Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BLU-RAY SPECS:
Due to a curious lack of professional reviews and details about this blu-ray, I have decided to provide information I would have found helpful prior to buying this release. Firstly, this surely has to be the same transfer used for the Region A Criterion version. The film runs at 2hrs 23min 20sec, with the 20th Century Fox logo taking up 23sec of that. This version of the...
Published 2 months ago by Cheeky Monkey

versus
64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film But Flawed Blu-Ray
Weird but excellent film, been one of my favourites for years and was looking forward to the blu-ray release.

However, what is the point of blu-rays when compared to DVDs? Ah, yes, superior visuals and sound quality, or at least supposedly.

Visually, the transfer is pretty good for a 25+ year old film (though no great improvement over an upscaled...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by SC From Purley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A profound but satirical reflection on unbridled capitalism, 5 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brazil [Blu-ray] [1985] (Blu-ray)
One of my all time favourite films. Simply a masterpiece.

As time goes by the message carried in this film seems to ring more true by the day. This film seems to be a mirror reflecting the lunacy, bleakness and dystopian future which may await us all should the global capitalist system be allowed to continue in it's present form and not be reigned in.

I find myself humming the song "Aquarela do Brasil" (theme song of the film) whenever I have had dealings with my local and very bureaucratic council. I've often been tempted to send them a copy of the film, but I feel the humour and irony might be wasted on them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Terrifying and yet Funny, 11 Jan 2008
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Brazil is a film that is almost impossible to describe, it combines elements of fantasy, sci-fi and satire. It is similar to 1984 in the sense that it is set in a world where the 'State' rules supreme, knowing what is best etc, where supposed Terroists are an apparent threat (although nobody's ever seen one).

Anyway the central character of the film is Sam Lowry, a young man who lives his boring life, abiding by the boring and forcefully efficent rules and system. And yet he dreams about being a hero and escaping the only world he has known. It is when the woman inside his dreams turns up in his real and boring life in which everything changes.

With De-Niro playing his small role in exactly the right manner, and hilarious performances coming from Bob Hoskins and Ian Holm (not to mention the funny and yet terrifying role in which Michael Palin plays), the film is capped by the wonderful acting of Jonathan Pryce.

It is in my opinion the best film of one of the best directors ever seen, Gilliam did himself proud with this film, which has stood the test of time and remains to the day to be my all-time favourite film.

Also worth mentioning is the film's soundtrack, there is a famous piece of Brazilian music used constantly throughout the film, in his dreams, in his boring life and it is used to a great effect at the very end of the film. The music was a samba written during the 1920's to literally cheer people up during the Totalitarian state that was ruling at the time (one of the many reasons the film is called Brazil).

5 stars all the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE BUT...., 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brazil [Blu-ray] [1985] (Blu-ray)
I'm not going to review this movie other than to see it's a brilliant and unmissable classic.

If you only want the so-called Director's Cut this release is just fine. No problem.

However, the reason I'm writing is to give a warning to the other diehard fans and movie obsessives like myself.

If, like me, you bought the 3 DVD Criterion set there is absolutely no reason to purchase this Blu Ray at all.

There is no substantial improvement of sound or picture on this Blu Ray as compared to the Criterion DVD release and you also don't get all the versions plus the extras that were on that DVD set.

Personally I wish I'd waited for the Criterion set to get a full re-release on Blu Ray with, hopefully, a bit of time and effort put into upgrading it to the kind of Blu Ray this movie deserves.

My 5 stars are for the movie....not this particular release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brazil - 1984 times 100, 14 April 2010
By 
Paul Norris (Windsor, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Best thinking film ever made!....a possible "1984" state controlled present that we seem to ratchet towards with every law passed. If you hate bureaucracy & the people that hide behind processes & forms you will love this. The scary thing is that since the film was made, some of the dark predictions have become part of "normal" life and lose their impact. De Niro, Broadbent & Palin provide top drawer support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walter Mitty meets Monty Python in 1984, 6 Jan 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Watching this film I gasped at the imagination of minds that work so differently from mine, starting with the title which apparently has no meaning.
The action takes place in a 1984 type future complete with information factory. The main character is Sam Lowry (Pryce) who is a low level official and also appears to live a separate fantasy life surrounding the character of Jill Layton (Greist) although the exact dividing point between the actual (in the insane sense of this film) and the dream fantasy overlaps.
The cast of supporting actors is astonishing, including Robert de Niro as a renegade heating engineer, and Palin, Broadbent, Holm, Hoskins, the list goes on and on.
The direction is brilliant with never a wasted second, as the crazy Pythonesque comedy goes on and on. Probably a masterpiece of its type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some will like this, I didn't, 1 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Fans of Gilliam will find much to keep them happy here. There's nightmarish, dystopian imagery in spades, dream sequences are lavish and the finale is really quite masterful.

The problem however, lies in the rest of the film. The humour kept me interested for about the first 30-45 minutes, after which it starts to wear a little thin. The same can be said about the plot - it starts out snappily enough but becomes seemingly endless in the latter half of the film. Logical ending points give rise to yet further story development and at over 2 hours in length, it became quite a slog to get through. Lastly, the characterisation just didn't work for me. Not sure if it was the acting, the script, or both but I didn't care too much for any of the characters, something that made it even harder to remain engaged with the film.

In conclusion, I think this film could have done with a good deal of editing - the final scenes are memorable, but getting there is fairly forgettable. 2.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love brazil criterion edition, 22 July 2014
i saw this film or rather both version s on the criterion three disc set and its weird but very enjoyable especially kim griest dont buy the one disc version get the criterion one two diffrent versions plus the third disc has special features each film has a informative commentary on it especialy the edited version by a film historian well worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dated and too long, 22 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. Neil Ives "Oldog" (Malvern UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie has lots of the same sort of surrealism seen in Gilliams Monty Python work. The plot is not very original; think black comedy version of 1984. My problem with the film is, it's just too long, (137 minutes); by about an hour! I watched it all but my wife and our guest went to bed before it finished. Bob Hoskins and Robert De Niro are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great film is in here, 4 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brazil [Blu-ray] [1985] (Blu-ray)
A great film is in here, but as much as I love Gilliam's intentions and Monty Python, the full cut of the movie is just too damn long. I know that Universal cut at 90 minutes was drastic and betraying of art but at almost an hour longer it always ends up dragging on repeat viewings, despite the great acting and laughing strongly all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy yet true to life, 20 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Brazil (1985) [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I come from Eastern Europe where this film was banned when it first came out, for obvious reasons. Nevertheless, we watched a pirate version of it as students in each other's homes. It seemed so close to the reality that we were living through that we didn't know whether to laugh or cry! It remains one of my favourite films of all times, its hectic pace matched by the great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brazil [1985] [DVD]
Brazil [1985] [DVD] by Terry Gilliam (DVD - 2003)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews