Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna's Back!!
Madonna is back with the second single from her forthcoming album.
Once again she teams up with Mirwais, and although it has some elements of the style os music they brought us with MUSIC, it is in a new light.
It is a electro single but with a fantastic mellow breakdown for the chorus.
The mixes on this CD come from Felix Da Housecat, who has a 80's themed...
Published on 14 April 2003 by Peter J. Hewitt

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My review
I brought this 4 the pic inside 2 get a new tattoo on my back
Published on 28 Jan 2010 by Mr. C. Jeffries


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna's Back!!, 14 April 2003
By 
Peter J. Hewitt "history fan!" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Life [CD 2] (Audio CD)
Madonna is back with the second single from her forthcoming album.
Once again she teams up with Mirwais, and although it has some elements of the style os music they brought us with MUSIC, it is in a new light.
It is a electro single but with a fantastic mellow breakdown for the chorus.
The mixes on this CD come from Felix Da Housecat, who has a 80's themed mix which brings the song in a new light.The other mix is from Paul Oakenfold who brings the best remix of American Life, brilliant beat, just perfect for a dancefloor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Life [CD 2] (Audio CD)
Great single and great remixes. Really like it but i prefer CD1 of the single.

Would recommend it to anyone.

4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A much better version!, 9 Nov 2005
This review is from: American Life [CD 2] (Audio CD)
Madonna's second version of the "American Life" single is much better than the first one! While at the first CD remixes were boring as hell (Missy Eliott and Peter Rauhofer), the second album offers much better remixes in form of a club-friendly "Oakenfold downtempo remix" and "Felix da Housecat's Devin dazzle Club mix" which is two minutes longer than the original song, but offers better rap sequence (faster and upbeat).
So here's the thing: If you liked the original song, you'll like the remixes too as they are faithful to the original, but can also stand as different songs. The only problem is there's no video! Why!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i live the american dream, 24 Nov 2003
This review is from: American Life [CD 2] (Audio CD)
I love this single and it has some really good remixes aswell
1.radio edit(4.27)is the same as the album version but shorter.This version is better though because,her voice sounds more powerful.I don't like the end bit on the album version either,it is very irritating,the rap is cool though(10/10)
2.oakenfold downtempo remix(5.30)is better than the original version because it's more beaty and it's cool(10/10)
3.Felix da housecat's devin dazzle club mix(6.10)is my personal favourite remix as she sings in a more upbeat flow.A good remix too play on halloween.The rap-sounds a bit bland though(10/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars American Life - American Legend, 15 April 2003
This review is from: American Life [CD 2] (Audio CD)
There was a time when all that people were interested in was Madonna’s image, private life and provocative actions. The one major part of the jigsaw that they missed out was her music. 2003 will see Madonna celebrate her 20th anniversary in the music business and what better way to celebrate than releasing a new album.
The first single from the same entitled forthcoming album, American Life, has been released under the usual controversial circumstances that have now come to be expected from the queen of modern music. The video was scrapped for political reasons and her new brown hair had caused a stir even before the single was heard. So does the single live up to the hype…in my opinion it does…and more!
American life has one of the most unthinkable yet strangely addictive combinations of music ever to be poured into a single. Deep bass lines intertwine with soothing acoustic guitars while a continuous electronic loop brings the whole song together. Lyrically Madonna is at her very best talking about herself, her goals past and present and the make believe world that we all strive for.
The remixes contained on this version of the single are also surprisingly good. Most of the time I find that the remixed versions lose the heart and soul of the song behind dance beats and over long productions. This time however I was more than happy with the Oakenfold Downtempo Remix which has a faster yet not overpowering beat while staying faithful to the original recording.
My personal favourite has to be the Felix Da Housecat’s Devin Dazzle Club Mix. Although many of the lyrics have been placed in a different order the whole feel of the track is reminiscent of the old electronic synthesiser days of the 1980’s. Very human league meets Kylie Minogue’s Fever album.
This single is a sure fire number one hit on the top 40 and also in the dance clubs where Madonna started her career 20 years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Life Oakenfold Downtempo Remix, 25 April 2003
This review is from: American Life [CD 2] (Audio CD)
The Oakenfold Downtempo Remix of Madonna's American Life is just AWESOME!!!! If you like 'beaty' music you'll like it. It almost has the effect of Eminem's 'head nodding' tune!
If only they would play this in clubs across the country.
Personally I think it's the best remix of them all, but then they're all GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My review, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Life [CD 2] (Audio CD)
I brought this 4 the pic inside 2 get a new tattoo on my back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb13af3f0)

This product

American Life  [CD 2]
American Life [CD 2] by Madonna (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews