Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I <3 The Krotons!
Over the years "The Krotons" has come under fire from scornful fans, complaining that Troughton classics like "Fury From the Deep" were wiped while this story still exists. That's unfair for several reasons. Firstly, when a story no longer exists it can gain an element of myth. Secondly, this story is actually a lot of fun. Whereas "The Dominators" is a truly dull drag...
Published on 10 May 2012 by P. Sanders

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars classic doctor,average story.
patrick troughtons doctor is many peoples favorite doctor,with many classic stories under his belt.he also benefited from very good companions.the krotons is a solid filler story with an excellent picture given its age.in places you can see budget restraints,in others it is quite inventive.all in all worth a look.
Published 20 months ago by Pn Earle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned Doctor Who, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the later Pat Troughton stories nearing the end of his time on the show, but he still manages to carry off a fantastic story full of humour and suspense. What a shame the BBC scraped so much of Pat's tenure as the Doctor, and although this is not considered a classic from the orginal series, it is still worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars doctor who the krotons, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was classic Patrick Troughton. What I liked about this story was it was tongue in cheek that sometimes being too clever is not a good thing, you can end up being sacrificed to monsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable. Whimsical, swan-like, yet charged with such intelligence, 2 July 2012
With valuable insights from the key players within the DOCTOR WHO production team and cast, SECOND TIME AROUND -THE TROUGHTON YEARS is a superbly written "essay" that charts the critical phrases that witnessed a monumental change - literally - that heralded a new beginning.

But it could, according to internal BBC sources, have been a very different end that could have seen DOCTOR WHO terminated. "A critical make or break period..."

Distilling archive material from series producers and directors and mixing `live-action' interviews (from Anneke Wills, Christopher Barry, Frazer Hines, the still delectable Wendy Padbury) this documentary presents the definitive story of Patrick Troughton's three-year stewardship of the TARDIS.

In describing the change - based upon Louis Stevenson's "Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde" - from Hartnell to Troughton, Anneke (Polly) Wills twinkled that "something magical was about to happen" though it was thankful that the series producer's idea that the `new' Doctor would be "...a pirate of the skies..." was hurriedly vetoed (Troughton: "I looked like Harpo Marx") and a "hobo" crafted with the character having an edgier & darker personality that, at times, would seem disjointed and disadvantaged at times of peril.

Like a GOOGLE MAPS `location pin', SECOND TIME AROUND -THE TROUGHTON YEARS highlights key moments throughout the three seasons that define it, whether it was enforced changes to its supporting cast (Michael Craze's seemingly ousting, and inevitable departure of Anneke Wills), potential companion material that `got away' (Pauline Collins from THE FACELESS ONES), poorly conceived aliens (the Macra were "...a little hokey" according to Wills) and how Troughton's first season (season four) suffered from indistinct storylines resulting in "...viewing figures weren't very good, and (it) could have been cancelled..." according to series producer, Derrick Sherwin.

One contribution provides an unrestricted, linear critique that viewers will either find difficult to stomach due to its honesty or refreshing for the same reason. With a neck as robust as that of a Sontaran warrior, the legendary writer and series script editor, Terrance Dicks, discusses the working relationship of series producers and the series' lead actor (Peter Bryant and Troughton didn't get one), and how the series writing had become staid and uninspired.

However, NEW SERIES one-time-only writer, Robert Shearman (DALEK, 2005) alludes that Troughton's final season of adventures were "...bolder..." and had "...a different way of telling stories..." and that Troughton himself was "...phenomenally good, electrifying to watch, scary when he wanted to be..." whilst Frazer Hines mourns the rejected story, PRISON IN SPACE wherein the Doctor & Jamie would have encountered big bosomed prison guards hunting them down; "I wish we had done that show".

Overall, SECOND TIME AROUND -THE TROUGHTON YEARS is well balanced, equally informative (though, thankfully, not too `geeky') and entertaining ensuring that viewers will neither be factually bored or subjected to inane banalities from "talking heads". More of that later.

In DOCTOR WHO STORIES - FRAZER HINES (part one) the titular actor recounts (in an interview filmed in 2003) fresh-as-a-new-daisy memories of his time as Jamie McCrimmon, the fan-popular 1746 Highland Piper.

It is all too obvious that Hines is very fond of both the series and its lead actor ("...not the most attractive man but the ladies loved him... a dry sense of humour...and eccentric"), and with his description of the TARDIS dematerialisation sound being "...two warthogs being chatted-up with a hippo getting in on the act..." it is not difficult to be appreciate his contribution.

In discussing DOCTOR WHO - THE KROTONS, he agrees with the majority of fans that the aliens were "...the worst monsters ever..." and but the story was well-written and superbly directed as "...black & white is more scary than colour. More shadows..."

Sadly, like an over-packaged, over-priced Easter Egg confection that is more impressive on the outside than its disappointing content, THE DOCTOR'S STRANGE LOVE: THE KROTONS is, quite frankly, dire. As unkempt as Boris Johnson's (the current London Mayor), this unworthy fan-discussion cannot be considered as `value-added-material' for it's dull, banal in content, lacks any structure and conversational direction. At least there's Sarah Jane Smith's attic to scan with tear-filled eyes, and, as redeeming feature, there's a stuffed owl perched on the sofa's arm.

Please, no more of THE DOCTOR'S STRANGE LOVE series.

In contrast, the PHOTO GALLERY is worth viewing as it presents - in a dust and scratch-free clarity - a series of never-before-seen images from the behind-the-scenes filming of THE KROTONS.

I wonder if APPLE's Robert Ives will be inspired by ZoŽ's `teaching machine' natty headset for the next iPod accessory?

Under the generosity of "air-time" from the ever genial, Toby Hadoke, a carousel of the story's cast and crew contribute to a engagingly informative and entertaining commentary that, along with the perennially essential on-screen information text, enhance your appreciation of this much-maligned (read: with indignation) Troughton four-parter.

In the noticeable absence of main cast members (Frazer Hines and Wendy Padbury), Hadoke, our very own `WHO-isper' cajoles and teases the most distant memories from the aging cast (Phillip Madoc [Eelek], Gilbert Wynne [Thara], Richard Ireson [Axus]) and, providing a technical insight into the production of black & white television drama, crew (Bobi Bartlett [Costumes], Slyvia James [Make-up], David Tilley [Assistant Floor Manager], and Brian Hodgson [Special Sounds]. For me, the most interesting contribution was from Hodgson as, and I had forgotten the fact, THE KROTONS did not have any incidental music within in, and it was his contribution of "special sounds" that ensures that the story remains (almost) unique and enigmatic over the intervening decades.

Commentary highlights.

On the Gonds attire, Richard Ireson: Weird costume! Did we think that it was trendy?
Philip Madoc: I did think that you were quite attractive really. If you just had a reasonable body you looked a bit better.

On the Gond haircuts, Richard Ireson: What a cool haircut, Gilbert.
Gilbert Wynne: I still have it now today.

On Patrick Troughton's characterisation of the Time Lord, Richard Ireson: For me, Patrick has to be the best Doctor (Who).
Gilbert Wynne: I agree.
Richard Ireson: ...so comfortable.
Slyvia James: I agree with you two. My favourite. Fun, professional but somehow embraced everybody.
Richard Ireson: ...child-like and totally comfortable in character. The costume didn't fit him properly. And the hair...
Slyvia James: I used to cut his hair! Rather "BEATLE"-like.
Madoc: A sense of weirdness.

On "absent friends", Gilbert Wynne: I was hoping that Madeleine (Mills) [who played Vana] was going to be with us.
Toby Hadoke: She's no longer with us. She died last year.

On Tom Baker, Phillip Madoc: I always thought that he could have come from outer space. He can expand at any moment if he's inspired.

On playing villains in DOCTOR WHO, Phillip Madoc: (THE KROTONS) set a trend.

On director, David Maloney, Phillip Madoc: Sensitive. Lovely man.
David Tilley: A sheer joy to work with.

On his next DOCTOR WHO appearance with Troughton, Phillip Madoc: (THE WAR GAMES)...a very good script.
Toby Hadoke: Is it cathartic about playing the bad guy, as you are very nice in real life?
Phillip Madoc: Yes, I am really. I keep telling people.

On seeing the Krotons "surveillance monitor" graphic, Phillip Madoc: That's what I call THE X-FACTOR.

On creating a soundtrack that was non-musical for THE KROTONS, Brian Hodgson: I think this was the first time that we used a "Crystal Palace". A great scanner that meant we could feed 6 musical notes in and that give a kind of pulsating musical thing. All very primitive unlike how you do things now.

On Wendy Padbury's ZoŽ costume, Bobi Bartlett: Breathtaking imagination. Wendy's costume is made from disposable paper. A plastic coating on a fibrous paper. A visual collage.

On the Kroton voices, Brian Hodgson: Their performance shone through, that's why it works.

Phillip Madoc recounts am enigmatic meeting he had with William Hartnell in the BBC Bar. Sterling.

On her personal costume art archive of work on DOCTOR WHO, Bobi Bartlett: I have a portfolio of costumes.

(Editor: So why aren't they featured on a DVD EXTRA?)

On the DOCTOR WHO theme music, Brian Hodgson: DOCTOR WHO did an enormous amount for the Radiophonic Workshop since QUATERMASS. It was the first mass entertainment we'd done.

On Eelek, Phillip Madoc: I don't do a death scene

On Troughton's decision to leave the series, Slyvia James: I recall at the time that he was ready to go.

On having starred with Peter Cushing on DALEK - INVASION EARTH 2050AD, Phillip Madoc: Peter Cushing; the nicest man you will ever meet.

In conclusion, DOCTOR WHO - THE KROTONS represents the professionalism of the BBC (and Associates) in drawing together a balanced product with intelligent (bar the DOCTOR'S STRANGE LOVE featurette which has its origins from the CBBC digital channel) and entertaining documentaries that illuminates a lost history of television, grey and dust-coated yet it shines across the decades as a prime example of Troughton's genius in embodying a unique alien.

For me, this humble Robert Holmes penned and David Maloney directed four-parter is held in affection for it was, like for many fans of a certain age that sat transfixed to 1981's THE FIVE FACES OF DOCTOR WHO repeat season, my first foray in the Troughton's characterisation in full. Whimsical, swan-like, muddled yet charged with such intelligence that would send Prof. Stephen Hawking's wheelchair in a spin.

DOCTOR WHO - THE KROTONS is like RONSEAL; it does everything you'd expect from a Saturday Teatime drama series whether you watched it for the first time in 1969 or in 2012.

Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor who?, 2 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great value - prompt delivery and one seller to recommend to other buyers
Bought to add to growing collection of Dr Who series and only a few more required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wendy I love you, 15 Dec 2013
By 
William J. Fox "KillerBill" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This story originally had the distinction of being one of the few complete Troughton series in existence. Fortunately, this is getting to be less and less the case. Despite the Krotons (and Jamie) wearing skirts, they are actually quite fearsome adversaries with their high-tech weapons and Roy Skelton's heavily filtered South African accent.

The plot is quite simple, the Doctor, Jamie and Zoe, arrive in another quarry where they discover a closed metallic doorway in the rocks. The door opens and a dazed young man staggers out to be dissolved in a gaseous spray. Not one to shy away from the mystery the Doctor and crew head towards a nearby city where the peaceful Gonds have lived ever since their disastrous war with the Krotons destroyed the rest of the planet. Eventually they learn that the Krotons have been harvesting the minds of the best young men and women to power their ship and are determined to stop the process.

I found the pace varies to suit the plot, there is plenty of action, and the cliff-hanger at the end of each episode encouraged me to watch the next part. I can't remember what I thought when the story was broadcast over Christmas in 1968-69 but as it features the very beautiful Zoe Herriot (Wendy Padbury), my personal favourite assistant, I imagine I enjoyed it. I enjoyed it again, especially considering the better picture quality, and sat glued to the screen as the plot unfolded over four episodes. I could find some fault with the props and sets but the only really bad one was the distant view of the Gond city. The Dalek city in the first Dalek story seems mysterious and futuristic. No wonder the Doctor wanted to see it up close. By contrast the city of the Gonds looks like something a child made on the back porch using wooden blocks, sand and chalk. I think a painted city would have been a better option. I did find it odd that the Gonds wore jump suits with zips considering they were supposed to be quite primitive, as they would need a fairly high level of industry. The Doctor and Jamie wore their usual dark suit and kilt but Zoe wore a two-piece in black pvc with a very short miniskirt and knee high boots. Very sexy. In my opinion, she is the companion who has aged best (or least) over the years and still has those amazingly beautiful eyes.

There is a good selection of extras which also make the disk very good value. Second Time Around investigates Troughton's tenure as the Doctor and is very revealing and interesting. I was surprised that there was a serious shortage of good scripts and some ideas not taken forwards to production because they were not suitable for various reasons. There are interviews with the main actors such as Wendy Padbury, Frazer Hines, Anneke Wills and Debbie Watling, and writers such as Terrance Dicks. There are also a lot of interesting clips from stories including the Cybermen, Ice Warriors and Daleks. Dr Who Stories - Frazer Hines - part one is a fairly long interview with the actor broken down into byte-sized chunks in which he reveals a lot about the series well worth hearing. It is a mixture of fact, gossip and humour although I am not sure where part two will be found. The Doctor's Strange Love is a couple of talking heads who I probably should know but don't. Joseph Lidster and Simon Guerrier take a tongue in cheek look at The Krotons. Amusing but who are they? There are the Radio Times listings if you want to look at them and a photo gallery which includes some iconic images from the story of Troughton, Padbury and Hines.

In monochrome, obviously, I could not really tell if the BBC have remastered the originals although it says they have on the case. However, it is a much better quality than my video to DVD-R copy and is now reasonably priced. I consider all the early series to be worth having although featuring Wendy Padbury makes them essential to me personally. Recommended, especially at this price point.
Bill Gond
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're worried that this is another "Dominators" - Think Again!, 9 May 2012
When it comes to Patrick Troughton Stories, one has to let go of all expectations. We all know that the budget was appalling & so we had to have some cheap & standard Whos' to get some really adventurous ones earlier on in the season. But the Krotons whilst looking relatively cheap & even dull at times, comes off as an enjoyable & worth while underdog! How? Allow me to explain!

First off, it's not a sharp script as such, even though it is Bob Holmes's 1st. But this is a perfect example of "Troughton" 60's atmosphere. It's safe to say that early Dr Who is the most authentic. The Sounds, the cast, the pace, the acting, sets, etc. are all perfected to such an extent that every Troughton story has this potent ambience that seems to seep out of your screen, into your living room! The Krotons is no exception! In fact, I would say that apart from the Cybermen stories & The Mind Robber, this has a profusion of that priceless atmosphere.

What makes a special show isn't expensive sets, Sterile CGI FX, Super-Stars, & constant action. (Epic this, Epic that!) What makes these originals so special is the many subtleties; the little details; that which you only notice upon multiple re-watches. And that is all part of its charm! There's never a person in the background out of character. There's always a distant hum or vibration that you never notice directly. There's always plenty to look at when it comes to creative solutions; whereby an everyday object has been used in an innovative way! Like the Hockey Practice balls on the cyber costumes! Dr Who has so much re-watch value, charm & subtlety! And is detrimentally absent in the impostor show of today.

If you understand this fundamental issue, you will fall in love with this story. Like so many others; it gets better each time you watch it!

"Zoe, I think we may have gone & done it"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was Troughton the definitive doctor?, 9 July 2013
By 
old codger (Lille, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Before Matt Smith there was Patrick Troughton. I can't help thinking that the current eleventh doctor learned a lot from the second, same eccentricity, zaniness, mood-swings from comic through dramatic and back again. This DVD is well worth watching if only to remind ourselves (or discover for the first time) what a fine character actor Troughton was. Growing up in the 60s he defined for me what the doctor should be like - an image which stayed with me right up until the 2005 reboot. The episodes also include some nice verbal sparring between the doctor and companion Zoe. As for the story - it's only so-so, slow, talky and when we finally see the Krotons... well let's just say they're often considered to be amongst the most ridiculous Dr Who monsters ever created! On the plus side the extras include an excellent full-length documentary about the whole second doctor period, packed with fascinating detail for Whovians

So all in all a useful buy for the fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who the Krotons, 1 Aug 2012
Fantastic release, the special features were excellent. Would highly reccomend you buy this one if you are a Troughton fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special features!, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD deserves 5 stars for its amazing special features alone! There is another interesting Doctor who story, this time featuring Frazer Hines. The feature offers many interesting views into missing episodes and Patrick Troughton-both things you normally don't get to hear so much about. The Doctor's strange love is a nice feature with some nice moments and opinions. But of course the thing that earns the 5 stars is Second Time Around-the definitive Troughton documentary covering the whole of Troughton's tenure, thoroughly enjoyable and interesting. The actual show is worth watching for some nice Troughton moments, and it is interesting to see the beginning of Robert Holmes long and successful Doctor who career. The story also is not as bad as it is often made out to be, and the Krotons are certainly not the worst designed monster Doctor who has ever had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who, 29 July 2012
By 
Mr. David Harvie "david harvie" (Glasgow uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good Patrick Troughton story,been a Dr Who fan from this Actors days onwards,it is great to see all Dr Who serial,s on dvd.

And a great service from this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Krotons [VHS] [1968]
Doctor Who: The Krotons [VHS] [1968] by David Maloney (VHS Tape - 1995)
Used & New from: £1.25
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews