Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The milky bars are on me!
OK so its a quiet saturday night and you figure, "I'll stay in... have some wine, maybe watch a movie" If that movie is human traffic before the midpoint you will have called your friends and left the building... not the most positive start to a review, but its because the film is SO good that you have to turn it off and enjoy your own club culture. Funny,...
Published on 30 April 2000 by popjunky

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, poor version of the DVD.
First of all, this is a fantastic film. Well acted and it has an excellent soundtrack. The film is worth 5 stars. The reason I gave it 3 is because this is a poor release of the film. I borrowed my friends 2003 version of the film before I bought this one and it has the special features and is in 5.1 surround sound. This version (2007) has no special features and is in...
Published on 29 Sep 2009 by D. Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Insight To Clubbing In The 90's, 20 Jun 2000
By 
This review is from: Human Traffic [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
"The weekend has landed. All that exists now is clubs, drugs, pubs and parties. I've got 48 hours off from the world, man. I'm gonna blow steam outa my head like a screaming kettle and talk codshit to strangers all night. I'm gonna lose the plot on the dance floor; the free radicals inside me are freaking man! Tonight I'm Jip Travolta, I'm Peter Popper - I'm going to Never Never Land with my chosen family man. We're gonna get more spaced out than Neil Armstrong ever did. Anything could happen tonight ya know! This could be the best night of my life! I've 73 quid in my back burner, I'm gonna wax the lot, the Milky Bars are on. Yeah!" So exclaims Jip, one of five central characters of the films that accurately and comprehensively sums up club life in Britain throughout the Nineties. This is the real deal, charting as it controversially does (for some people), the use of Ecstasy, Cocaine and a good few spliffs as merely components of a blinding weekend's partying! Forget the likes of the squeaky clean, "nice" images of Britain as portrayed by the likes of "Four Weddings" or "Notting Hill" - these are real club people and this is what it's like. Thanks to Radio One's Pete Tong acting as musical advisor even the soundtrack is bang on the button and features contributions from Orbital, Fat Boy Slim, Carl Cox, Underworld, and Armand Van Helden amongst others. Dead accurate and scorchingly hilarious much of the time, this is an absolutely essential ninety minutes of era-charting brilliance delivered with aplomb by a cast of virtually unknown actors. Totally recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best beats about..!, 12 Aug 2003
This review is from: Human Traffic Remixed [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Having not seen the 'Non Special Edition' of this film, I don't know what they've done to it to make it 'Special' but it certainly did it for me.
The music has you out of your seat and in your own virtual club whilst the characters (who are so different from each other in their background culture but are brought to the same level by E's and their love of music) make you want to join them in the film.
I actually watched this film twice in one night because of the music and now I'm awaiting the soundtrack CD, which i hope won't disappoint me..
Quite simply, buy this film for the music, buy it for the culture and buy it for the sheer enjoyment it will provide you with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a grower now a shower...., 20 Jun 2007
This review is from: Human Traffic Remixed [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I watched this film and thought it was alright.. As some people have said, it is like an introduction for an hour and a half and then it finishes.

The second time, I thought it was very good and then the third time, it became my favourite movie.

If you have never been involved in the scene described in this movie, you might not be able to identify with some of the film and loads of the jokes might go straight over your head but if you have been on a night like the characters in the film go on then it is perfect.

Rather than the usual story (someone takes drugs, gets hooked, has a real problem with them etc etc), Human Traffic tries to show what the drug scene is actually like. It is not "hollywooded up", it is a very accurate account of youth culture. It shows how people think and portrays a culture that some people know nothing about yet argue that it's bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NICE ONE BRUVVA!, 16 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Human Traffic [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
An acccurate, in depth look at club culture. The first of it's kind. Absolutely brilliant soundtrack by Pete Tong. Nice guest appearence by Carl Cox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny clubbing film, good laugh, take it as you see it, 13 Feb 2011
By 
L. Taylor (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Human Traffic [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a good laugh. It is well over the top when it comes to the clubbing scene but it is a good clubbing film none the less. Some good characters and good music. If you want a good film and you are into the scene than watch this, this film did good and there is a reason, because it is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The weekend has landed..., 17 April 2007
This review is from: Human Traffic [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is, without doubt, one of the best films in my collection and brings a huge smile to my face everytime i sit down and watch it.The film follows four friends from cardiff, who, feeling bored and underappriciated with there jobs decied to go out had have the weekend they will never forget. The soundtrack is exellent and all the characters,especially john simm as Jip and danny dyer as Moff make this film a must have for anyone who lived the life style in there youth. I love this film and its always on in the backround when im getting ready for a big night out.

Watch and you wont be dissapointed.

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the defining films of the decade..., 24 May 2004
This review is from: Human Traffic Remixed [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
As the title says, this film captures perfectly what the nineties were about for a lot of people.
Although it may not be everyone's cup of tea, Human Traffic gets it so "right" in many respects, you are bound to equate some of the scenes with episodes from your own clubbing experience.
Funny and insightful, but without trying to be too pretentious, this is the closest you are going to get to a night out in celluloid - and the other reviewers are right, its a cracking soundtrack!
In years to come I think this film will get the recognition it deserves....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome take on dance culture, 22 Dec 2007
This review is from: Human Traffic [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I completely loved this film, saw it again after a couple of years and think it gets better with age. Brilliantly shot, funny, wacky, witty, nuts dialog, good and bad of drugs, great damn music had me dancing in my chair...great take on post modern youth life, struggles, craziness, fun, drugs, music, connections, alienation, philosophy and even some male female bonding!! Funny film, wish I was less square in those days and did more of this stuff ... a inside view on some of the best of UK (welsh) youth clubbing reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Film!!, 29 Jun 2009
By 
I. M. Knight (Huddersfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Human Traffic Remixed [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is one of the best British films of the youth generation and the only one of the 1990s as far as I'm concerned. The music in the film is one of the best for a movie of any genre and is still one of my CD choices 10 years on from its release.

This is fantastically funny in places and a great trip through the weekender's club life. On a further note this has an excellent performance from Danny Dyer marking him as probably the Phil Daniels for his generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human Traffic, 5 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Human Traffic [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
A truly contemporary synopsis of the modern day culture, mixing friendship with drug-induced euphoria!
An extremely refreshing view of a non-violent circle of friends looking deeper into mundane day to day activities and living it up for the weekend, including some moments of hilarity, confusion and bewilderment. Watch out for some little gems from the likes of Danny Dyer, Sean Parkes and John Simms.
A film that is definitely worth watching with a few mates, a few beers and a few "Camberwell Carrots"!
Sit down, kick back and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Human Traffic Remixed [DVD] [1999]
Human Traffic Remixed [DVD] [1999] by John Simm (DVD - 2003)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews