Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray excellence
The Cruel Sea [Blu-ray] [1953] I have owned this masterpiece in all its formats, from Monsarrats book to VHS to DVD and have just taken delivery of, and test-run, the Blu-Ray version. I always thought that DVD was going to be as good as it gets, but Blu-Ray has moved the high-bar even higher on this wonderful, un-glamorous story of life(and death)of British sailors and...
Published on 21 Oct 2011 by Bruce Kerslake

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cruelty
forgive me for my comentary, but a think the really cruel is the direction and the dialog of the entire film,that dont reflect the real estándar and value of royal navy and its great great courage in the defense of U K.AND PERHAPS THE ENTIRE WORL....
Published 9 months ago by Carlos Parot Delsahut


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray excellence, 21 Oct 2011
By 
Bruce Kerslake "brucek39" (Ormiston, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Cruel Sea [Blu-ray] [1953] I have owned this masterpiece in all its formats, from Monsarrats book to VHS to DVD and have just taken delivery of, and test-run, the Blu-Ray version. I always thought that DVD was going to be as good as it gets, but Blu-Ray has moved the high-bar even higher on this wonderful, un-glamorous story of life(and death)of British sailors and ships at sea in WW2. After watching this story, it is easier to envisage what life was like in those terrible times at sea and on land. The soundtrack hasn't changed from mono 2.0, but picture clarity is greatly enhanced, and is another one of those black and white movies which has managed the transition to HD very well as a result of its re-mastering. Worth every penny! And being region B, it is now available to most of the English speaking world. It also comes with a couple of extras, but I have not explored these yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cruel Sea on BluRay, 9 July 2011
By 
Soren Hemingway "Parash" (Ropes Crossing, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first read the book more than fifty years ago and saw the movie in the cinema also many years ago.
The BluRay release is superbly done and very sharp and the sound is as the original in the cinema. Mono but clear.
A movie with a great story line and I really enjoyed watching the movie again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great naval war story, 23 May 2009
This review is from: Cruel Sea [DVD] (DVD)
Much more than the stereotypical war movie of the 50s, The Cruel Sea has tension, drama and an interesting examination of character. The cinematography is surprisingly good for the era: the sea itself has a strong visual impact. Jack Hawkins plays the role he always plays - the upright moral British officer but in this drama he shows more depth and nuance than usual. Overall, an engaging drama that holds the attention throughout as long as you're not expecting the hi tech special effects of today's movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A realistic and thoughtful look at men at war, with a fine performance by Jack Hawkins, 12 Jun 2007
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cruel Sea [DVD] (DVD)
The Cruel Sea is, in my view, one of the best movies yet made dealing with naval men at war in WWII. It's the story of the Compass Rose, newly commissioned in 1940 as a convoy escort, and the officers and men who served on her. Her captain (Jack Hawkins) was fresh from the merchant marine; her new officers had seen almost no sea duty. They learned on the job as they protected convoys in the North Atlantic and then in the run to the Mediterranean.

What makes this movie so good is its matter-of-factness. There are no heroics, just men learning their jobs and doing their duty, with some who die and some who survive. The scene where Captain Ericson decides to use depth charges to destroy a suspected submarine hiding below a group of struggling survivors from a torpedoed freighter is harrowing. The DVD I saw has a good but by no means first-class image transfer.

The novel, The Cruel Sea by Nicholas Monsarrat, is largely forgotten now. It remains one of the most evocative books to come out of WWII. The movie is well worth seeing. The book is certainly well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best British War Film Ever!, 31 Mar 2009
By 
C. Clark "The Makem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cruel Sea [DVD] (DVD)
This is my favourite war film, without question. Brilliantly put together. Have watched it countless times and will watch it again and again. The characters are great, especially Jack Hawkins. This is a must for all British film fans, absolutley outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best war at sea film ever made., 6 Jun 2000
By 
Mr. M. Hatherell "Mark Hatherell" (Vauxhall, London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film should be compulsory viewing for all would be film directors looking to make a war film. After watching the much hyped 'Saving Private Ryan' at the cinema my first thoughts on coming out into the light of day 'Not a patch on 'The Cruel Sea'. And it's true 'The Cruel Sea' is a materpiece of the story tellers art faithfully translated on to the big screen, the actors all put in excellent performances with Jack Hawkins managing to out shine everyone. I can't rate this film highly enough, it is an all time great and it deserves to be remembered as the materpiece it truely is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Britain's Finest - in fact the Best of British., 8 Oct 2003
By 
Stargazer (St.Kilda, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cruel Sea [DVD] (DVD)
I had been waiting forever for this film to be released on DVD and once it was, I was "in like Flynn" with my pre order. The Cruel Sea is as perfectly understated and as moving as you would expect from a great English film of the fifties. The performance of Jack Hawkins was mesmerising, Donald Sinden and Virginia McKenna had memorable debuts, Moira Lister was perfect as the unfaithful self centred wife, as was Stanley Baker as the first lieutenant with the chip on his shoulder.
The Cruel Sea manages to convey the dedication to duty, the uncertainty of life, the cynicism of planning for a future, the self doubts and insecurities of men making life deciding decisions and trying to keep their private lives in tact as well.
The "Compass Rose" was sent out to track and destroy enemy submarines and ships.She was a corvette,and played hide and seek herself sitting at the bottom of the sea as depth charges from above seek them out.
One of the Compass Roses officers cracks under the strain and has to be hospitalised,whilst another goes home on leave to find his spoiled wife
(played brilliantly by Moira Lister) is more concerned with her social life and her friends than she is of a husband home on leave.
The Cruel Sea is one the great British movies, certainly every bit as good as it's main rivals for the title, The Third Man,The English Patient,and Lawrence of Arabia.For me,it's the best of all British films,thanks largely to the performance of Jack Hawkins.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars v.good, 20 Jan 2001
By 
This is a fantastic, fluent adaptation of the classic post-war bestseller by Nicholas Monserrat. Achieving a superb balance between action and stomach-sickening suspense, it is a fitting tribute to, and education on, those who died at sea in WWII
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ww2 nostalgia, 31 Oct 2011
My partner, who is 87 years old, found this film fascinating as he experienced these war years himself, being a member of the RAF. It was good to see so many of the actors who became very famous in later years. The acting was superb. Having been digitally restored, the quality of the DVD was excellent. A great purchase which I can recommend to anyone who is interested in World War Two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British war film, 24 Dec 2007
By 
Kentspur (Er...Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cruel Sea [DVD] (DVD)
The Cruel Sea is, without doubt, the best British war film of all time.

A big boast? Maybe, but consider this. What other war film grasps the ordinary man's experience of war better than this understated masterpiece.

Jack Hawkins, as the captain of the doomed corvette Compass Rose, gives the best performance of his career. The most famous scene in the film - when he sends depth charges through a crowd of foundering seamen after a U-boat - sees him torn apart. Yet, when it comes to explanations, he says, quite rightly - 'it's the war, just the war.' One cannot imagine such a harsh, unmelodramatic response making into a film today. All he can do is try and drink the images away and how many other Royal Navy men - watching this film at cinemas in the 50s - would not feel the same.

There are professional sailors in the ship's company, but the majority are there for the duration of the war. Men who never thought of going to sea or fighting. Seeing how they adapt, and suffer, is extremely poignant.

A film where the narration can talk about the importance of 'dying without wasting anyone's time' is extremely powerful stuff. There is no attempt to make it glorious; no attempt to prosecute good men in the dubious court of hindsight - it's just men doing what had to be done, with varying degrees of success.

There is none of the spectacle of the big 60s and 70s 'epics' with massive all-star casts - like 'The Longest Day' or 'A Bridge Too Far' - nor the bolted on 'anti-war' sentiments of films from the later sixties. World War Two was there to be fought and won and these were the men that did it.

Men like Denholm Elliott, drowning thinking of his faithless wife; Theraby - the young man driven mad by being in an open boat, even Stanley Baker, the bully pushed beyond his endurance - are real characters - ordinary people forced to war. There's nothing ostensibly heroic about any of them, but, clearly, they are heroes. Real heroes. Not supermen with machine guns, but frightened civilians huddled around a sonar.

For me the worst scene is when survivors from an oiler are picked up and they, literally, cough their guts up as the men of Compass Rose try, ineffectually, to help them. There is no phoney war here. It is heart-breakingly sad.

Channel Four had 'Saving Private Ryan' as the best war film ever. Good film, especially the first twenty minutes, but it is shallow compared to 'The Cruel Sea.'

It is just a great, great film. It doesn't cost much, so buy it. Watch it. Put it on the shelf, get it out and watch it again. Compare and contrast with the high tech CGI and bangs of current, empty films. This film captures what war is like for ordinary British people.

It is ugly, yet, somehow, uplifting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cruel Sea [DVD]
The Cruel Sea [DVD] by Charles Frend (DVD - 2005)
11.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews