Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much better than the reviews said!
I waited for this to come out on video and randomly bought it with the intent of giving it to my housemate if it wasn't much good, but I should've known better than to doubt Ewan McGregor, who, as always, completely makes the film.
Take it for what it is, pastiche, parody, shiny, glossy, dressed-up glamour and damn good fun, and you'll love this. Renee Zellweger...
Published on 3 Feb. 2004 by A Shaw

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars playfull & fun
Its a movie made for a rainy day and a good laugh. the overacting on both the lead roles were entertaining and irritatign at the sametime. But there is a fantastic performace by david hyde pierce (Niles from Fraser), who kept us in fits of laughter. not soemthing you'd watch again, or one ot personally recommend, but if you have nothing to do, its a good one to pass the...
Published on 24 Oct. 2005 by Chathu


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars much better than the reviews said!, 3 Feb. 2004
By 
This review is from: Down With Love [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I waited for this to come out on video and randomly bought it with the intent of giving it to my housemate if it wasn't much good, but I should've known better than to doubt Ewan McGregor, who, as always, completely makes the film.
Take it for what it is, pastiche, parody, shiny, glossy, dressed-up glamour and damn good fun, and you'll love this. Renee Zellweger really can play anything she puts her mind to, and I find it impossible to dislike her in this at all. Ewan does look great in the (for him, moderate) half-naked scenes in this, and he gets to show off the really pretty impressive singing voice he's acquired several times.
The plot is entertainingly twisty-turny enough to make me watch it again almost immediately, and the comedy, whilst derivative and often innuendo-ridden manages to be amusing because it's presented with an original spin in most cases.
I can't imagine regretting buying this, because there'll always be a time when chocolate and pyjamas and a night of easy-on-the-eye-and-mind viewing is required. All good, all round.
There are, incidentally, good extras on the video edition of this as well...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 7 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Down With Love [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see this film in the cinema with my friends thinking it would be a rubbish kids Chick Flik, but i was definitely wrong. This film was the best film I've seen in a very long time, it made me laugh so much my sides got sore. If your having a sleepover or a girls night in this is definitely the best film to buy, I know I will be buying it as soon as I can!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silly Sixties Spoof, 23 April 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Down With Love [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
If you're looking for something silly, corny, retro and absolutely brainless to do with a couple of hours, this is your movie. Suspend all belief, all common sense and above all, all your knowledge of Rock Hudson and Doris Day, and sit back and enjoy the gosh-darn-awful sixties cars, decor and fully loaded bachelor pads, and the knock-your-eyes-out women's fashion.
Renee Zellweger gives her facial muscles a work-out playing Barbara Novak, author of a new best selling self help book, for women, with the catchy title of the movie. Ewan McGregor plays Catcher Block, ladies man above all ladies men, hot shot expose journalist, who's out to prove Barbara wrong at all costs. Sarah Paulson is Barbara's pushy yet effective editor Vikki Hiller, and David Hyde Pierce recreates his Frazier character Niles all over again as Peter MacMannus, Catcher's neurotic editor.
Ewan McGregor plays a perfect sleaze-ball, but the scenes where he took off his shirt had me in fits of laughter over his total lack of tone. Unevenly growing body hair and scrawny frames may have been fashionable then, and may even excite some people now, but this girl prefers firm meat on the bones. (Hellooooo Will Smith in I, Robot)
Intentionally over-acted, perpetually silly and well seeded with funny bits, this movie had me chuckling in places, even though I had trouble swallowing the longest twist in the history of movies near the end.
It's more a 3.5 star movie, but for those grand entrances by Barbara Novak and Vikki Hiller, and that last sing and dance number, I'm prepared to round upwards.
Amanda Richards, April 22, 2005
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suave and Sexy-Renee and Ewan sizzle on screen!, 17 Mar. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down With Love [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this on a whim-being a fan of the old Rock Hudson/Doris Day movies, this modern version seemed to be right up my street!
I was a little dubious about the Renee Zellweger and Ewan MacGregor pairing, but i needn't have worried. The wonderful chemistry between them instantly showed on screen, with Renee's pouty smiles and intelligence (go, girl! She has more brains than the whole publishing board put together!) and Ewan's sultry 'man-about-town' persona, it just sizzled! Renee again shows us she isn't just a pretty face, whilst Ewan amazes us again with his ability to dazzle in roles you would not expect to see him in. Another great star is David Price (from Frasier!) as the hopeless-in-love publishing executive and Catch's (Ewan's)best friend. He grumbles and swoons his way through some of the funniest lines in the movie.
The extras on the DVD are cool too! A hilarious blooper reel and a video of the trademark song 'Here's to love', sung by Ewan and Renee, are the real gems. Once again they both show off their great singing talent in true Frank and Nancy style with hilarious words and a great dance routine.
It may not take alot of brain power, but is sure, (almost!) clean fun, and great for curling up in front of the fire with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny though probably not to everyone's taste, 7 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Down With Love [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit that for a former film student I possess an alarming lack of knowledge of pre-contemporary cinema. It is therefore that I went to see this film without prior experience of the Doris Day/Rock Hudson films that this comedy is supposed to be based on. What I ended up watching was a thoroughly enjoyable and funny, albeit camp (but obviously knowingly so) film that I found myself laughing at with tears in my eyes at some points. I guess people who didn't get this film were just too fixated with comparisons to the above mentioned films. However, if you went to see this with no prejudice and a good understanding of over-the-top kitsch comedy then I think you would find this a very funny gem of a film indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Purposefully over the top., 11 May 2004
By 
- alikat - (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Down With Love [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
The film is a deliberately over the top, tongue in cheek romantic comedy set in 60's America. Ewan McGregor is fantastically cast as the suave lady killer Catcher Block, with the perfect cheesy smile and Renée Zellweger plays Barbara Novak, the target of his affection. The film feels slightly like a play and the wardrobe department & set designers must have had a field day, what a laugh. Personally I thought it was very watchable and highly entertaining with lots of cheesy one liners and double-entendres designed to make you smile. Beautifully filmed, this is nice easy watching on a Sunday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great romantic comedy to watch with the one you love, 29 July 2007
This review is from: Down With Love [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
We LOVED this film. I had never heard of it, and bought it as a bargain as an extra little present for my wife so we could watch it on our anniversary.

I was a little nervous beforehand, as I had done no research on the film, and my wife, a fan of rom-com's had not seen it (not a good sign as it had been out a few years). It was also heftily reduced, again not always a good sign.

It turned out to the the perfect film to watch in bed on our first anniversary with a bottle of bucks fizz and breakfast...

Charmingly witty, with the politics and humour updated a little to give it a fresh zing, with far more depth than the "nice" old Doris Day movies had.

Anyone who has seen the odd Doris Day movie (and liked it) in their time will recognise that this is a slick stylish homage to the films of those days.

You can tell the cast had a great time making this film, it really shows. The performances of Renee Zellweger, Ewan McGregor, and David Hyde Pierce (Niles from Frasier) were absolutely spot on, correct for the style, and there were plenty of moments where I roared with laughter.

Great moments of comedy, great fun plot, and some lovely moments harking back to films like Pillow Talk.

It is definitely a film we will watch again, maybe on some rainy afternoon, or on a future anniversary.

A great couple film, and a chick flick that where guys will also find enough in it to have a laugh, providing your prepared to let go and indulge in the sort of unashamedly romantic film that it is.

Heartily recommended! Hats off to Renee Zellweger and Ewan McGregor, the rest of the cast and the director. A great "feel good" movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up With Ewan!, 21 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down With Love [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Fab take on the romcoms of the 60s! Great for fellow Ewan McGregor fans as he simply devine as Catcher Block the ladies man, mans man, man about town. Look out for the towel scene girls! Wonderful story, cast script, sets and costumes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'd be a cynic not to smile, 12 July 2004
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Down With Love [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
It's difficult to know whether to label this as a salute to, or a pastiche of, the 60's rom-coms of Doris Day and Rock Hudson. But whichever way you want to enoy it, this has some inspired moments of comedy. And comedy of a sort that you can't find elsewhere in this decade!
Having said that, there are some moments which jar.. moments such as a telephone conversation in split screen which seems more inspired by Austin Powers than by Doris and Rock...
But the pace and style of acting keep the audience with a smile on their face, albeit a more knowing one than audiences in the 60's had.
Ewan McGregor and Renee Zellweger just do not seem up to the task of lifting performances from their predecessors, but still deserve plaudits for a noble attempt. The supporting cast on the other hand are spot on, particularly David Hyde-Pierce's turn as the boss - it may be a rerun of his Frasier character, but is all the better for it!
The backgrounds, the colours, the costumes, the rear projection techniques - all remind us that this is a comedy consciously marking out its territory as a 60's rom com, but the script and stars will keep you firmly in this decade as you watch it.
In summary, a bit of a mixed up recipe, but one which ultimately rises to the occasion - and if you are wavering, the generous and entertaining extras should help swing the balance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camp, comical and kooky... fantastic fun!, 8 Mar. 2004
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Down With Love [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Renee is charming and Ewan oozes cool in this sophisticated, tongue-in-cheek romantic comedy. Everything about this movie is just non-stop cloud-nine fun - the costumes, the sets, the soundtrack... You're just transported into 1960s kitsch for nearly two hours of film. Its style is indulgent to the extreme, but you can't help loving it!
The twist at the end is unexpected and hilarious; the hammy acting is spot on.
Definitely the kind of DVD you'll watch more than once, when you need cheering up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Down With Love [2003] [DVD]
Down With Love [2003] [DVD] by Peyton Reed (DVD - 2004)
£1.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews