Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 19 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nantucket Sleighride (Audio CD)
I got this album for two reasons - the 'Weekend World' theme that I'd always loved (and lately heard again on You Tube) along with a vague notion that I'd heard the album once or twice when it was first released and that I'd liked what I heard but never got round to buying it. Without doubt, this is a great album. Dubbed as America's answer to Cream, Mountain went a stage further by making their music rock. Each track has their stamp upon it and all topped off with Leslie West's astounding guitar expertise. This is heavy rock but with subliminal overtones built around the big man's mega-sound riff work and sweet soloing. Buy and you'll not regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the summit, 11 July 2006
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nantucket Sleighride (Audio CD)
Repertoire seem to have a good eye for great albums that fall off the radar and this hard rocking gem is a perfect example. The yelling vocals and powerchording may sound somewhat derivative but the material is superb and the execution vital. "Don't Look Around", with its thunderous opening, is irresistible hard rock. Don't underestimate Steve Knight's organ-playing, though, which hauntingly underlines the guitar across the album. The title track is the centrepiece, smouldering, changing gear, exploding into that little section made famous as the theme to the 1970s TV programme, "Weekend World". Other major highlights are "My Lady" and "Travelling In The Dark", but there are no poor tracks.

As ever, Repertoire's presentation (gatefold facsimile, booklet, original artwork) is superb. You've got no excuse for not buying this if you like 1970s hard rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic, 12 Oct 2009
By 
D. McLeod (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nantucket Sleighride (Audio CD)
Real classic rock album. Particularly like 'The Great Train Robbery,' so much energy in the song. Mountain are definitely an underrated 70's act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of old times music, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nantucket Sleighride (Audio CD)
Nothing beats this rock n' roll. Its brilliant. Thankyou so much amazon, u r wonderful. Full marks to u. It made my day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A band that deserved better, 5 Feb 2014
This review is from: Nantucket Sleighride (Audio CD)
I inherited this album on vinyl, from a cousin who died young, and as soon as I found a CD version (over a decade later) I bought it. The music is varied, powerful, well-written and impeccably performed. It's not just the riffing, either. Listen to Leslie West's little fills on the title track to hear the man's soul in his music.

Felix was shot by the cover artist, the "Lady" of the song title. Leslie is losing limbs to diabetes, but still records and plays, and is no longer the 'toad' of the other song title. If you like this one, buy "Twin Peaks" next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, durable and listenable, 28 Dec 2013
By 
M Leigh "Helen's Dad" (York UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nantucket Sleighride (Audio CD)
I bought it after hearing Nantucket Sleighride on Planet Rock. I'm pleased with it. It's a good album and won't be consigned to the rack for the occasional play at year-or-so intervals - it's very much of-its-time but nonetheless listenable. Thers's no queasy sense of datedness and most of the songs are strong, melodic and riffy. You'll probably recognise a few and surprise yourself. I hear the Cream comparisons and get the point - the musicianship is excellent but the bass tends to be better and more imaginative than Jack Bruce's unison riffs. If I'd indulge a muso quibble, it would be to suggest that Mountain are actually more like Blind Faith in the latter's best moments; they have a slightly tight-but-loose feel compared with the industrial discipline and self-consciousness of Cream's studio output. Worth a place in any Classic Rock-oriented library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great band from the 70;s have on vinyl lp, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nantucket Sleighride (Audio CD)
great old style album had to get via cd to play in the car and on my i pod and phone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nantucket Sleighride is simply brilliant, 8 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nantucket Sleighride (Audio CD)
Nantucket Sleighride is simply brilliant.

Leslie West's Guitars and Vocals are great and haunting, Felix Pappalardi's Vocal and Bass are also brilliant not to mention Corky Laing's superb drumming. Each track is a testament to excellence. This album was recorded in 1970 and release in 1971 and it stands the test of time remarkably nothing sags and as they were one of the first to play the style nothing sound derivative. You can hear the fore runners to a lot of modern music.

Better that that you get the World in Action theme tune thrown in as well. I have 35 of Leslie West's Albums and this is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unanimous (so far), 19 Nov 2012
This review is from: Nantucket Sleighride (Audio CD)
Only 6 reviews here but all are 5 stars....so what does that tell you? That this is a CLASSIC rock album as the others have stated and they aren't wrong, this record is as good as anything i've ever heard and i've heard a fair bit. The music ranges from hard rock (check the opening track it just grabs you right away) to a couple of soft rockers (notably the classic title song). Production on this, at least the vinyl and hopefully this later rerelease, was very good also. I first heard Mountain Climbing (their first album) way back about 1974 or so and really liked it, then bought this and oh my heavens what a band. They do not get the recognition that they so richly deserve, for whatever reason, but they rank, or should rank, alongside the best, and this album, which most Mountain fans i'm sure would agree, is their best. In amongst some very good others. They were never the same without Felix Pappalardi though, his vocals and songwriting were as much a part of Mountain's sound as is Leslie West's incredibly booming and gruff voice (perfectly opposite to Felix's) and instantly recognisable guitar. I couldn't believe when i read some band info on a cheap part Woodstock compilation dvd "Woodstock The Music" that Mountain's music didn't date well -- WHAT A LOAD OF CRAP !! It sounds as vibrant and fresh and pounding as it did on release, the more pity is that Mountain didn't put out more studio albums with Pappalardi and Steve Knight, who as one reviewer has already noted was an important member of the band. Always preferred them with keyboards. Still like them as a trio but their best days were the first half dozen or so recordings. They will remain one of my all time favourite bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mountain Nantucket Sleighride, 25 May 2011
This review is from: Nantucket Sleighride (Audio CD)
I loved this CD, still as good today as all those years ago when I first listened to it. Quality..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nantucket Sleighride
Nantucket Sleighride by Mountain (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews