Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 3 Feb 2009
By 
M. Morris "melmorris72" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals (Toy)
This makes the original carcassonne so much more enjoyable and also strategic. I usually only play with my partner and this addition makes the game much better when only two are playing and now we never play without. I would advise that people get used to the scoring for the original before adding this expansion as spotting everything that increases your score is tricky if you are not used to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is different!, 7 Jun 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals (Toy)
We own the basic game of Carcassonne, The River 1 and 11 and now the Inns and Cathedrals expansion. We have played a few times with this expansion and are just getting used to it as it really does change the game in that any uncompleted roads which have inns on them, score you nothing at the end of the game and also any uncompleted cities with the cathedral tiles in score you nothing at the end of the game. However, if you do complete these roads and cities you get double points for the roads and triple points for the cities. I would personally recommend you play the basic Carcassonne game until you are used to it, especially the scoring. Then start playing with the River expansion, the River 11 and then next this expansion. We would definitley recommned this expansion for those who want the basic Carcassone game to be more challenging. We find the game takes longer with the expansion not only because of the extra tiles of course but because there are more things to consider before laying a tile so demands more thinking time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatly improves the Carcassonne experience, 11 Mar 2008
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals (Toy)
Inns and Cathedrals really is a superb addition to the basic Carcassonne set. It adds a lot more options for playing the game without overly complicating the rules or adding radically different elements to the game. Certainly an expansion for family play, it is a less ruthless than some of the later releases.

You have a large meeple who counts double; inn and cathedral tiles that score more points for completed roads and cities respectively, but only if they are finished before the game ends. There is also an extra set of meeples for a sixth player and tokens to denote 50 and 100 points scored.

Small additions that really add to the enjoyment of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps the enthusiasm going, 7 April 2010
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals (Toy)
When eventually you tire of the original, this will get the fires of enthusiasm burning again.

These new tiles have pictures of little inns with ponds by roads on some of the tiles, and cathedrals that are city pieces with no walls on two others. There's also a few new variations of city and road tiles that address the need for certain tiles that didn't exist until now (like a road going into a diagonal city piece, for example).

The effect of this expansion kit is to make it more of a commitment to finish some of the roads and cities as the rewards for doing so are increased, but if they aren't completed you get nothing (if an inn is part of a completed road you get two points per square but none if it isn't finished, and a cathedral in a completed city makes it worth 3 points per square, but nothing if unfinished)

There's also another set of men in case there weren't enough for you in the original set, and each player now gets a slightly larger piece that counts as two men, which adds another nuance to the tactical play.

The first expansion I bought was Carcassonne: River 2 [Toy], which addressed the slight imbalance in favour of farms. This is a great way to increase the tactical play without changing the principles that make the game so compelling.

Really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What we know... but better, 14 Jun 2010
By 
M. Poxon (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals (Toy)
This expansion for Carcassonne, the first of the 'big' or 'main' expansions, does very little that we have never seen before. The addition of a 6th player meeple set allows more fun all-round, nothing revolutionary, while the over-sized meeple (count as 2) for each player helps to keep control of key features.

That said, the expansion does help to redress the balance in the game by subtly increasing the power of cities and roads, helping to ensure that farmers =/= automatic win. That said, the increase in power leads to an increase in risk, with both inns and cathedrals giving NO points should you not finish a feature. Other new tiles help finish those awkward features, particularly cities.

All in all, a good expansion, and a recommendation for anyone who has carcassonne!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carcassonne, 4 Feb 2009
By 
D. F. Louis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals (Toy)
This game is a really enjoyable experience. Even small children of 6 and 7 seem to get the hang of it quicker than adults. All my grandchildren are fanatics now and we play the game whenever we get together.
The concept is intrigueing and the game gets more challenging with the ad-ons like the Inns and Cathederals. I think this game is the best I have ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful expansion., 17 Nov 2008
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals (Toy)
The addition of inns does serve to correct the bias in the game back towards using roads to score. The points tiles are really useful as there is a limit to the permutations you use to move your man up the score track (right way up, on his side, upside down...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carcassonne Expansion Inns and Cathedrals, 17 May 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals (Toy)
Once you have played Carcassonne and are used to the way it works then buying expansion packs is a real must. Inns and Cathedrals adds some new tiles to the existing game and tiles that add new rules to roads and cathedrals (and the interesting twist is that they only apply on completions). You get a new team of follower pieces and an additional Large Follower for all teams; used as normal but counts as two followers.
I'd thoroughly recommend getting this expansion. Then move on and get Traders and Builders Expansion which adds yet more interesting additions and twists of the rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential upgrade, 31 Dec 2007
By 
A. Riley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals (Toy)
It seems that this expansion set is the result of customer feedback. It adds in features which improve the base set such as an extra piece per player (very useful if only 2 or 3 are playing), pieces for a 6th player; and tiles which increase your score only if the road/city is complete, as well as some interesting new tiles. You will find that you never play the game without this expansion set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hooked!, 21 Jan 2007
By 
Sonia (Delft, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals (Toy)
After playing Carcassonne once I was instantly hooked. Briefly, the game consists of the following. Players pull a tile from the deck and place it against an already present tile. If you create a new object (a city, a road, a monastery, or a farm), you can claim ownership to it. Your score depends on the items you own, whether or not they have been completed and how developed they are.

To win the game you need good strategy and luck. The rules are easy to learn, and the game can be finished within the hour so you can play it more than once in one evening.

To play the game you will need Carcassonne, the original game. There are many expansions available that can only be played with the original game. There are also variants to the original game that cannot be played with the expansions. So read the description carefully before you purchase any additional items.

When purchasing the original Carcassonne I strongly recommend that you also buy at the least the first Expansion: Inns and Cathedrals, which makes the game more challenging and with higher risks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carcassonne Expansion 1: Inns & Cathedrals
Used & New from: £27.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews