Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant satire
This movie is the most underrated movie of all time. The film is a complete satire of American Entertainment Culture in the 80's-but still applies today. Do not compare this film to it's predeccessor 'The Rocky Horror Show', the two films are entirely different, though having the cast from the previous film is a nice bonus. The film has Brad and Janet living in Denton- a...
Published on 5 Aug 2003 by MR. D MCCLUSKEY

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shock Treatment
Sequel to The Rocky Horror Show. Although it lacks in story line it is just as bizarre as Rocky Horror. But despite this the songs are top dog. With catchy lyrics & few funny moments it will have you singing & dancing with them all. I would advise anyone to buy it for the soundtrack alone.
Published on 18 April 2006 by Bubbles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant satire, 5 Aug 2003
By 
MR. D MCCLUSKEY (Craigavon, Armagh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shock Treatment [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is the most underrated movie of all time. The film is a complete satire of American Entertainment Culture in the 80's-but still applies today. Do not compare this film to it's predeccessor 'The Rocky Horror Show', the two films are entirely different, though having the cast from the previous film is a nice bonus. The film has Brad and Janet living in Denton- a town revolving around tv, where audience members sleep in their seats. Brad and Janet are brought onto the show Marriage Maze, hosted by 'blind' Germand Bert Schnick (Better known as Dame Edna). Brad is taken away to a reality show 'Dentonvale' which is a psychiatric hospital. Janet's ex-friends, Betty Hapschatt (Ruby Wax) and Judge Wright try to uncover the whole conspiracy, while Janet becomes a star overnight (literally!). Janet forgets about her friends and husband, constantly being drugged by 'Dentonvale' hosts- siblings Cosmo and Nation McKinley. Betty and Judge Wright find out that the tv networks president 'Farley Flavours' (played bythe same actor as Brad- Cliff DeYoung) is Brad's twin brother, who grew up less priveliged than Brad,so he is trying to win Janet over by getting rid of Brad and making Janet very famous. The musical numbers in this film are fantastic- my favourites are 'little black dress' and 'Anyhow,Anyhow'. View this movie at least 3 times to understand it and ap[preciate it fully. It's a pity this film doesn't have a dvd release- because it has gathered a cult following. A must see movie I'd reccomend to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shock Treatment, 18 April 2006
This review is from: Shock Treatment [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Sequel to The Rocky Horror Show. Although it lacks in story line it is just as bizarre as Rocky Horror. But despite this the songs are top dog. With catchy lyrics & few funny moments it will have you singing & dancing with them all. I would advise anyone to buy it for the soundtrack alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 17 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. D. Sweeney "phantomguitarist" (Glasgow, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Can't quite believe the other reviewer was watching the same film. The songs in this one are far superior to the ones in Rocky, I would go so far as to say that this is the best of the 2. Plot is fairly straight-forward, and Brad and Janet are played by 2 far superior actor/singers.

Not actually seen the DVD version but have a VHS of this. Don't quite understand why this flopped, but it is well worth a watch, and should be more readily available on it's own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Toutch and go, 5 Mar 2006
By 
G. Ormrod "georgie" (lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shock Treatment [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Unlike the other reviews here I wouldn't go as far as saying this is either the worst film ever, or the most underrated.
Simply this is a fun, pop, 80s musical with a cautionary tale that is fairly apt with today's crazy reality tv lifestyle.
Confuzingly Brad and Janet are the same characters as in Rocky Horror played by different actors, whilst the actors from Rocky Horror play completely unrelated characters, what!?
Essentially Brad and Janet get caught up in a crazy reality-tv station that locks everyone up, including the audience who actually love it, with only afew people seeing that something strange is going on.
The music is ok, pretty catchy, but not a patch on Rocky Horror songs, however this is more pop than rock n roll. The storyline, well I still haven't made my mind up after all these years of watching it, I just think you have to be in the right kind of mood.
Worth seeing if you like cult stuff, the bizarre or contemporary musicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun movie that should not be compared to the RHPS, 10 Dec 2008
By 
A. CHIASSON "AlexC" (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A underrated musical that never could have surpassed a cult phenomenon... The music is terrific and the whole story wacky!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you like Rocky Horror Show..you'll HATE this!, 28 Mar 2007
By 
P. D. gray "ChaplinFan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
If like me you LOVE the Rocky Horror Show and have wondered why on earth the talented song writer Richard O'Brien hasnt went onto produce more superb musicals then the answer is enclosed within the DVD case of SHOCK TREATMENT. It was the follow up to our favourite camp musical and was produced by the same team a few years later in the early 80s. Despite the presence of a few cast members from the original this film is one long bore from start to finish. The plot is even more confusing then Rocky Horror (OK, so we understand it now, but Rocky took some getting used to, stroyline wise to begin with) but that could be excused if the songs were catchy and, like its predessor, stuck in our minds. Sadly not, the songs are abysmal and its hard to believe the same guy was responsible for the 2 musicals. The film apparently was a huge flop on release and maybe theres been some attempts to keep it under wraps in case the stink of it reflects even the slightest bit badly on The Rocky Horror Show, there must be some reason why its been so hard to get ahold of in the past, very rarely shown on tv, never available seperately on DVD until now and so the only way to see it is to buy it alongside the Rocky Horror Show, as if its some embarrassing extra.

Anything GOOD to say about it? well, as I said theres a few of the Rocky Horror cast in it and although their characters in this one are rubbish its still nice to see them, especially "Little" Nell Campbell who plays a nurse in a teeny weeny uniform in this and never looked so good (best thing about the movie!). Also if your a fan of Barry "Dame Edna" Humphries, hes in this playing a rather manic character and so is Rik Mayall in a VERY early role and looking SO young and skinny, and Ruby Wax plays an important role as well and does so superbly, at least she comes away from the film with some dignity.

As a huge fan of the Rocky Horror Show I wanted SO much to see this film and tried very hard to enjoy it but even after a few viewings Im afraid I have to admit it stinks to high heaven and is probably the reason there hasnt been (to my knowledge) futher attempts at a musical by O'Brien, no wonder he sticks to re-staging Rocky every few years. Buy and watch this only as a curiosity, Ive never wanted to like a film so much and come away dissapointed, a right mess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ropey Horror Show..., 4 Sep 2003
By 
RazorGrrl (Greater Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shock Treatment [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Lacklustre effort from the same team (more or less) who brought you 'The Rocky Horror Picture Show'. Richard O'Brien must have had a few left over songs & routines lying forgotten in a drawer. Instead of sparing us this desperate to please mish-mash, & closing them up in the dark again, he fished them out & they've turned up here.
After seeing this drab little item (as part of a double bill Midnight Movie at the Scala in London) several times, on & off, over the years, I still can't hum even one song.
Don't buy it if you love 'Rocky Horror..' & are gagging for a fix of more of the same..It'll only frustrate you with its lack of charm, wit, sparkle & atmosphere. Lumpen & colourless, with as much pizzazz as 2 day old milk, & just about as appealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shock Treatment [VHS]
Shock Treatment [VHS] by Jim Sharman (VHS Tape)
Used & New from: 2.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews