Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nofx get serious
First of all I'd like to say that I don't give many albums five stars, mainly because I think a record has to be something really special to be given top marks. Having said that, "War on Errorism" is one damn fine record and it's highlights are as good as anything the band have recorded.
The first thing that grabs the attention is the more serious content of the...
Published on 6 May 2003

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars www.stateofemergency.net
It has been bestowed upon myself to review the latest offering from those punk stalwarts NOFX. It seems strange to me to have journeyed from listening to NOFX records such as ‘Heavy Petting Zoo’ & ‘White Trash…’ as a kid to being sent a promotional copy of their latest and most hyped release to date. So here goes nothing lets see if I can...
Published on 13 Feb 2004 by www_stateofemergency_net


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nofx get serious, 6 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: War on Errorism (Audio CD)
First of all I'd like to say that I don't give many albums five stars, mainly because I think a record has to be something really special to be given top marks. Having said that, "War on Errorism" is one damn fine record and it's highlights are as good as anything the band have recorded.
The first thing that grabs the attention is the more serious content of the lyrics. The anger at the political apathy of much of the US population snaps and snarls out of tracks like "Idiots are Taking Over". Fat Mike and the boys also seem pretty annoyed with the pop-punk explosion, we all know the bands concerned, and have a few things to say about that. Don't worry though, there is still some light relief on tracks like "She's Nubs", about a girl with no arms and legs, and "Mattersville" - I'm gonna buy a house there when I retire.
What's the music like then? In a word - fantastic. The driving, punchy Nofx attack is there, taking no prisoners. They keep things interesting though, the beautiful ska of "Anarchy Camp" being the best example of this. Very little filler, just like on every other Nofx album.
To sum up, if you're a Nofx fan then you're gonna get hold of this album, whatever I say. If you're not - take a chance and buy it. I haven't been disappointed with a Nofx album yet, and this release is up there with their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOFX fan or not, you're going to love this album., 13 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: War on Errorism (Audio CD)
War on Errorism proves that NOFX are a punk band that choose not to regurgitate what made them appealing in the first place, but continue to push their ideas and music forwards like all great bands should.
Despite the airwaves sounding clogged up with radio friendly pop-punk rubbish, War on Errorism sets them apart from that scene, i'm sure, even for those whove never heard NOFX before. Its a fresh, clever album with the perfect balance of humour and seriousness. Classic punk tunes (shes nubs) are mixed with more ambitious diverse melodies (franco un-american), and relevent topical lyrics (idiots are taking over) are backed up by less sincere but equally cool stories (13 stitches).
I've hyped this album enough already, if you want to hear something other than pseudo punk for 10 year olds or uninventive bands redoing tunes of days gone by, get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War on Errorism (Audio CD)
have always been a bit unsold on nofx, seen them live and they are awesome but still dont tick all the boxes. saying that they for me are still in the top three of all the best punk bands from the states and the fact after all this time they can still pump out cracking tunes and make a full blown statement whilst planting their tongue in cheek is a sign that they truely are one of the best punk bands out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOFX - War on Errorism Review, 16 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: War on Errorism (Audio CD)
This album really is a work of art by the NOFX crew, with every track an individual piece of brilliance. In particular I like the tracks Franco-Unamerican and She Nubs, as NOFX mix moral and ethical issues with lighthearted humour and comedy. It is a real must for punk and rock fans alike as there is something for everybody in there. Hope you enjoy the CD, i certainly did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars church and skate, 8 May 2003
This review is from: War on Errorism (Audio CD)
Before I Start I would like to say that the original title for this album was going to "Our Second Best Album" which is a good description. Being a massive NOFX fan I think this album is amazing but at the moment I don't quite think that it is there best. The opening song: "The Seperation between Church and skate" is definitely without a shadow of a doubt the best song on the album. It is amazing. It has a cool intro with Fat Mike talking to some kids about what they want to do today. The drumming is brilliant and has a cool guitar intro. The singing is just pure brilliance. The song gets faster and faster and just sounds so good compared to anything else I've heard. The second song. "The irrationality of rationallity " is very good aswell. I like the subject choice for that and it sounds really good. Its a shame that ends so abruptly. Franco Un-American is a bit slow but still pretty good. Other amazing standouts are mattersville and anarchy camp. Overall a really good album and if i said at the beginning i thought it was their secound best album i've changed my mind whilst writing this. It's their best!
Buy it it is well amazing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars how do they do it?, 12 May 2003
By 
J. M. Murphy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War on Errorism (Audio CD)
NOFX have done it again! Arguably one of the hardest-working and original punk bands around, they still manage to release an album of amazing quality virtually every year, which is no mean feat, and this one is amazing! Although not as good as its predecessors, (especially 'So Long and Thanks For All The Shoes' and 'Punk in Drublic') it is still well worth a listen!
With this slightly eclectic offering come highlights such as 'The Separation of Church and Skate' and 'Anarchy Camp'. NOFX keep to their original recipe of fast punk and slower ska; which may be likened to The Specials and shine in the process.
The only reason I have not given this album 5 stars is because NOFX have given us some better albums such as those mentioned above, but this is nonetheless a first rate album.
If you like your punk, political, powerful and pronto , then buy this album, you won't be disappointed. BUY IT NOW! You know you want it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cause for war worth listening to, 20 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: War on Errorism (Audio CD)
This isnt the best ever punk album, nor the best ever NOFX album. But this album is pure genius never the less, and is a well worth buy for any punk rock fan. Its not like "Pump up the valuum," yet has certain influences from it in there. Gone are the majority of stupid (yet funny) lyrics, and the album has a more sensible and seroius tone about it all. The ska is back, and many of the songs are fringed with the occasional piece of it, like "So long and thanks for all the shoes." Fat mike and the rest of NOFX have tried to make an attempt at making a politically motivated album, and this works for about the first 4 songs, then the usual songs about women, anarchy and getting older start to creep in, but on the whole, the album has a more grown up feel about it. My favourite song is "The seperation of church and skate," but there isnt really a poor song on the album. Well worth a buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars punk's not dead!, 10 May 2003
This review is from: War on Errorism (Audio CD)
As with their last album, pump up the valuum, the nofx boys prove that punk doesn't have to be the same bog-standard cliched c**p that seem to be played by countless bands at the moment. Album opener "The Separation of Church and Skate" proves that the band themselves agree "when did punk rock become so safe, when did the scene become a joke" so thank the lord then that bands like nofx exist and are able to continually produce high quality punk songs that actually mean something.
Taking a much more political stance than previous offerings, this new direction, fuelled by the bands hatred of the american political system, and more specifically its president, "the idiot son of an asshole" only strengthens the album's quality further. The band's 3 page rant in the sleeve notes is proof of this newfound motivation and it is so refreshing to read and listen to stuff that is really important, rather than well worn formulas involving girls and being dumped. As the band say themselves in the sleeve, "yeah, we're not really known for our politics, but maybe its time we were"

Musically, the band are as tight as ever, with countless impressive guitar leads from hefe and a storming bass intro from mike on "Idiots are taking over". The album also shows a return to more ska flavoured songs which were absent from the last album. The band aren't afraid to explore new possibilities in their songs, with frequent appearances from keyboards, saxophones, trumpets and vibraphones, proving that it doesn't always have to be just guitar playing a 3 chord wonder.

I agree, this album won't be for everyone, even some nofx fans may be put off by its extreme left wing political slant, but if, like me, you love the band and can see that the american political isn't the best, then you should be ok. The best part about this record has to be that it doesn't feel in any way forced or fake, nofx play good songs and they play them well, about things that matter, so buy it, and buy it quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOFX at their very best, 26 May 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War on Errorism (Audio CD)
War on Errorism, NOFX's latest studio installment, is yet another successful venture for the 30 something foursome. You can really hear that Fat Mike's voice has improved a lot since "Liberal Animation." (see Truck Stop Blues) Something I'm sure he doesn't want happening too much. The album is a mixture of acceptance of what the band has now become, being an ageing punk band that still does it their own way. Especially on track "Mattersville." A political album, attacking the stupidity of president Bush (and war), and the usual mixture of funny punk songs ("nubs.") If you are a collector of NOFX's releases (around twenty albums) you'll already have bought this, but its a nice start for a newcomer to NOFX.
NoFx have lost little over the years of their punk style, even as far back as thier first release ("Maximum Rock and Roll.") Unlike a lot of bands that have changed to demand (Offspring, Green Day and possibly, Less Than Jake, now.) NoFx stay true to their fans and true to the genre of punk rock. For that they deserve respect when they could easily have become the biggest punk-rock band in the world. Well you and I know they are at least.
(check out the multimedia videos hidden on the C.D)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 9 May 2003
By 
Mr. P. G. Smith "Paul Smith" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War on Errorism (Audio CD)
Chances are if your reading this then you know what NOFX sound like. If you do then you already know if you'll like this album or not. NOFX have their sound and after nearly 20 years of playing and god knows how many releases they are not about to have any radical changes.
Thats not to say that sounding the same as ever is a bad thing. When you are as good as NOFX you don't need to change.
So, the usual collection of themes. Theres the rants about the music industry - The Seperation Of Church and Skate, Medio-core, which are similar to Dinosaurs Will Die. Theres the political songs in Franco Un-American and American Errorist, the comic songs in Shes Nubs and Mattersville and they've even returned to Ska on the wonderful Anarchy Camp.
The CD comes with some bonus material. There a funny introduction to the CD, a film trailer, the video for Franco Un-American and best of all a live performance of the song The Idiot Son Of An Asshole, a fantastic rant at Bush Jnr and possibly the funniest and greatest song of their career.
So like I said, you'll know already if your going to love it or hate it. Me? I love it loads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War on Errorism
War on Errorism by NOFX (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews