Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Ending From A Great Doctor
"The caves of Androzani" and "Eathshock" are easily Peter Davison's best stories in my opinion and what a great way to finish off the Peter Davison years with this gripping classic. I thought the story was great, the acting performances are entertaining and there were some fantastic cliffhangers, especially the ending in the first episode. Also four episodes was just...
Published 16 months ago by Mrs. Marilyn A. Rice

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong DVD?
When my package arrived I was expecting 'the Caves of Androzani' but when I opened it to my surprise it was 'The Talons of Weng Ciang' although it is a good episode I exited to watch 'The Caves of Androzani' i was very angry!
Published 19 days ago by Andrew Who


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Ending From A Great Doctor, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. Marilyn A. Rice "RR" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"The caves of Androzani" and "Eathshock" are easily Peter Davison's best stories in my opinion and what a great way to finish off the Peter Davison years with this gripping classic. I thought the story was great, the acting performances are entertaining and there were some fantastic cliffhangers, especially the ending in the first episode. Also four episodes was just right for this story, because some "Doctor who" stories do feel like they drag on a bit, but everything was spot in this story. Christopher Gable who plays the masked anti hero Sharaz Jek does a unforgettable performance which we actually do have sympathy for him and Maurice Roeves also makes an entertaining villain. Also the ending is fantastic to watch, which in my opinion it's probably one of the greatest doctor who moments and sadly this was the last great story in the classic "Doctor who" series. This was also Peter Davison's favourite story and this was voted as the second greatest "Doctor who" story in Outpost Gallifrey's poll in 2003, which the Tom Baker story "The talons of weng chiang" was number one. Overall "The caves of androzani" is well worth watching and don't let the bad effects, such as the reptillian monster put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spectrox of regeneration looms large, 2 Jun 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who - Caves of Androzani [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This fan favourite from 1984 marks the final appearance of the Fifth Doctor as played by a boyishly enthusiastic Peter Davison. The Doctor and his forever whining lycra-clad companion Peri, decide to visit the planet Androzani Minor, and naturally become caught up in an interplanetary conflict; this time involving a valuable commodity known as Spectrox. Hideously disfigured rebel Sharaz Jek and his android replicants have taken over the Spectrox mines, but the military, under orders from ruthless politician Morgus, are locked in a grim battle with Jek in order to quash the uprising.
The Doctor's sixth sense alerts him to the danger, but of course he still blithely drags his young companion into an adventure that will prove fatal for at least one of them...

Like many long-time fans of Doctor Who I think that this story is excellent; fast-paced, well acted, exciting, and containing moments of real pathos; Professional dancer Christopher Gable is superb as the rebel leader Sharaz Jek, who in the style of the reclusive Phantom of the Opera, skulks in his underground lair growing more and more insane every hour; while his androids attempt to infiltrate the enemy camp and destroy it from within. Of course, after 25 years these episodes still look dated; however like the show's best serials, it transcends the budgetary limitations and costume deficiencies with a strong cast (as well as Gable we have John Normington as Morgus, Robert Glenister - brother of Philip - as Salateen, and Maurice Roeves as mercenary Stoltz); great direction from Graeme Harper, and an intense and claustrophobic atmosphere.

This serial is now available on DVD, and with a better picture and host of extras, I recommend you go for that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm dying Peri......, 1 Oct 2014
By 
The final Peter Davison story and one of the best Doctor Who stories ever made.

A superb Robert Holmes script directed masterfully by Graeme Harper who did such a good job they brought him back for the New Series.

Virtually faultless in every respect it wouldn't have been out of place in the Philip Hinchcliffe classic era of the program.

Very Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Dr who, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More than likely buy again in the very near future if I see some more great tv series that I like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story,1 of the best.Perfect for Dr Who fans if you've never seen it. I love the old Dr Whos-will recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong DVD?, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When my package arrived I was expecting 'the Caves of Androzani' but when I opened it to my surprise it was 'The Talons of Weng Ciang' although it is a good episode I exited to watch 'The Caves of Androzani' i was very angry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctors Departure, 31 Oct 2013
By 
A. R. W. Jarvis "none" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was Peter Davisons last story and his tenure ends on a high note with all of his last few stories more grown up in feel-shame he left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story that killed Dr. Who, 27 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who - Caves of Androzani [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The Caves of Androzani was the story that killed Dr Who. I don't mean the character - I mean the TV series. What the production team achieved on this story - especially given what had preceded it that season - was extraordinary. Here was a production that was accomplished and polished, that was witty and dark, that was played with conviction. The design was good, hte lighting (for a change) was moody and fitting. Its being a regeneration story served only to draw attention to its strengths. It isn't difficult to see that the production team spent Davison's last season, especially this story, on trying to build on the show's success in the 60s and 70s.
It was obvious that after the demise of Tom Baker's Doctor the show was becoming perceived as rather old, and a bit tired, and the show wouldn't last much longer, and if there is one story that depicted the show's demise, it's this story. The end of an era; the end of a programme. After this (no offence to Colin Baker and Sylvester McCoy) the show went on a downfall, with only 4million people tuning in. It's fitting that we should see Caves of Androzani as a great way to end a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Caves of Androzani [VHS]
Doctor Who - Caves of Androzani [VHS] by Graeme Harper (VHS Tape - 1995)
£5.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews