Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lytle Wonder
Incredible. There are so few superlatives available to describe the beauty of Jason Lyttle's voice that it would appear almost futile to try and review this album. Granted, you cannot possibly begin to compare Sumday with The Sophtware Slump or western freeway, or for that matter the college bandesque (but still quality) broken down comforters collection, Ultimately,...
Published on 29 July 2003 by the_the_uk

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A dissapointing album from such an amazing band
At first listen this sounds like any other Grandaddy album, its got thoselingering basslines, wooshy sounds and gorgeous vocals, with catchy riffs.Which is lovely, really isn't it? However the more you delve into thealbum.. the less you find. The problem with Sumday is it just doesn't havehalf the depth or variety of Grandaddy's previous works, the tracks startto meld...
Published on 26 April 2004 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lytle Wonder, 29 July 2003
This review is from: Sumday (Audio CD)
Incredible. There are so few superlatives available to describe the beauty of Jason Lyttle's voice that it would appear almost futile to try and review this album. Granted, you cannot possibly begin to compare Sumday with The Sophtware Slump or western freeway, or for that matter the college bandesque (but still quality) broken down comforters collection, Ultimately, Sumday represents a kind of natural progession of age for Jason and the beardy ones that typifies everything they do beautifully. Namely, delightful and occasionaly outrageously catchy tunes presided over by one of the most gorgeous and haunting voices you are ever likely to hear. how wonderful it is to hear Monsieur Lyttle singing about genuinely heartfelt issues, a la The Warming Sun and Yeah is what we had. I'm not sure if anything will ever beat the astonishing "miner at the dial a view" for me, but i cannot express just how close virtually every song on this incredible album comes.
Truly, truly beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grandaddy album lives up to previous album's quality, 30 Jun. 2003
By 
William Clark (Glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sumday (Audio CD)
Two and a bit years after the excellent 'Sophtware slump' album, Grandaddy return with more of the same, lovely melodic songs-encased in various styles, all pleasing to the ear, perhaps a slightly more organised set of songs than affectionados of this young american band are accustomed to. The album kicks off with 'now its on' a medium paced pop rock tune that soon sucks you in with a good time melodic vibe and impresses with some carefully picked distorted lead guitar,next 'I'm on standby' a good pop rock tune with a humerous slant reminiscent of 'hewlitt's daughter' from the Slump album. Later on 'Lost on yer merry way' and 'Yeah is what we had' impress in what overall,is a very assured album,if you liked 'The sophtware slump'you will love this,although perhaps 'Sumday' has a more upbeat cheerier altogether feel about it I'm sure 'Sumday'once it settles into the world's conciousness will emerge as one of the years good time albums--buy it--you cant go wrong here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sumday, somehow, some lovely songs, but maybe not enough, 23 July 2003
By 
ghandibob (Swansea) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sumday (Audio CD)
"El Caminos In The West / All collapsed and futureless / I'll paint the words a simple wish / For peace of mind and happiness"
My highlight of the album. Just that. It's a lovely song, El Caminos In The West. A beautiful, upbeat melody drives it forward through that chorus. Like a summer drive in a top-down - everywhere you look you see joy. Try not smiling when you hear it. You can't. It's inevitable.
The first single, Now It's On, is too an enchanting, summery treat, with a raking fuzz of guitar cutting through the up-tempo vocals at just the right time. It buzzes around in your head; gets better every time. If a wasp in a jar could become charming, more fabulous every time it banged against the inside of the glass, that's what this song would be like.
But, unfortunately, I am not in love with the whole album. And I have always been a huge fan of Grandaddy, watched them this year at Glastonbury where they gave one the best performances of anyone I saw that weekend, so I hate not to give Sumday five stars.
I think the problem lies in the similarity. That distant, almost wistful voice works so well on songs like the old favourite from their first album, A.M. 180, because the blitzkrieg thrust of the dominating melody provided perfect foil. El Camino on this album works in a similar way. But many of the rest of the songs here seem a little lazy by comparison. And it merges, at least it seems to, into a small mass of similarity. Thematic structure to an album is good, but songs should not sound so much the same.
Any yet, a reservation about my reservations. I was not so keen on Now It's On at first. It also took me a few listens to pick up on El Camino. It would not surprise me at all to find that, another half dozen listens down the line, I have found four or five more songs to fall in love with.
I hope so. There is already enough on this album to make it worth the price tag. There should be more. Grandaddy are a fine, alternative, interesting band, and their music should always live up to that. My fingers are crossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hillbilly rock wows me once again, 9 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Sumday (Audio CD)
I was highly impressed by both under the western freeway and the sophtware slump and grandaddy have a very cool electro-rock style as well as really melancholy downbeat tunes.
Sumday continues the style of their previous albums but, dare I say, is a little more optomistic in its outlook. The first single (the video is included on the CD) is a pretty ditty called "now it's on" and is very uplifting. Another track, "saddest vacant lot in all the world" is more melancholy and emotive.
Grandaddy are a great bunch of beardy musicians with a great sound and the album has been playing where i work all week! With poetic lyrics, gorgeous melodies and enough cool computerised sound effects to keep you interested for ages, this is a must buy for any fans of their previous albums and being perhaps more accessible than "under the western freeway" is a good introduction to the band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandaddy have done it again..., 11 July 2003
This review is from: Sumday (Audio CD)
I love this album. Grandaddy stick very much to the hauntingly melodic sound and style of "The Sophtware Slump", but the whole thing is a little... happier. The single, "Now it's on" is about the most upbeat of the album, but subsequent songs like "I'm on standby" and "El Caminos in the west" retain that optimistic feeling. Like other Grandaddy albums, the whole thing seems to mesh very well - it's a complete unit of an album, not just a clutter of singles and filler songs. All in all, Sumday is a great album that sticks to Grandaddy's trademark sound while still managing to sound fresh and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A dissapointing album from such an amazing band, 26 April 2004
This review is from: Sumday (Audio CD)
At first listen this sounds like any other Grandaddy album, its got thoselingering basslines, wooshy sounds and gorgeous vocals, with catchy riffs.Which is lovely, really isn't it? However the more you delve into thealbum.. the less you find. The problem with Sumday is it just doesn't havehalf the depth or variety of Grandaddy's previous works, the tracks startto meld into each other and you start to wonder if you've heard latertracks earlier on in the album. Luckily there are still some stand outs;"Now its on" and "Stray dog and the chocolate shake" being veryimpressive.
So, it's an average album, but if you want outstanding stuff,and haven'theard much Grandaddyness before, look at Under the Western Freeway or TheSophtware Slump, two amazing records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sumthing Special, 13 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Sumday (Audio CD)
After hearing Grandaddy say that ELO were one of their main influences (and being a lifelong ELO fan) I finally got round to checking out their material just this year. I bought 'The Sophtware Slump' and on the very first listen I was not disappointed. The ELO influences could be heard in abundance but I also came to realise that Grandaddy were very talented musicians in their own right and, moreover, that 'The Sophtware Slump' was a work of inspired originality. It has a 'concept album' feel to it (somewhat reminiscent of ELO's 'Time') but there are also Indie influences in the guitar arrangements and a slightly 'unpolished' feel to the album as a whole. I became completely hooked on 'The Sophtware Slump' and played it on repeat for weeks because I simply couldn't find another CD that was good enough to follow it.
Fortunately, I discovered that the new Grandaddy CD 'Sumday' was only a few weeks away from release. On first listen you immediately notice that this is not simply another 'Sophtware Slump'. For a start the overall production is much smoother and the song arrangements are more structured. The opening track (and the first single) 'Now It's On' sets out the trend for the whole album - the Grandaddy trademark style is stamped all over the track but there's a much more mainstream, upbeat feel to it. The conceptual approach of 'The Sophtware Slump' may be absent but there's still plenty of originality and the lyrics are as quirky and punchy as before. The lo-fi keyboard effects are still evident but there are also some quite superb piano arrangements most noticeably on 'Saddest Vacant Lot In All The World' and the standout track 'The Warming Sun' - an exquisite composition with more than a nodding reference to ELO. It's not easy to pick out individual tracks though since the high quality is maintained from start to finish and, as with the 'Sophtware Slump', the repeat button is going to stay on for some time. I would also recommend that Grandaddy fans check out the classic ELO albums 'A New World Record', 'Out Of The Blue' and 'Time' to see how it all began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok with their decay, 11 Jun. 2003
This review is from: Sumday (Audio CD)
The Sophtware Slump may or may not be their finest moment, but this is a worthy successor to that most excellent album, and in some ways improves on it. If Sohptware Slump had a problem, it was that it spread itself too thinly, and thus lost some in continuity and depth. Here, the Modesto gang concentrate their Pavement-esque talents into an album that is warm and, well, gorgeous. Lytle's wonderful voice melts your heart on the chorus of "Now It's On", and makes you want to throw yourself off a cliff as he softly sings "In a dream/You were waiting at the door for me" in "The Warming Sun", undoubtedly the best track on here.
Things slump a bit in the middle; tracks such as "Yeah Is What We Had" and "The Saddest Vacant Lot In The World" sound suspiciously auto-pilot, but they rally magnificently for the last four tracks, all of which are painful yet glorious in true Grandaddy tradition.
It's cohesive; it has heart; it has great lyrics. Some will say this is a step back from The 'Slump, but, hey, I'm certainly ok with their decay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous and beautiful, 2 July 2003
This review is from: Sumday (Audio CD)
It's saturday morning. You wake up at 8:00 A.M. You're warm and cosy. Slowly you realise you don't have to get up because it is the weekend and you can spend all morning in bed dozing and dreaming. That's what this album feels and sounds like.
Majestic summer night barbecue with beer and your mates around music.
Saw Grandaddy last night live in Manchester and they were amazing. I thoroughly recommend this album along with all their others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best American Band these days, 31 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sumday (Audio CD)
These guys just have it all. The melodic sense of the Beatles, the coolness of the Grateful Dead, the cleverness of the Talking Heads (check the lyrics!). As Roberto Benigni says in Down by Law (top Jim Jarmush movie!), "the world is sad and beautiful" and that is what Grandaddy is all about.
This albums makes just everything else sound so tame... The best stuff I have heard since the Pixies gave up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sumday
Sumday by Grandaddy (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews