Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How many times can you use the word "fire" in one album?
Dick Valentine (the lead vocalist) must hold some sort of record for his liberal use of the word "fire", I swear it's in every song on this fantastic debut, appropriately titled "Fire". Of course anyone buying this album will do so for the tremendous single "Danger! High Voltage", which is without a doubt one of the best singles in years, but this album's got plenty more...
Published on 4 Jun 2003 by James Wilson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fire
My daughter suggested this as a present for my son-in-law. I have no idea what it is like just going on recommendation.
Published 12 months ago by Mrs T A Webb


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

90 of 94 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How many times can you use the word "fire" in one album?, 4 Jun 2003
By 
James Wilson "Music Freak" (Mount Vernon, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fire (Audio CD)
Dick Valentine (the lead vocalist) must hold some sort of record for his liberal use of the word "fire", I swear it's in every song on this fantastic debut, appropriately titled "Fire". Of course anyone buying this album will do so for the tremendous single "Danger! High Voltage", which is without a doubt one of the best singles in years, but this album's got plenty more to offer. Electric Six sure won't go down as any sort high coceptual musicians (well, you could call this a concept album, about fires and discoes, dancing and war on the dance floor), but this music is pure fun, highly polished disco-garage-rock performed with passion to spare (something most garage rock groups are seriously lacking in). The one-two punch of "Dance Commander" and "Electric Demons in Love" open the album with a bang, and the album pretty much maintains this momentum all the way through. "She's White" is full of classic lines, this song gets extra bonus points for "YEAH!" chant and actually using the word "junta" in a pop song, and no matter how many times I hear it, Valentine's emphatic "CONTINUE!" during the pause in "Improper Dancing" causes me to lose it every time. "Gay Bar" is a fine 2nd single and a bit closer to sound of the actual album than "Danger! High Voltage" is. 13 songs in just over 38 minutes, this is a quick satisfying listen and one of the most fun records I've heard in a long time. If you enjoyed "Danger! High Voltage" (and you did) then you can't go wrong with this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will love it. Or hate it. Or be indifferent., 19 Aug 2003
This review is from: Fire (Audio CD)
"You know it gets hotter than a microwave oven when you and I commence the lovin." The use of the word commence is so choice. I bought this on a whim after having a dream in which Dick Valentine and I compared false moustache collections. I need, I physically NEED to listen to it every day, that's how much it gets under your skin. And play Dance Commander loud. How loud? Is there blood trickling from your ears down the side of your head? Then it isn't loud enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I laughed so hard my head fell off, 25 July 2003
This review is from: Fire (Audio CD)
"Fire" they call it. And that is very apt because as the previous review states it is in nearly every song! However don't let this repetition stop you from buying the album because the more important use of fire is in the way that the album burns along at a blistering pace. "Dance commander", the first track, will have you jumping about like a deranged monkey in a sack. There is a brilliant mix of cheesy funk, disco, slick bass and rocking riffs all the way through this album, they all combine to create an extremely entertaining record. Ideal for parties or discoes.
The vocals are great, hilarious in fact. The singles "Gay Bar" and "Danger! High Voltage" are challenged in their superiority by "Improper Dancing" and "I'm The Bomb" and add to the strenght of the album.
While it is quite short it makes up for this with the quality of the songs. OK it won't set the world alight (or on "fire") for it's melodies, lush vocals and meaningful lyrics but it's too chuffing funny to ignore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A one-trick pony, but boy it's a *GOOD* trick, 9 July 2003
By 
This review is from: Fire (Audio CD)
So here we are after the wait, the Electric Six album is upon us. After endless UK TV appearances where the band only played Danger! High Voltage and Gay Bar, I was left wondering if they had any more material.
Honest truth - no they don't, nothing else on the album matches the hilarious impact of Valentine's Spinal Tap vocalisations on the first single, and Gay Bar has to rank as the best riff of the decade so far.
But there's enough good stuff on here to merit a dozen or so listens, and given the state of rock and roll right now, that makes it a must-buy. Kind of Spinal Tap meets Sparks meets the Ramones meets Miss You-era Stones, the songs are short, and either are, or try to be funny, with simple blues-scale solos and occasional disco beats. A peculiar but winning mix.
Stand-outs - Danger! High Voltage, Gay Bar, She's White, Dance Commander, Synthesizer.
Fire in the disco!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unadulterated FUN!, 8 Feb 2007
By 
A. J. Rabet "Rabs" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire (Audio CD)
I bought this album after seeing the Video to "Danger! High Voltage" whilst flicking around on the satellite. I was instantly hooked by that song's tongue in cheek nature and musicianship. I decided to buy the album with it on and I found out that Electric Six had also been responsible for "Gay Bar"

I then listened to the whole album and I found that there were treasures all over it from "She's White" "Naked Pictures (of your mother)" "Synthesiser" and in fact none of the tracks were poor. I lent this to my brother and his 14 year old son wouldn't give it back for a year as he liked it so much!

All in all a great album with some of the campest lyrics you will ever come across plus some great tunes to boot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you can't ignore my techno....!, 22 Oct 2003
This review is from: Fire [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I normally dislike 'comedy music' for general listening but I have found myself listening to this album over and over. There isn't a single bad track on this album; it has successfully combined hilarious lyrics with brilliant musical talent. The big releases being Danger HV, Gay bar and more recently Dance Commander but they are the only great tracks here. My personal favorites's are I'm the Bomb and Synthesizer. I'm The Bomb is just brilliant, Dick Valentine being as arrogant as musically possible with a ridiculously funky backing just make you smile. Synthesizer on the other hand is completely different to the rest of the album, which is probably why it is the last track. As the name suggests it's just an electro/synth track but I'm amazed that a group like this could produce such a brilliant electro/synth track. Suprisingly it's very mellow with the faintest hint of comedy to let you know its still E6. The rest of the album is pieced up of seriously funky riffs, sleazy, arrogant lyrics and some 80's rockstar squealing (which along with The Darkness seems to be the trend now).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!, 10 Dec 2003
This review is from: Fire [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
These guys rock my world - brilliant rock and roll at its fun and funkiest - everyone should own this album - and now you get the videos as well.
Cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Danger, Danger, a decent debut album!, 2 July 2003
By 
I. Walker "ryujingt3" (Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fire (Audio CD)
The thing with debut albums is that normally the songs that get regular airplay on radio are the only ones that support the album with the rest of the songs not living up to the standards of the singles.
Thankfully, thanks to the unique style of Electric Six this is not the case, sure, most people will instantly listen to 'Gay Bar' and 'Danger, Danger High Voltage' but I think that there are other tracks on this superb debut album that are as good if not better than these two already superb singles.
Songs like 'Dance Commander' get you in the mood for what is to come with songs like 'She's white' and 'Nuclear War (On the dancefloor)' prove that Electric Six are capable of different types of music and so if you are after variety then this is also another bonus.
Most of all though is the sound, never has an album that has been released recently sounded so fresh and different from the manufactured pop or other music that is making the rounds (the only other album I can think of that features the same degree of boldness is the latest album from the Stereophonics) and I think that this is a stunning debut album that fans of the singles will love.
But the pure beauty is the fact that those who have never heard the singles can get this album and enjoy them both as well as the other 11 songs that go to make up a great debut album from Electric Six.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, lightweight, fun, 4 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fire (Audio CD)
I saw these guys live and immediately put in a pre-order for the album. Cheesy, silly and not a little smutty, it's also darn good fun and the music is catchy and well-executed rock, with strong hints of disco.
The singles "Danger! High Voltage" and "Gay Bar" are not the only decent tracks by any means. Almost every track is of a similar standard. The worst feature is that, when listening to the whole album, the repetitive themes of the lyrics do grate rather - as another reviewer says, be amazed at how often the word "fire" appears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Set Your World on 'Fire' With Electric Six!, 4 April 2010
By 
Eoin Smith (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fire (Audio CD)
What can I say, this album is - in my mind - an instant classic. Jam packed full of catchy pop-rock songs, 'Fire' will in fact, light up your life!

This, Electric Six's debut album, is undoubtedly their finest. Opener 'Dance Commander' pulses from the very beginning, and the foot isn't taken off the accelerator until the final closing bars of closer 'Synthesizer'. Most will know Electric Six from their hit singles 'Danger (High Voltage)' and 'Gay bar', and if you liked them, you'll have nothing to worry about.

Most bands can write hit singles, but what about the album tracks? often these are given very little consideration, but I can safely say that there is not one bad song on this album. 'Naked Pictures (Of your mother)' is simply superb, and 'She's White' has one of the funniest choruses I've ever heard outside of a parody album.

If you're looking for feel-good rock music, with melodies you'll be singing for days after listening, then this is definitely the album for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fire
Fire by Electric Six (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews