Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best game of its ilk.
Puerto Rico is an excellent game. It is one of those games in which luck has been reduced to the minimum and skill is all important. Luckily the game is so much fun and so interesting that you will play the game again and again and during the course of these games you will refine your skill. It is interesting becasue as you gain more experience at the game and your...
Published on 25 Sep 2007 by Mr. I. D. Gatheral

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing Piece!
This really is one of the best board games in the world Ever. It is really a lot of fun but I am sorry to say that one wooden piece was missing - a coffee barrel. I had to replace it with something else. So when you buy this game keep in mind that maybe not all of it will be packed even though you buy it brand new!
Published on 12 July 2012 by Nicks


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best game of its ilk., 25 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. I. D. Gatheral (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Puerto Rico (Toy)
Puerto Rico is an excellent game. It is one of those games in which luck has been reduced to the minimum and skill is all important. Luckily the game is so much fun and so interesting that you will play the game again and again and during the course of these games you will refine your skill. It is interesting becasue as you gain more experience at the game and your skill level increases, new strategies occur to you and so the game kind of constantly evolves within your playgroup.

You can play with 3 to 5 players. I have played ten 3-player games and five 4-player games, no 5-player games yet. I have found the 3 and 4 player games have slightly different dynamics, which again makes the game have very good replayabiliy.

If you like games such as civilization, settlers of catan, carcasonne and ticket to ride then I am fairly sure you will love this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, 11 Mar 2008
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Puerto Rico (Toy)
If I could award this game 4.5 stars, I would. It is a staggeringly well designed, thoroughly thought out and superbly executed game. That said, it's not one that I take off the shelf all that often.

There is very little luck in Puerto Rico and because of that there are cetrainly 'best' plays to make in any given situation. The more you play the better you get at discerning the best option to take, and that's where the problem lies for me. I would hesitate to label this a family game and I certainly wouldn't like to play with anyone under 12 years old as seating order and skewed player ability can have a huge effect on the outcome. Playing this game with those that have a played a lot before can be a dispiriting experience and it would appeal to those who want to strive to play it as best as they can. I know some who level the criticism that it is 'recreational accountancy' and whilst I can see why it would be considered dry, that is still a bit harsh.

To give it five stars would be to suggest this is a perfect game and it isn't. Although with four or five well matched players around the board, it certainly gets very close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great family game, 5 April 2009
By 
Tealady2000 (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Puerto Rico (Toy)
We love board games in our family and we like civilisation-building games such as Settlers of Catan where you collect resources to expand your empire. Catan has a weakness though which is that you can only collect resources if the right numbers come up on the dice - in other words luck is the main factor that determines the outcome. Puerto Rico is in the same genre but it is cleverly designed so that no dice are involved.

In a nutshell the aim is to earn victory points by establishing plantations and attracting a workforce, thereby allowing you to produce lots of goods (eg corn, coffee, sugar) which you then sell or trade. Each turn consists of every player choosing a job (Mayor, Settler, Trader etc) which allows players to start plantations, attract workers, trade goods and so on. Everyone is involved in every turn so there is no sitting around doing nothing while you wait for your number to come up on the dice. There are numerous strategies you can use to accumulate victory points - build the most buildings, have the most plantations, load the most goods onto ships etc.

Lots of thing happen in a single turn and this makes the rules quite complex. In fact the first time we played we probably spent an hour just working out how to get started. But once you know the rules, it's really quite quick to play (about 45 minutes). It's a really ingenious game and great fun - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puerto Rico - the best strategy board game?, 16 Jun 2007
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Puerto Rico (Toy)
Puerto Rico is a family boardgame of a similar ilk to the Catan series. Players build and trade in order to gain victory points to win the game. We are all in agreement that this is the best boardgame we've played so far. There is little in the way of chance in the game (no die-rolling) but the game remains unpredictable and challenging with many different ways to victory.

Absolutely brill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb mechanics beneath a dry theme, 13 July 2012
By 
Toby Frith (Tunbridge Wells) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Puerto Rico (Toy)
Puerto Rico is a gamer's game. Easy to learn, very difficult to master. The theme itself is extremely dry and isn't particularly immersive; you're shipping goods from a 17th century Caribbean Island back home for VPs. Not one that many people, especially non-gamers will probably jump in delight at.

However don't dismiss it because lurking beneath the average-looking artwork and dry-as-the-desert theme is a game with very slick, efficient mechanics. It is a masterwork of how games should be, with rules that can be learnt in 5 minutes and an average playing length of around an hour or so.

Each player is provided with an island containing spaces for plantations and buildings. The plantations produce five types of crops, which rise in order of their ease to produce and conversely their retail value. So, whilst corn is easy to make, it sells for nothing. Coffee however is difficult to make, but will net you a tidy profit when you sell it.

Players can choose from a number of buildings, some of which turn crops into goods, or others that help you make a better profit on selling goods, store them, or later on in the game, give you extra victory points. Last but not least, the essential part are your colonists, which help turn the crops into produce and then man the buildings to turn them into goods.

The game action itself is beautifully simple. A Governor is appointed randomly, and as the first player each turn, they get to choose from six different actions. As the first person, they also gain a small advantage over the other players - for example, the builder provides them with a discount when purchasing builders, or they get one extra colonist when taking the mayor action. All the other players then get that action as well and then the next player takes an action and so on. At the end of the turn, all actions that are unused then have one unit of currency placed on them.

This all sounds rather dry and a bit non-confrontational, but the dark art of this game is in knowing when to select a particular action. The meat is in the phases of production, selling and shipping, which net goods, currency and VP's respectively. It's here that you can block other players off because both the trading house and cargo vessels are limited in capacity - you can't just sell and ship willy-nilly. For example, if you produce too many types of goods but don't have a warehouse or a ship of your own (which can be built) then you run the risk of losing goods permanently. In Puerto Rico this sort of mistake can lose you the game.

Although Puerto Rico looks a bit cheap and functional, it's a game that brings reward with each play. There are all manner of strategies to use, but it's important to note that this is a game where a beginner will find it hard to beat experienced players. For gamers that's a good thing; there's nothing worse than a newbie beating you through the roll of a dice. I would argue that due to its theme and style, this isn't really a "family" game in the Catan sense of the word due to the relative lack of player interaction, but for a group looking for something mentally demanding, Puerto Rico deserves its place in the pantheon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agricola lite, 11 Jun 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puerto Rico (Toy)
Not much to add to the existing 'most useful' reviews, which I broadly agree with. I've played many good board games - Settlers of Catan, Carcassonne, Ticket to Ride (numerous versions), Thurn & Taxis etc. I think I'd give Puerto Rico the no. 2 spot, but the no. 1 spot goes by a clear margin to Agricola, which is similar in some ways but a richer and more satisfying experience to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best board game so far!, 6 Sep 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Puerto Rico (Toy)
I have been playing a few wonderful board games such as Settlers of Catan (including the optional Expansions), Carcassonne, Ticket to Ride (both German and Europe edition), Power Grid (and including the expansions), Alhambra and others. I have decided to learn another new board game. Having read some trusted reviewers on the web and I have to agree, this game is very good and it is my favourite so far. The mechanic of how it was played gives so much fun factor. If you like good strategy games and many sleepless nights of meditation on "how on earth did I lost/win that game?" this could be the best game for you. You would probably start looking for more advance players after you have experienced Puerto Rico game. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rather fun board game, 26 Dec 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Puerto Rico (Toy)
Bought this game recently on a recommendation from a friend, having played it once years before.

It was just as good as I remember. It's one of those games where the rules initially seem very complicated. But, as soon as you get through the first couple of rounds the rules become straightforward and everything clicks in your head. Don't let that fool you though - just because the rules are simple doesn't mean the game is. There are several different strategies one can adopt in order to outfox one's opponents and the game has great replayability value for precisely this reason. Everyone plays the game differently and because of that you have to play the game difficulty

It's not perfect though - there are a few criticisms. Firstly, this is a game of gathering and manipulating scarce resources and so there are few ways to directly interact with other players, other than taking the resources they wanted. Secondly, it's not a classical family boardgame - some new players may be intimidated by the initial rules. You have to play a round or two in order to understand them fully. Thirdly, there are some small caveats to the rules so for the first few plays it's important to keep the rulebook handy - for example, one can only build one type of each building. These quirks are necessary for game balance.

Overall, it's a very good game with excellent replayability but it does need a little patience in the first few rounds. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant and for 2 players too, 17 Sep 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Puerto Rico (Toy)
love this game - and there is an official 2 person version also which is the only version ive played and it works just fine.
its not the grandest looking game say in comparrison to caylus or agricola or le havre but it plays just as good. highly recomended and has been number one on game geek for ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to playing more Puerto Rico, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Puerto Rico (Toy)
We have only played the game a couple of times but it appears to be another great board game with lots of opportunity for strategy but keeps everyone involved. The play involves each player whether it is your turn or someone else's. There is no waiting around for someone to complete multiple moves. We enjoyed what we have seen so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico by Rio Grande Games
31.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews