Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sopranos series 4 - still going strong?
Yes, the Sopranos is still going strongly. I'd read that the series had received adverse criticism in the US (for example, for a perceived dependence on extreme violence to maintain viewer interest). Series 4 did seem particularly extreme to me - but on reflection I think the strengths of the Sopranos from the previous 3 series have been crystallized, rather than...
Published on 29 Oct 2003

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 instead of 4!
Contained season 2 instead of 4. Couldn't find any details of my order to return it so gave up and went to hmv!
Published 5 months ago by Daniel Steven Williams


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sopranos series 4 - still going strong?, 29 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 4 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, the Sopranos is still going strongly. I'd read that the series had received adverse criticism in the US (for example, for a perceived dependence on extreme violence to maintain viewer interest). Series 4 did seem particularly extreme to me - but on reflection I think the strengths of the Sopranos from the previous 3 series have been crystallized, rather than exploited. Since you are reading this, I assume you have already got some idea of what the Sopranos is about.
My take on series 4 is that it was a little disturbing, but that it is certainly worth seeing if you want television that is worth making an effort to think about. And yes, it is still as addictive, and entertaining as before. If you loved the first three series (like me) you'll most likely want this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Special, 8 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 4 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Season 4 is very special indeed, and by far my favourite. There is much more of an 'on the edge' type of atmosphere and it is so much darker and more disturbing than the previous three. The acting is awesome, once again Falco and Gandolfini deliver truly unmissable performances especially in the feature length season finale 'White Caps' which is explosive to say the least. As far as the rest of the cast goes - brilliant, and you will become emotionally attached to most of them. The show will also make you laugh out loud at times with it's great humour especially from the likes of Gandolfini & Tony Siric. The Story is so gripping you could easily sit down and watch the whole season in one go, even if you have already seen it! I promise you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sopranos - a Masterpiece, 4 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 4 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The sopranos gets better and better.action packed; dark; funny, it takes the best of the Godfather, Goodfellas and Casino and rolls it into a series where each episode could be a film in its own right, and the larger story effortlessly flows piece by piece. the entire collection is a must have for any fan of the gangster movie, but as a drama - it has to be one of the greatest pieces of television ever made. a masterpiece of modern times...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars falling off the edge of your seat time!!!, 8 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 4 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The sopranos is a new cult. I have joined it, enjoyed it, suffered it, survived it and finished it so far... I am now on to the new stage of withdrawal symptoms. They have to make a series five. It is the best thing invented not since sliced bread, but since goodfellas, casino, and the godfather (+death of a chinese booky) These films are good, but each soprano episode is a new film. Spoil yourselves, get one and enjoy the most amazing television achievement known to man. THe sopranos is no longer a television series but a new world. You can relate to the characters and the complexity makes it evermore believable. A true masterpiece ihe making!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 14 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 4 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
The most ambitious, well written and imaginative piece of work for television ever, with the highest quality sustained over four series. The acting is impeccable with masterful performances from everyone (my favourite is Uncle Junior)and dialogue which feels real in a way rarely encountered on TV. A drama about family life as much as a mob story, full of surprises and loads of laughs but with dark and profound shadows which stay with you. Series 4 is as good as Series 1,2 and 3.... - and that's saying something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you wont find better, 22 May 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 4 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
series 4 of this classic show treads new ground in brilliance,the three previous series reigned supreme but series four really takes the distinction of being the best series yet and thats some praise indeed,praise that you cant ignore.

Of course if you are reading this and havent seen sopranos then you have to start at the beginning,series 4 can stand on its own but you need the previous three series as well just to make series 4 what it is.This series is pacey,direct,packed with memorable scenes and the characterisation takes off,certain characters that we think we have figured out show themselves to be different than what you think and thats whats so good about this show,it may lull you in and then it tears you away from your safety zone.

Series 4 has plenty of key incidents,uncle juniors trial being just one of them,the show has we all say doesnt end with shock or horror or twists or open endings,all of that occurs in the realms of the show but the ending may be nothing more than an ending,life is like that i guess.

Sopranos is a show that defies what you think you know about television,subtle stories blend in with high drama and the show never outsells itself,it can be slow burning at times but the lights are always on if you understand what i mean,this is more than vital viewing,series 4 has raised the standard yet again,series 5 is my next purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 instead of 4!, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 4 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Contained season 2 instead of 4. Couldn't find any details of my order to return it so gave up and went to hmv!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping series, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. J. Gordon "Avidfan" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 4 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
As with the other series, it does not let you down, keeps moving at a fast pace, great characters, great plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Rate, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 4 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Surely one of the very best of crime series produced for TV - I'm on Season 4 - enough said !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY FROM BEST-VALE-ENTERTAINMENT, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 4 [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
DO NOT BUY FROM BEST-VALE-ENTERTAINMENT. Disc 4 was missing and instead in it's place was another disc 2. Missing last episodes. buy this series elsewhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 4 [1999] [DVD]
The Sopranos: Complete HBO Season 4 [1999] [DVD] by James Gandolfini (DVD - 2003)
12.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews