Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quatermass lookalike !
This is a British scifi film of the Quatermass type and I believe that Hammer did actually want to call the main character Professor Quatermass, only to have Nigel Kneale refuse permission. It follows the "realistic" British style of the era and manages to build up tension very well. There's the usual sprinkling of stock characters - the tramp, the gormless soldier,...
Published on 17 Nov. 2005

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful DVD print
I have enjoyed X the unknown in the past and thought this new release from Icon would be a cleaned up print of the film. Sadly this is not the case and the print is about the worst I've seen. Not only is the picture very grainy but the sound has a high pitched whine noise at the beginning and other distortions throughout. The dialogue is hard to hear in some cases and...
Published on 12 Sept. 2011 by Max


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful DVD print, 12 Sept. 2011
By 
Max - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X The Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
I have enjoyed X the unknown in the past and thought this new release from Icon would be a cleaned up print of the film. Sadly this is not the case and the print is about the worst I've seen. Not only is the picture very grainy but the sound has a high pitched whine noise at the beginning and other distortions throughout. The dialogue is hard to hear in some cases and some scenes (outdoors/night time) are dreadful. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great film, awful DVD, 9 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X The Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
This review refers to the Icon Home Entertainment release of 2011.

My copy has arrived, and I hope it's not an indicator of the rest of Icon's classic Hammer output. The good news is that the X certificate screen is presented at the start. The bad news, and it is very bad news is that it's a dirty, scratched print and is covered in random colour noise. It's normally a clue that an older, composite analogue master has been used. Worst of all is ghosting reminiscent of either a NTSC to PAL conversion, or a dodgy interlaced one. Iffy sound tops it all off. It's noisy, full of clicks and pops and sometimes has a high pitched whine to it that'll set your dog off howling. Some dialogue in the second half of the film becomes inaudible through the sheer level of loud pops.

The disclaimer at the start about the quality and age of the material is surely a joke. The age or otherwise of a film is not an excuse to release a substandard DVD when better source materials do exist. It's criminal that such outstanding films from the history of British cinema are presented this way in 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quatermass lookalike !, 17 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: X: The Unknown [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
This is a British scifi film of the Quatermass type and I believe that Hammer did actually want to call the main character Professor Quatermass, only to have Nigel Kneale refuse permission. It follows the "realistic" British style of the era and manages to build up tension very well. There's the usual sprinkling of stock characters - the tramp, the gormless soldier, a small child in danger etc - but this doesn't detract from the storyline at all. I can recommend this film to anyone who enjoys old scifi - and it is several cuts above the monster movies being churned out by Hollywood around the same time. You will find the scientific equipment dated, but overall this is a fun film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, 2 Nov. 2003
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X: The Unknown [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
Made to cash in on the successful The Quatermass Experiment released the previous year, this is a rather good old fashioned horror flick. Very atmospheric, haunting, and gory at times too. Witness the scene in the laboratory when the doctor, well, just see it and you will know what I mean. Dean Jagger portrays a Quatermass type of scientist (there is a rumour that the studio wanted to use Quatermass's name but Nigel Kneale politely declined.) who battles the unseen monster from the earth's centre. Much action and suspense along the way, culminating in the final scenes which leave the viewer on the edge of his seat. Picture and sound are quite good, and the disc is enhanced with extras such as interviews with Jimmy Sangster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars X tremely dissapointing,, 27 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X The Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
Having been a fan of Hammer Horror and sci fi all my life I was overcome with excitement when I heard X the Unknown was coming back out on DVD. I finally got round to watching it last night and well, what can I say? I was very very dissapointed with what I watched. The print was very poor with awful cracking noises and hisses all the way through. It was like watching it through 30 year old pyrex whilst sitting in a pit of angry snakes with someone holding a bowl of rice krispies by your ear!

Considering what the BFI and film restorers have to offer no one seems to have taken the time to clean up what is in fact one of the greatest British SCI FILMS ever. I find this lapse astonishing.

I suggest people take the time to buy an old VHS copy or the original DVD release from 2002 because in 2011 this is sadly not acceptable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Movie, 10 Sept. 2008
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: X: The Unknown [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
X The Unknown, directed by film buff Barry Norman's father, is a gem. Now available in the full uncut version, despite the low-budget special effects, the film still has the power to chill. It's a great idea, set in a remote part of the UK and does not pull its punches as children die of radiation poisoning, hands melt away before your very eyes, and a giant blob goes on the rampage ! The opening sequences, in which troops on training meet up with 'the thing,' are splendidly low key and imaginatively directed. One of the best of its kind and almost up to the standard of the legendary "Quatermass 2".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality DVD, 21 Sept. 2011
By 
thewatcher (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X The Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film and with a better quality transfer would have given four or five stars.

I used to watch these sci fi films at the cinema when I was younger. They were great. However this one has been let down by poor quality transfer to dvd.
Do the producers of this rubbish know nothing about digital enhancement or how to clean up sound quality. This dvd has a background hiss all the way through. Very easy to eliminate these days.

The film quality is none too good either. It looks as if the original tape was badly kept. Probably in Dracula's vault.

This spoilt my enjoyment of this classic black and white escape from reality. A shame as it is in the same class as Quatermass in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars awful print scuppers good movie, 28 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X The Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
Seemigly dragged across a floor ,kicked around a bit then with a awful sound hiss added this awful transfer kills any interest in the film stone dead .

At least Studio Canal are taking care with their Hammer Catalogue .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good scifi entry from Hammer., 3 Feb. 2014
This review is from: X The Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
Rather fine 50s scifi that is very Quatermassy (it was intended to be a sequel to the original Quatermass movie, but Hammer couldn't get the rights), and rather good. It has a creature reminiscent of The Blob, and the effects in this film are better than The Blob, actually. Dean Jagger does a really good job as the American scientist in Scotland - good character actor. Very enjoyable scifi from Hammer before they concentrated so much on horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely got the X Factor!, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X The Unknown [DVD] (DVD)
Marvellous chiller, with the X-factor that only Hammer Studios could create. However, what I loved most about the movie was the wonderful line-up of top notch character actors, particularly American, Dean Jagger, best known for White Christmas and Bad Day at Black Rock. He reminds me in some ways of Henry Fonda, packing a powerful punch, despite a central stillness and understated approach to his roles. Then we have Leo McKern, who many viewers may remember as the tetchy Rumpole of the Bailey in the seminal TV series. Edward Chapman appears in a serious role, and plays his part very well, but he will probably be best remembered as Norman's Wisdom's boss, Mr Grimsdale, in several comedy films the pair did together. Even the small parts are well acted, including a young Anthony Newley as a cheeky-chap soldier and a very young Kenneth Cope as a frightened soldier (with good cause as it turns out!), The 'radiation' attacks are truly scary, and the tension mounts nicely, culminating a nail biting ending, which leaves the door open for further films or a TV series (probably never made - too much like Quatermass).

On a trivial note, I think Hammer used large warehouses or something similar as studios in those days, and I'm sure I could see vapour coming out of the mouths of actors in the 'hospital' sequence, perhaps due to lack of heating. By the way, one of the most scary events takes place in the seemingly safe environment of the hospital. What a shocker! As for the print, yes, it is scratchy at times, but I hardly noticed. It just added to the creepy atmosphere. And at this bargain price, who cares!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X: The Unknown [DVD] [1956]
X: The Unknown [DVD] [1956] by Leslie Norman (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: £7.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews