Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance
Having read the books, I wondered how on earth they would manage to do them justice on the television. I have to say, I thought the acting was absolutely first-rate, without a shadow of a doubt: I can't think of any weak characters, and some of them were simply outstanding: Charles Stringham descending into alcoholism and reborn, but completely destroyed in the process;...
Published on 14 Jan. 2008 by Marcus Manilius

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read the books first
I am a Powell nut; I re-read the books every couple of years, because I am a writer, and Powell my master. I re-read the sequence everytime I am embarking on a new book, or if, as at present, I get stuck. Having just finished the books (again), I thought I'd try this DVD. I remember watching the series when it was broadcast, and on watching it again, my opinion is...
Published 12 months ago by Ian Marchant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick trot through the music of time, 5 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Though nothing can compare with the books this is quite a fine stab, studded with the finest English talent of its period sensitively cast, and moderately faithful to significant portions of the books. The narrator's voice and perspective are well maintained though oddly James Purefoy is replaced by an excellent but jarring John Standing in the last episode while most of the other actors are cosmetically aged with varying degrees of success. Simon Russell Beale excels but does not dominate as the repulsive Widmerpool and the female characters live as they don't always in the books where they are seen through men's eyes. The music is well chosen and used from Coward's "Twentieth Century Blues" onwards and the use of visual art, including the eponymous Dance is apt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dance to the music of time, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We had this on VHS and decided to get the dvd and of course the quality was so much better for it.. It'd been a long time since we last viewed it and it didn't disappoint. The acting is brilliant and the intertwining stories so good. Recommended. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Jan. 2012
By 
David Kennedy "saddle tramp" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had been told this was good and was not disappointed except for the surprise when there was the change of actor for the last part. It is a pity that having identified with the character he should suddenly change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning success, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dance To The Music Of Time [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
A who's who of English acting tackles the almost impossible task of condesing Anthony Powell's 12 novels into a 4 part television series. Inevitably some of the connections that make the books so fascinating have to be discarded in the interests of dramatic pace. That having been said the resulting production is tour de force particularly in it's representation of literary society in London during the 1920s and 30s.
The decision to change actors for the final part of the series, particularly the Nick Jenkins character is rather disconcerting particularly when others (notably the dreadful Kenneth Widmerpool - rather the awesome Simon Russell-Beal) continue with the same actor throught. Overall one of the best drama series ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are also some great cameo performances, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simon Russell Beale has nailed Widmerpool. There are also some great cameo performances. Of course the TV series lacks the nuances of the books but anyone who hasn't read them will have their appetite whetted by this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well Thought out Adaption, 19 Oct. 2014
This review is from: A Dance To The Music Of Time (DVD)
With such a large series of books any adaption will have to concentrate on selected items and I felt this version was excellent. The cast over the four discs were a mix of established star of the era, talent arising and those who fitted any time frame and they were all excellent. So to were the settings, costumes and the direction was excellent. British TV at its best and a set not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A real classic, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I first started watching,I thought that I had made a mistake and it was going to be boring but as the plot progressed and I became familiar with the characters,was utterly hooked and shed a tear at the end.Superb acting by all,especially Miranda Richardson and although not a particular plot to this DVD,I personally found it really good,especially the social history aspect of how perceptions have changed over the years etc.I shall watch it again to absorb more of it,something i always do with "thinking" films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dancing, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In spite of necessary abbreviation of a very complicated the spirit of the sequence was well achieved, helped by excellent acting, especially that of Simon Russell Beale and Miranda Richardson. The last trio was a little compressed and the war trio largely ignoring the third novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Dance to the Music of Time, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The writers have compressed twelve volumes into a few well produced and directed episodes. The actress who plays Pamela Flitton might have been her, and indeed died under morbid circulstances, as if her own demise had been written by Anthony Powell pronounced 'Pole'. This is the THIRD time I have been asked to rate this product, and I will not do it again. More efficiency please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, some wonderful acting and dating gently., 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a terrific effort to encapsulate the real feeling of Powel's great work. The director has used the script with sensitivity and the casting is clever in its use of faces to fit the characters across the passage of time. My only fault with it is that there is not more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dance To The Music Of Time [DVD] [1997]
A Dance To The Music Of Time [DVD] [1997] by Gillian Barge (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: £7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews