Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity - but still a masterpiece
It's hard to be objective about a film i know and love as much as Brazil, but here goes. Firstly the bad news, no director's commentary, Gilliam always provides illuminating and witty commentaries so it's a glaring omission. Secondly, 'What is Brazil?' is an only mildly interesting extra, not adding much to our understanding of the film. Hence, a missed...
Published on 19 May 2003 by Mr. C. Moore

versus
56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film But Flawed Blu-Ray
Weird but excellent film, been one of my favourites for years and was looking forward to the blu-ray release.

However, what is the point of blu-rays when compared to DVDs? Ah, yes, superior visuals and sound quality, or at least supposedly.

Visually, the transfer is pretty good for a 25+ year old film (though no great improvement over an upscaled...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by SC From Purley


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film But Flawed Blu-Ray, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: Brazil [Blu-ray] [1985] (Blu-ray)
Weird but excellent film, been one of my favourites for years and was looking forward to the blu-ray release.

However, what is the point of blu-rays when compared to DVDs? Ah, yes, superior visuals and sound quality, or at least supposedly.

Visually, the transfer is pretty good for a 25+ year old film (though no great improvement over an upscaled DVD).

Audio is another matter. This is standard 2.0 Dolby Digital and compares to the USA multi-region release that is DTS-HD Master and which sounds much better than the UK version (yes, I know it's sad, but I did buy the US version after my disappointment with the UK version).

So, Fox, why is it that you think the UK should put up with inferior sound quality compared to the US edition? Was it really impossible to use the same master? And again, what is the point in blu-ray if the production companies bundle the disc with a sound format that is no better than DVD (actually, worse, my old Criterion edition at least has 2.1 Dolby Digital - well, I did say it was one of my favourite films...).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A missed opportunity - but still a masterpiece, 19 May 2003
By 
Mr. C. Moore "chris79320" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
It's hard to be objective about a film i know and love as much as Brazil, but here goes. Firstly the bad news, no director's commentary, Gilliam always provides illuminating and witty commentaries so it's a glaring omission. Secondly, 'What is Brazil?' is an only mildly interesting extra, not adding much to our understanding of the film. Hence, a missed opportunity.
Now the good news. If you like surrealist cinema, pitch black humour and bizarre imagery (think Lynch here), then this could well turn out to be one of your favourite films too. A sort of Gilliam vision of nineteen eighty four, the film depicts a futuristic society in which bureaucracy subjugates free will and peoples' lives become computer printouts. Love, as in 1984 is the enemy of the state, and Sam is the civil servant who commits the heinous crime of falling in love with a suspected terrorist. I won't spoil the ending, but it is both uplifting and devastating.
If you prefer straightforward story telling and narrative closure then you might prefer to avoid this film. Subjectively I would say this is one of only a few films that has left an enduring impression upon me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dark fairytale, 12 Nov 2003
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
Where on earth do you start when you try describing Brazil? Terry Gilliam does a spectacular job portraying a dark fantasy world where society is taken over by a sinister bureaucracy which creates the nightmare scenario where individuals don't know who to trust or where to turn for help. What makes Brazil particularly uncomfortable and even prophetic, is that we can identify with the leading character (played by Johnathon Price) and his lonely plight into a dystopian hell. For anyone who has been enraged by being fobbed off by something like an electronic answering service in a bank, multiply Price's anguish by ten. He lives in an inhuman world which has nothing left other than red tape and faceless autocrats. Gilliam proves that you don't need any of the tactics employed by the horror genre to a create a terrifying and riveting scenario.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1984 meets Monty Python, 5 Dec 2003
By 
Andy Millward (Tiptree, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is bizarre, fantastic, flawed, and utterly delicious - all the ingredients you'd expect from the febrile imagination of Terry Gilliam. It's a cartoon come to life and gone wild; packed with the sort of detail and flights of fancy you could normally only expect to find in a novel. Watching it again after some years was a treat, partly to catch up with some of the delightful nuances Gilliam has hidden within his richly decorated but highly indigestible chocolate box world. This parallel universe in which society has been shaken into a nightmarish but strangely incompetent bureaucratic police state closely reminiscent of Orwell's 1984. How Orwell might have envisioned his alternative reality, had he been less po-faced and been in possession of a darkly chaotic sense of humour!
Beautifully judged performances abound: Jonathan Pryce's Sam Lowry (a cog in the wheel but dreams himself a winged hero) is exactly the right mix of naive everyman and common-sense superhero; Michael Palin's civilised torturer is joyful to watch; Bob Hoskins as the frustrated official heating engineer perfect, while Robert de Niro plays his rogue counterpart; and many more - a shame to pick out anyone. And Brazil? It's that infectiously catchy latin tune running through the film.
This is far from perfect, but then removing the flaws would leave a bland and anodyne movie. Accept it, warts and all. In Gilliam's own cut, this is an experience not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why can't we have it all?, 22 Jun 2012
By 
A. Stimpson "Rabid Consumer" (Hullborea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brazil [Blu-ray] [1985] (Blu-ray)
The good news is that the UK blu-ray release of Brazil is the 143 minute Terry Gilliam Director's Cut previously available as a Criterion release in the US (despite the listed running time of 136 minutes here on Amazon and on the case itself). The transfer is not perfect but is a massive upgrade from the DVD edition. Despite what some reviewers on here have claimed it is head and shoulders above an upscaled DVD with fine detail like skin pores and fibres on woollen suits showing up clearly. A full restoration would have been nice but you can't have everything.

What I would have expected on a blu-ray released in 2011 is a decent soundtrack but all we get here is 2.0 Dolby stereo. The American release has a DTS Master lossless soundtrack but is the shortest cut of the film so it isn't really a decent alternative. It would appear that the best release is the French digibook which not only has nice packaging but boasts the longer 142 minute cut AND a DTS MA soundtrack. That said this UK release will set you back less than half of the sheckles required to import the french disc so if you're on a budget it is still worth the splurge, warts and all. Perfectionists however should head to Amazon Fr and pick up the digibook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a dark satire on bureaucracy gone mad, 2 Dec 2001
This review is from: Brazil (1985) [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Imagine something darker and more miserable than Bladerunner but with laughs - and you'll find yourself in Brazil. It is this very paradox which makes this film so fascinating yet disturbing at the same time. I have seen it many times and yet it still holds its magic. What makes it so engrossing for me is the extremes to which the viewer is taken - from Michael Palin's evil torturer having spasms as he "cleans up" after another victim (while wearing a mask that makes him look like child) to the laugh-out-loud scene when one of his daughters tells Pryce's cringingly embarrassed Sam Lowry "I can see your willy!" Then there are the comic - yet still disturbing - turns from Bob Hoskins as a violent and threatening "official" maintenance engineer and Katherine Helmond as Sam's plastic surgery obsessed mother. (Seeing her doctor literally "pull" her face in different directions is still hilarious) One moment you're laughing out loud, the next you're stunned into shocked silence. Brilliant. One final similie - imagine being on a rollercaster ride. Some bits are scary, some bits are thrilling, some bits are terrifying. But as soon as you come to the end you want to do it all over again. This particular rollercoaster ride is called "Brazil".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film that seems as new now as it did 25 years ago, 23 Aug 2010
By 
Mark Pack (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
It's not often that you sit down to watch a film first released a quarter of a century ago and feels like you are watching one that could have been released yesterday, but such was my experience with Terry Gilliam's Brazil.

The nightmare future it paints seems as apposite now as it did in the 1990s - being one based on suffocating bureaucracy, widespread and intrusive government surveillance and a paranoid response to terrorist attacks.

The future world is not only beautifully designed, down to numerous small details, but by picking a visual style that is '1930s modern' (sophisticated machinery but with a touch of the pre-electronic era with manual typewriter keyboards and compressed air driven communication systems), Gilliam ensured that the look would not date.

The targets of his caricatures have also stood the test of time, whether it's the idea of unhelpful telephone support lines (with the calls to Central Services to fix a plumbing problem resulting in the same sort of frustrating response that - badly - automated phone systems do today) or the stifling grip of paperwork and a bureaucracy that concentrates on ensuring all the paperwork is in order (tick-box culture, anyone?). The way bureaucrats in the film reduce a woman's fear that her wife has died to a matter of complaint forms and receipts immediately chimes and brings to mind current events such as the way in which Haringey Council responded to its failure to protect Baby P from death by talking about how good its paperwork and procedures were. The scenes of suspected terrorists being arrested, trussed up and bundled away likewise bring to mind pictures of Guantanamo Bay, orange jump suits and all. And in these post-credit crunch times the line, "If you hold out [confessing] too long it could jerpordise your credit rating" sounds all too current.

But perhaps my favourite touch are the government posters saying "Don't suspect a friend. Report him". A film-maker wishing to satirise current governments couldn't do much better.

The plot itself isn't up to much. It is pretty standard fare for this sort of dystopian future film. In its favour is the fact that the plot is 25 years old; the intervening years and films with similar plots make Brazil's plot seem more formulaic than it would have at the time. Even so, the plot is not the reason to watch the film - particular if you don't like a predictable romantic interlude set in a bleak future.

Instead, it is the visual richness and the overall picture of society it is satirising that make the film. Well worth getting and watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has to be seen!, 10 April 2003
By 
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe that it's taken them this long to release this classic. I saw this on TV years ago and wasn't expecting much, boy was I wrong. Even now, the story is original if surreal. The humour dark and the ending defininately not the fairy tale ending that you expect from the Hollywood machine. There are so many "moments" that you could single out as defining this film, but none that would fully encapsulate the breadth of it. Watch this if you want a change from the "usual" film. If you liked 12 Monkeys, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intense cinematic experience, 6 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Brazil (1985) [VHS] (VHS Tape)
For years I didn't want this to be my favourite film. Whilst Gilliam fills the screen to perfection for the whole 2 hours, with creativity, nonsense and astonishment, it's the film's darkness that makes me just a little wary of it - and its closeness to the truth. If you appreciate the kind of film that needs to be watched at least twice to get it, then this video will repay its price handsomely. Don't bung it on in the corner while you're getting ready to go out, give yourself to this film.
It's the tiny flaws that make Brazil a true masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brazil [1985] [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film, I used to have it on a ropey recorded VHS tape which was missing the start so it was a bit of a revelation when I saw the start which explains a lot of what happens afterwards! One of my favourite films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brazil [1985] [DVD]
Brazil [1985] [DVD] by Terry Gilliam (DVD - 2003)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews