Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End for Dark Angel?
Dark Angel, the hit TV series by James Cameron, was discontinued after its second season, much to the fans' dismay.
In the year 2019 the U.S. has become a third world country in the wake of the Pulse - an electromagnetic shockwave unleashed by nuclear terrorists in 2009. This is Max's world, a broken world, an unforgiving place even for a genetically engineered...
Published on 11 April 2003 by Ms. L. Thacker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great
This is the Best TV Show. I can see it again and again. I Like Series from this Type. My Regard
Published 20 months ago by RSFRabeea


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series.......ever, 24 Nov. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has got to be one of the greatest tv series ever. I started to watch this after I missed the first episode of Alias. It was like a backup and now I'm in love with the series. I got posters, both of the series on tape & DVD, the soundtrack. The show is so good it's got everything from humour to action. The characters are great too. I especially like Joshua and Normal but nobody beats the hot Jessica Alba. This is a must for anybody who enjoys action, sci-fi or both. actually i recommend it to everybody, it must not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great !!, 23 Sept. 2003
By 
J. E. Bamber "JJJJJ" (Seattle) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Angel: Series 2 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Dark Angel is a truly insperational series. It successfully mixes humour, fun and excitment. There are a few new charecters, my favourite is Alec, Joshua provides a lot of the humour with his strange paintings and eating habits. The new bad guy Ames White is a bit wooden at the beginning but slowly starts to get into it, i like the idea of the other cult. All in all it is a brilliant series the only reason i gave it a 4 out of 5 is because of Amus White. I think that it is a crieing shame that they discounted such a brilliant television series after only 2 series, Far Well Dark Angel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct. 2014
By 
j (coventry. uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Angel: Series 2 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I have bought this twice now and it still woeth it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Angel: Series 2 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Came on time and works great will order again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Angel: Series 2 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
One very happy hubby who loves this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Angel: Series 2 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
not as good as i remember it being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong direction..., 31 Mar. 2006
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Angel: Series 2 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Dark Angel season 1 was a great introduction to the characters and storylines of the Dark Angel world. It was set in a believable world. And it was, at times, an exciting series. Series 2 should have improved on that debut with more interesting characters, more action, deeper storylines and even more excitement. It only succeded on one of those accounts. Let me explain.
There are a few fundamental problems with series 2. Firstly, it's unbeliavability. It may have been set in the future, but it was a future that could have come to be. Believable, as it were. However, season two brings in human/animal hybrids, and puts the series straight into fantasy.
It seems like they were tryting to copy Buffy The Vampire Slayer - we get monsters, vampires, religious cults. We get what are called transgenics, humans who look half human and take on animal instincts. This just doesn't work. It ruins the Dark Angel world. Genetic humans was fine, believable, they are just enhanced beings. But mix them with animals, and it all starts to get a bit silly. But at least the make up is good.
The second stupid thing the film makers did was separate ourtwo main characters. Jessica Alba and Michael Weatherly have a scren chemistry about them, particularly in the first series. However, by series two, Alba has been infected with a virus that will kill Logan if he touches here. they spend the ENTIRE series apart. That's no fun. We want to see them together, not force each other away.
That's another point - the show is overly depressing. No-one ever gets what they want. If something good happens to a character, teh scripters have to weight that down by then doing something bad to that charactrer, seemingly to make up for their moment of happiness. Not only does that mean the show gets very depressing, there is also no hope that things will ever work out.
And finally, the new characters are just plain annoying. Alec, all arrogant, blustering, annoying swagger who needs to get rid of his ego trip, and plain, boring, comic relief Joshua, half dog half human who just gets on your nerves. Baddie this time round, White, is just a sub-Lydecker, who isn't very evil, or menacing, and just comes across as a petulant schoolboy who hasn't got what he wanted. In fact, it makes the characters who were annoying in series one look much better, and its a shame you don't see more of them and Jampony.
But, the few things that have kept the series good are it's marvellous action scenes and fights, and two outstanding episodes where Max battles an evil clone of herself (TWO Jessica Alba's...mmmmm) and any episode with Zach in are excellent.
However, this is the last Dark Angel series because it was cancelled half way through. That meantthe scripters had to wrap up all the storylines - and that's a lot of story! The final five episodes are fast paced excellent affairs, however, tied in with this problem is the fact that the storylines are just too big, and they never get satisfactorily concluded.
If you watched the first series, then you should watch this. Despite being poor most of the time, it does at points exceed and live up to the original series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec. 2014
By 
ME77 (London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Angel: Series 2 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Love it love it love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dark angel is the best on tv, 15 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dark Angel: Series 2 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
dark angel is an amazing show and I can't wait for the dvd next month, there's action, romance, humour a really great show!! The cast are amazing ecspecially jensen ackles who, apart from being completley gorgeous, is a fantastic actor and a brilliant addition for season 2. James Cameron really pulled it off with this one!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great - But only Thanks to 'The Pretty', 26 April 2006
By 
Miss Simms "Monkey Dust" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Angel: Series 2 [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
The second and last series of Dark Angel was below par compared to the first series, mainly due to the bog standard plots and Jessica Alba's limited acting skills.

The series is saved however thanks to the lovelyness and superiour acting talents of Jensen Ackles a.k.a Alec, i.e The Pretty/mmmAlec. In particular the episode TBA where his character Alec finally gets to shine and his acting skills on show. This, to me, is the only reason to get this series.

If you like this, pre-order Supernatural with Jensen and Jared also starring. Full of lovely fangirl prettiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Angel: Series 2 [DVD] [2001]
Dark Angel: Series 2 [DVD] [2001] by Jessica Alba (DVD - 2003)
£18.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews