Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much imitated, never bettered
It's quite difficult for gamers coming fresh to Max Payne in 2003 to appreciate just how groundbreaking it was upon it's initial release. The game is perhaps most famous as the originator of the 'bullet-time' gameplay, which slows the action down Matrix-style whilst allowing the player to aim at normal speed. This effect was really impressive when first seen, although it...
Published on 23 Jun 2003 by M. D. Smart

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars How short?
I've been doing a bit of retro gaming recently, having purchased both an old Gamecube and an old Xbox console. The last consoles I owned were the PS1 and the Sega Megadrive both about 15 years ago. Since then I have been an occasional PC gamer and Thief addict.

This game is showing its age now but its still a fun little unpretentious shooter. It is however...
Published on 28 Dec 2009 by Dyspeptic Spirit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams have a nasty habit of going bad when you're not looking, 13 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne (Video Game)
When Sam Lake released in 2001 his first video game, Max Payne's success was incredible. With its numerous trophies that recognized its incredible drama and writing, the dark story of a NYPD detective whose american dream is destroyed by a horrible tragedy became a classic of the video game. Filled with references from asian action movies, the Matrix and even David Lynch works (ex:Lost Highway), this action game has been adapted for the X-Box console, and also for the X Box 360 as a downloadable game on X Box Live. So far, I think the transfer to the XBox works very well. For example, the controls and the camera are easy to use and the game offers enough replay thanks to its various levels of difficulties one can select at the start of the game. Though some would complain that the level design is a little bit dated today, I disagree with them for I think that Same Lake managed to put what sometimes game designers don't put in certain great-looking video games. And by that I mean that Sam Lake put in his game an atmosphere, a tension in the story, the dialogues, its comic book cinematics and an upsetting presence in Max Payne's nightmares, essential scenes to the narration of the game.

Unlike Alan Wake, which is rated for teens, this game is definitely not for younger players for it is rated for mature audiences only. With all its drug references, dark occult cults and psychotic characters, I think this game may not be a relaxing treat for those that want to play relaxing game. I'm saying this because I read many reviews for Alan Wake where gamers were a bit upset by the atmosphere of Alan Wake. But playing a Sam Lake video game is never a comfortable ride. It is a strange and terrifying world, but it is one where you find great scripts, voice-acting, soundtrack, visuals, and most of all, excellent plots, unlike what the reviewer James Sunderland is saying.

A great way to start for those that want to see more of Sam Lake's universe and excellent prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome oldskool epic shooting in film-noir style, 8 July 2010
By 
P. Scheffer (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne (Video Game)
Max Payne was a shooter which implemented bullet-time for the first time. But what's even more original about the title, is that it's a shooter with a story. Told in a gritty film-noir style and with graphic novel style cutscenes, Max Payne really manages to suck you in the harsh world and story the main character finds himself in.

This is what makes Max Payne such a gem. It's a superfun, brutal shooter with lots of atmosphere and with a strong story. And that combination is even today very rare, and this classic title still beats the punch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars How short?, 28 Dec 2009
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne (Video Game)
I've been doing a bit of retro gaming recently, having purchased both an old Gamecube and an old Xbox console. The last consoles I owned were the PS1 and the Sega Megadrive both about 15 years ago. Since then I have been an occasional PC gamer and Thief addict.

This game is showing its age now but its still a fun little unpretentious shooter. It is however scarily short. I finished it twice in less than week and I'm no gamer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story, ecxellent atmosphere, 10 April 2003
By 
P. Madsen (Odense, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Max Payne (Xbox Classics) (Video Game)
I personally enjoyed this game much more than Splinter Cell. The storyline is surprising and even art. The atmosphere is intense and bullettime is just a great feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Max"bringing the"Payne!!, 3 Aug 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Max Payne (Video Game)
Ive only just started playing it but here are my first impressions...
Max Payne is a classic! a classic i have never played before and am now happy to say i own it.Its one of those milestones in video games.The kind of game that adds to the industry and in some cases revolutionise it.Max Payne is the start of a brilliant 3rd person shooter series that is still going today.Hopefully the new game(s) wont kill it.
When you play it you really feel the atmosphere:from the sound effects of max Payne's shoes on the floor as he moves through the well designed levels or the suicidal combat of a man with nothing to lose when he moves into bullet time and dives head first through the air shooting his guns at the also armed enemies.The story is also very good and plays out like a graphic novel.

Level design:10/10-The maps complement the games bullet time mechanic in a big way.I say this because there are a lot of steep stair cases with enemies at the bottom you can dive down in bullet time mode,there are doors that are easily pushed open so you can either dive through or run through in mid battle.Its really satisfying and exciteing when something very cinematic and awesome happens for example when you have just been killed and then come back next time and do something incredible.Useing something that happened to me today:I charged through a door feeling like a superhero,untouchable,amazing after owning two goons with a flying shotgun attack then the horrible truth hit me a goon was standing on the other side of the door pointing a gun at a cop he turned and shot me in the head.I respawned and ran back to him.I then dived through the door and shot him in mid air.

Story:10/10-reflects the brilliant story of another remedy game:Alan Wake.

Gameplay:8/10-top notch shooting game,fun running about popping caps in people,by my recollection the first game to implement the diving around and shooting at the same time he does.

Graphics:7/10-excellent for its time and is quiet pleasant to look at by nowadays standards however one problem is it can be very visually dark at times especially in the first level when you play through Max Payne's home.

All Round:Brilliant game i will be buying the second game when i have finished this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, not THAT great�, 30 Jun 2003
This review is from: Max Payne (Xbox Classics) (Video Game)
The graphics leave a lot to be desired. The story is thin and of poor quality, I never got any feel for any of the characters. All the annoying features of the early first person shooter games were present (like you can't go between two crates even tough you can clearly see you will fit neatly between them). There is little interaction with the environment. Movement of the character is limited.
Personally, I don't think the storyboard way of telling the story works. Also, in some of the more difficult parts of the game, there were annoying clips of animation you had to watch every time.
Other than that, the game works. One star added for the price, two lost to age I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 25 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Max Payne (Video Game)
The game was great. I really like the bullet time. but it seemed like the game was to easy to bet. Any gamer looking for a great action game but not to good of a plot i recomend this game to u.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars PAYNE IN THE BUTT, 6 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Max Payne (Video Game)
I bought this game on PS2 and hired the xbox version to see how the two fared. Amazingly, it's worse on the xbox! Doh!
Unforgivably terrible controls - and why oh why when a game as rich, diverse and plain massive as halo takes no time to load does this game constantly go into a sinclair spectrum 'wait 5 minutes for action' mode?
Avoid - or at very least hire before you buy to see if you can tolerate it. And let's not even talk about the blood maze levels, which should earn the programmers a public flogging...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Max Payne (Xbox Classics)
Max Payne (Xbox Classics) by Take 2 Interactive (Xbox)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews