Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragicomedy at its best
This film was hyped up for the Aniston-breaks-mould aspect, but it deserves much higher praise. The observational humour in this film really brings it to life: down to the individual customers in the shop, every character portrays a slice of life both funny and piercingly painful to watch. Jennifer Aniston's performance is tremendous and, as a viewer, you feel hugely...
Published on 2 Oct 2004 by Wilting Lily

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Funny? - I think not!
The video title states seriously funny. I thought 'lovely - nice girlie film - I can chill out and be seriously amused'. All I can say is that someone somewhere must have a rather strange sense of humour to find this film seriously or even mildy funny.
Jennifer Aniston's acting is superb - but then - it normally is - she plays her part very well. The story line...
Published on 23 Aug 2003 by Julie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragicomedy at its best, 2 Oct 2004
This review is from: Good Girl, The [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
This film was hyped up for the Aniston-breaks-mould aspect, but it deserves much higher praise. The observational humour in this film really brings it to life: down to the individual customers in the shop, every character portrays a slice of life both funny and piercingly painful to watch. Jennifer Aniston's performance is tremendous and, as a viewer, you feel hugely empathetic as the hole Justine is digging keeps on getting deeper. The actors all know exactly how much to give to make this film ring true, and, at the very least, you will end your viewing thanking your lucky stars that you don't spend your days in a Retail Rodeo.
I love this film and all that it stands for in film-making, and I recommend it unreservedly. More like this, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look., 28 July 2004
This review is from: Good Girl, The [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I'll admit I was intrigued to see how well Jennifer Aniston could play it straight and she doesn't dissapoint.
The character of Justine acts in an unforgivable way towards both her husband (John C Reilly) and her lover (Jake Gyllenhaal) yet I found myself rooting for her. This is thanks to Aniston's amazing performance.
The film has a perfect cast both John C Reilly and Jake Gyllenhaal are brilliant and should have won awards for their performances. (I also quite fancied Jake Gyllenhaal in this film-if you like him then watch this film!)
It's hard to put this film into a genre as its funny but also tragic so it can't be described as either comedy or drama. I think the only way to describe it is unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, 18 April 2007
This review is from: Good Girl, The [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm as skeptical as the next person when it comes the Jennifer Aniston's 'serious' acting career but I was pleasantly surprised with her performance. She played the role of struggling downtrodden housewife extremely well and the chemistry between her and Jake Gyllenhal (sp?) was impressive.

A sad and moving story about how life isn't always rainbows and butterflies. This is a very gritty drama about life's harsh realities.

You really do get attatched to the characters in this one, it is surprisingly good and definately worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seriously Funny? - I think not!, 23 Aug 2003
The video title states seriously funny. I thought 'lovely - nice girlie film - I can chill out and be seriously amused'. All I can say is that someone somewhere must have a rather strange sense of humour to find this film seriously or even mildy funny.
Jennifer Aniston's acting is superb - but then - it normally is - she plays her part very well. The story line however, is sad and really rather depressing. Jennifer plays an unhappy soul. Her life is boring and pointless, her husband even more so. She embarks on an affair with a young man at work who has depressive mental problems. Should we start laughing at this point? - The affair is doomed - and even while the affair is going on - it isnt an affair to lift you and make you feel good. The film continues along its sad way to the end. Not a film I would have chosen to watch - knowing its contents - I was after a light hearted romantic
comedy. I think you will find it is definitely not that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars poking fun at a lot of adolescent would-be-stuff, 15 Dec 2004
By 
Chris Vertonghen (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Girl, The [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
Beautiful movie poking fun at a lot of adolescent would-be-stuff (Gyllenhaal's naïve angry-young-man-character is painfully beautiful, and Bubba's just hilarious). In contrast to Mike White's other movies, this one is right on the money. Special kudos to Aniston, who puts down a very convincing and down-to-earth Justine. It takes a great actress and a lot of guts, self-confidence and self-criticism to (seemingly effortlessly) shake off huge comedy TV-success, a husband considered the most beautiful man alive, and put down a very realistic and dramatic performance as a bored and depressed 30 years old small town woman working as a supermarket clerk married to a cuckold house painter with a fertility problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aniston's foray into serious acting, 16 Nov 2006
By 
Ms. B. Williams "Beth" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Girl, The [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
The Good Girl stars Jennifer Aniston as Justine Last, a 30 year old married woman who becomes disillusioned with her dead-end job as a shop assistant, with her pot-head husband Phil (played by John C. Reilly), and with life in general. This disillusionment causes her to embark on a disastrous affair with a co-worker named Holden (played by Jake Gyllenhaal), who is seven years her junior and seems to provide the excitement Justine has been craving. Little does Justine know that Holden has a mental problem which only emerges when he becomes obsessed with Justine when she tries to cool things off a little after her husbands creepy best friend finds out about their affair and blackmails her.

What started off as a no-strings fling for Justine soon escalates into a living nightmare for her when she finds it literally impossible to get rid of Holden which ultimately ends in disaster.

The Good Girl is something different to the run of the mill rom-coms that Jennifer Aniston has made a name for herself in the movie business as playing. She is extremely competent in playing a more serious role and did achieve critical acclaim after this film was released. This has prompted her off late to pursue other serious roles more recently. Jake Gyllenhaal plays the character of Holden extremely well but we have seen him in this sort of role before in Donnie Darko so it's not a complete surprise that he's able to play this sort of character well. There are a few gripes with the film that I'll tell you about. The ending is a real downer so don't watch this if you are in any way expecting a happy ending and even though it's advertised as being funny, it's not. The quote of it being a black comedy I think misrepresents what the film is actually like.

Despite this, The Good Girl is certainly worth a look if only to be pleasantly surprised by Jennifer Aniston's performance alone.

Extras on the DVD include 2 commentaries, an alternate ending (which is near enough the same so the point is of this I don't know), deleted scenes and a gag reel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The 1 Where Everyone Was Talking About Aniston’s Performan, 28 May 2003
After The Good Girl many were proclaiming her acting “serious” acting abilities. Rachel who I hear you ask?
Set in small town America, Jennifer Aniston plays Justine a store clerk trapped in a sterile and stale marriage, with her loser husband Phil, who has probably caused his infertility as a result of his chronic dope habit. Unsurprisingly, Justine is feeling frustrated and neglected, but finds hope and excitement in a seemingly kindred spirit when she meets younger clerk Holden (Jake Gyllenhall), who thinks he is the reincarnation of J.D Salinger’s character Holden Caulfield from Catcher in the Rye. The two strike up an affair, and Justine falls pregnant, but that’s only the first of many complications.
Having become famous, made the money, got the adverting contract and bagged the man, the only thing apparently left for Aniston is to find artistic credibility and in The Good Girl, she comes, oh so close. The danger of becoming too much of a celebrity is that viewers watch their favourite actor rather than looking at the character. It’s worked well for most of Tom Cruise’s career but Aniston lacks that star quality. There are all the requisite attributes that any Oscar worth performance should have but something doesn’t quite work. The hair has been duly toned down and she looks the part, but her southern accent is patchy. Having said that it is quite a departure from her romantic comedy staple diet and she has to be commended for seeking to broaden her range. Gyllenhall, having excelled in the fantastic Donnie Darko, seems to be the character actor du jour and though isn’t particularly taxed, he does a good job of propping up Aniston in her weaker moments.
The Good Girl tries hard to be the next American Beauty, tackling alienation, disappointment and a good touch of dark humour. The two films aren’t quite in the same league but it does a good job of aping the former. An interesting if mildly disappointing watch, I ought to say here that the other people I was watching with all loved the film. What can I say- different strokes for different folks. Watch it and judge for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A comedy with real depth, 27 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Girl, The [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
This film suprised me like it did so many other people. Jennifer Aniston in her role as Justine is stunning and, after the first 15 minutes I firmly forgot about Rachel.

I love the entire cast here. All of them deliver a shining performance in their roles and all support the leads very well. As always Jake Gyllenhaal and John C. Reilly provide typically excellent performances as the disturbed lover and 'faithful hound' husband.

It was advertised as 'seriously funny' which I think is a mistake, as that does tend to give the impression of one of those brainless hollywood rom-coms, as this films takes a deeper look at loneliness, the destruction of dreams and the realisation of your own discontent.

I would genuinely recommend this film to anyone who isn't wanting a ridiculous, brainless comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep and Insightful, 19 Jan 2004
By 
Dinah85 "Dinah93" (Cleveland,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Good Girl, The [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
This is not the funny film as the cover claims, however it is one of the most insightful and clever films made today. Jennifer Aniston gives an amazing performance, showing her diverse abilities as an actress. Her characterisation is fantastic, right down to the way she walks.
The plot centers on the search for happiness in an ordinary life, and the sometimes drastic steps people are prepared to make to acheive this. It is told in the first person, focussing on Jennifer Aniston's thoughts as she begins her illicit affair and the steps she has to take to cover it, and ultimately end it. This is coupled with the small changes her husband, who is initially perceived as obnoxious, makes to try and improve their lives.
This is a heart-warming film and i would recomend it to anyone. The acting is superb, and the plot and writing are astute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Aniston is the star of this film, 25 July 2007
By 
T. Rebbeck (sussex,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Girl, The [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
The true genius behind this film is the amazing job Jennifer Aniston does in making us believe how pintless and boring her characters life is, married to a man who does nothing but smoke pot with his inane friend. After she starts her affair with holden you almost want her to make it work because you cant believe that the meaningless existance she has with her husband would be enough for anybody you want her to have more and to experience life. The only reason i do not give it 5 stars is because of what i consider to be bad editing. The dvd comes with some deleted scenes that i feel if included would have made it a stronger film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Girl, The [2003] [DVD]
Good Girl, The [2003] [DVD] by Miguel Arteta (DVD - 2003)
£2.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews