Captain B. J. Hunnicutt. Played by Mike Farrell. Now these dics' are year one and Hunnicutt didn't join the Mobile Army Surgical Hospital 4077th until year four!
All I can say is buy it, so we can fill up our shelves with all eleven volumes and I can't wait for the final episode,which is over 2 hours long as I have never seen the uncut version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finest TV comedy gets Region 2 launch, 10 Sep 2003
By 
N. Madle "Neil64" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: M*A*S*H - Season 1 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1972] (DVD)
MASH was always watchable - even in the relative wasteland of Seasons 9 and 10 - but at its best it was sublime. It pushed back the boundaries of TV comedy before it outstayed its welcome, and then it hit us with the best signing off show in the history of television. Another reviewer on this board describes MASH as the 'Friends' of the 70s. Can't see the comparison, myself. 'Friends' could only dream of being as classy, hilarious and iconic as vintage MASH.
I started watching the show in the mid 70s (around about Season 4) at the time when the Beeb thought it was late night fare. I was immediately hooked. For much of my adolescence I believed I was Hawkeye - indeed nearly 30 years later, I still find myself using some of his jokes. Pathetic, I know, but his Gelbart-inspired wisecracks are hard to beat. And nobody could have delivered those lines better than Alda.
As others have said, the first series isn't the best. Wayne Rogers is miscast as Trapper and spends his sojourn in the Swamp struggling to compete with Hawkeye the scene-stealer - Mike Farrell is a much better foil from Season 4 onwards. The late McLean Stevenson is superb, however. Clumsy, indecisive and shallow, Blake is an inspired character and Stevenson places his stamp on Blake in the same way that Harry Morgan later creates and breathes life into Sherman Potter. Rogers and William Christoper excepted, MASH was blessed with many great character actors and one great star.
In '72, the series had to find its feet and, in very early episodes such as 'To Market, To Market', it plays safe by pandering to a familiar US sitcom slapstick formula - it tries too hard to be wacky and suffers as a result. It soon settles down, however, and several episodes, such as 'Tuttle', 'Dear Dad Again' and 'Sometimes You Hear the Bullet', still resonate strongly and are close to the best MASH would offer throughout the consistent brilliance of Seasons 2 to 7.
Regardless of any picture/sound quality improvements on DVD over video, the overwhelming benefit of this format is being able to watch without the laughter track. Let's face it - given the choice of watching with or without canned laughter, who in their right mind would opt for the former? The 5th series comes out on Region 1 in December and these Region 2 releases will probably soon catch up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

M*A*S*H - Season 1 (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1972]
£8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews