Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Beards & One Groove
They're back! After a four year absence since their last studio release it is obvious when listening to "Mescalero" that the time has been well spent and ZZ Top fans from the last 30 years will be pleased. The great Billy Gibbons (hailed to be one of the greatest blues/rock guitarists ever) demonstrates why this band has lasted longer than any rock band to date. Dusty...
Published on 4 May 2003

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great music, but shameful mastering and disk read errors
Superb music as always from the Beards, but now on my second replacement disk, both of which have thousands of read errors per track (so no surprise that others have trouble playing the CD) and also the studio mastering has introduced massive clipping which make the sound very grungy. Sounds like a faulty batch pressing.
Published on 19 Mar 2011 by TomP


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Beards & One Groove, 4 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mescalero (Audio CD)
They're back! After a four year absence since their last studio release it is obvious when listening to "Mescalero" that the time has been well spent and ZZ Top fans from the last 30 years will be pleased. The great Billy Gibbons (hailed to be one of the greatest blues/rock guitarists ever) demonstrates why this band has lasted longer than any rock band to date. Dusty Hill's bass resonates through every track and he cuts loose in his rockin' version of "Piece". Frank Beard demonstrates what a talented drummer he is by holding it all together. Clearly the best ZZ Top release as far as overall content since "Recycler", and encompassing every avenue that the Tres Hombres have divulged in through the last three decades. The title track “Mescalero” (literally meaning "maker of mescal", the liquor made from cactus native to northern Mexico) contains English and Spanish vocals whereas "Que Lastima" is entirely in Spanish with Gibbons completly at the helm. Gibbons describes it as techno-mariachi inspired by a toast at a Matamoros cantina My favorite track seems to jump from the rockin' "Buck Nekkid" and the heavy blues tune "Goin' So Good". "What Would You Do" is a rockin' country, Blues Brothers sounding tune, that again provides another new sound for the band. "What It Is Kid" rocks, possibly referencing "Kid Rock" - "the boy ain't bad on the other hand Detroit rocks like the Rio Grand". Mescalero, what is it? "It is what it is" as stated by Billy Gibbons. The sound is tight and the chops are clean. The sound makes me believe this is more insturmental than studio effect as in previous ventures. Although several studio effects are present I don't see it having any negative effect on the music which is a very welcomed return for ZZ Top fans. Mescalero although a bit overdue, is a winner from start to end. The Tres Hombres are clearly back with a bang and sum up the entire essence of what ZZ Top was, is and will be with this release. This album intoxicates without the need for tequila. Fans old and new shall be thoroughly pleased with the entire package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mescalero, 3 Jun 2003
This review is from: Mescalero (Audio CD)
This is probably ZZ Tops best work. If not, it is very near the top.
Every song is different and still has the flavor of the bands down home roots.
Guitar players will love a majority of the songs just because of the guitar work. "Dusted" is a prime example. For that matter, every song has its own special notes. From driving bass lines to a fantastic drum beat in every song.
Old fans will love it. Some of the tracks, "Two ways to Play" in particular, may attract new listeners and fans. "Alley Gator" and "Me so Stupid" are two prime video candidates.
"Tramp" is a remake but done up in fine ZZ style.
Even "Que lastima" which is sung in Spanish, is a fine piece of work.
Although the rating system here only allows for a five...this one is a ten!
Good work Boyz!
"Burger Man"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best, 4 July 2006
By 
The Pict (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mescalero (Audio CD)
When Eliminator came out back in the mid eighties, I bought it and then went out and bought their entire back catalogue. I love these guys. I keep expecting them to turn sour but they don't. They have produced the odd mediocre albums since Afterburner, but there is always a great couple of tracks on them which makes them worth having.

This album is full of treats and it has a sound that makes gravel seem like candy floss. It kicks your ears in but it feels great! It put a big smile on my face, and is great for the car. Ripping, thumping blues with the best co-ordination between three musicians you could hope for. They play as one like no one else can. thats what 35 years together does for you. Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old new school Top, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mescalero (Audio CD)
Having been a fan of the Top since I discovered Tres Hombres way back in the seventies, for me they have never failed to deliver and Mescalero is no exception. There seems to be four distinct era's to ZZ Top, early blues/rock (First Album - Tres Hombres), experimentation (Deguellio/El Loco) commercialisation (Eliminator - Recycler) and post commercialisation (Antenna onwards), this carries on from Antenna and Rhythmeen where the boys have been trying to get back to the stripped down feel of their early albums, and which even though they get some poor reviews I find satisfying and probably bulds upon them. It is a long CD by Top standards with 16 tracks (but 17 songs) but it is never dull and there is plenty of variety Que Lastina on which Billy Gibbons sings in Spanish very, very well and if you let the CD play you will find a version of "As Time Goes By" lurking at the end (but not listed). For me the highlight though is Goin' So Good, one of those times like "I Need You Tonight" off Eliminator or "Blue Jean Blues" off Fandango or "Rough Boy" from Afterburner when they come up with one of those gut wrenching slow songs that just seems to have you ending up in tears, it is an an absolute classic, has some brilliant slide guitar work in it and the lyrics are so, so sweet. So why only four stars and not five? Nothing compares to Fandango and Tres Hombres to me, but this is close, I still love it and the Top, so if you are a young pup looking to get into classic rock/blues, get into the Top, you know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great music, but shameful mastering and disk read errors, 19 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mescalero (Audio CD)
Superb music as always from the Beards, but now on my second replacement disk, both of which have thousands of read errors per track (so no surprise that others have trouble playing the CD) and also the studio mastering has introduced massive clipping which make the sound very grungy. Sounds like a faulty batch pressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I..................................................................................., 1 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mescalero (Audio CD)
just wanted more heavy guitars, bass & drums!
I don't really like the mad foreign vocals on here either? no need for that.
Should've been more like 'XXX' OR 'Rhytmeen' for me to love 100% but it's still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably their best, 18 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mescalero (Audio CD)
Since hearing ZZ Top "Fandango" I never thought any of their work would ever come close to that but I was wrong. Mescalero has it all. The first track's the hardest heaviest thing I've ever heard from ZZ Top and has the meanest bassline in the land! Some of the riffs like in "Buck Nekkid" are so blues cool it's unbeleivable. There's the sadness in Goin' So Good. The only two tracks I don't rate at 5* were What would you do? and Stackin Paper. But it wasn't enought to bring a great album down...a weird hidden track at the end too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars have the texas boys lost it with time ?????????, 5 Sep 2009
By 
P. barton (LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mescalero (Audio CD)
somehow i missed this in 2003,. i`ll say that it is not as good as some of the other music they have done in the past, actually its rather weak,. compared to other albums i would only give three stars, shame really as i love the early deep rythm and blues they did on rio grande mud and tejas ,it just seems mescalero is a little weak for a trio with such a great musical hertitage as zz top have if they do another album i hope they go back to and earlier style as on their first album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ZZ Top Getting Back to Basics..Again!, 24 Aug 2007
By 
S. Bradnam (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mescalero (Audio CD)
This is raw ZZ Top, as you might remember them from from their early 70's style of music (with one or two track exceptions.) I am thoroughly enjoying this album - not a true Tres Hombres/Rio Grande Mud classic, but the band have acknowledged that blues, with some good ol' rock boogie is what they do best, rather than the synthed-up efforts of their late 80's music. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ZZ at their best., 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mescalero (Audio CD)
Excellent usual selection of songs from ZZ. Never fails to please and a pleasure to listen to when driving along. Last song after pause is a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mescalero
Mescalero by ZZ Top (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews