Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old but good .... VERY GOOD!!!!
Floyd at their best. The now classic performance at the Pompeii amphitheater certainly is one of the highlights of Floyd's career. I have had the video for years (becoming pretty worn out) so I was really pleased with a DVD release. The 'directors cuts' is somewhat ... well, let's say surprising, but when listening to the interview it makes more sense.
And for the...
Published on 2 Aug 2005

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but...
I have to admit it is a very good DVD. I only recently got into Pink Floyd, and having read some reviews here i opted to watch the original version first before the directors cut. You have to bear in mind that the directors cut was not supposed to be a REPLACEMENT for the original, just a sort of, different version. So dont get too angry about it as the original is still...
Published on 11 Feb 2004


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old but good .... VERY GOOD!!!!, 2 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Pink Floyd - Live at Pompeii [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Floyd at their best. The now classic performance at the Pompeii amphitheater certainly is one of the highlights of Floyd's career. I have had the video for years (becoming pretty worn out) so I was really pleased with a DVD release. The 'directors cuts' is somewhat ... well, let's say surprising, but when listening to the interview it makes more sense.
And for the hard core purists, there's also the original movie included :-)
Very much recommended!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique piece of early 70s culture, 10 Sep 2007
By 
Simon Harper (Aldershot UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pink Floyd - Live at Pompeii [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Looking at this film thirty years after it was made, the first thing that hits you is how much bolder film makers and musicians were then. Even with all the technical advances that have taken place since 1972, no-one would dare to make a film like this now, even if they could get the financial backing.

The original version of the film (which features as an extra on this DVD) is superb. The rather dated cinematography only adds to the period atmosphere and the audacious concept of playing a live concert in the empty amphitheatre at Pompeii with just the film crew there is just perfect for early Pink Floyd music and makes most other "performance" films seem pretty tame by comparison.

The director's cut is a disappointment. The newly created footage is incongruous and irrelevant. The clips of the Abbey Road studios during the recording of Dark Side of the Moon are interesting but only serve to break the flow of the Pompeii performance. They should be available separately.

Other extras are OK but it is the original film that makes this a crucial purchace for all Pink Floyd fans and fans of rock cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What more could you want?, 28 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Pink Floyd - Live at Pompeii [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I can't believe people are moaning about this. Perhaps it is after the Apocalypse Now Redux, which they have now re-released in the original format on DVD, producers seem to have finally realised most people just want the original version that they know and love. So on this DVD they have given us BOTH versions and if you are watching the Directors Cut and get bored with the interview part press the 'step forward' button and it takes you straight to the beginning of the next song. Perfect! Well done! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but..., 11 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Pink Floyd - Live at Pompeii [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I have to admit it is a very good DVD. I only recently got into Pink Floyd, and having read some reviews here i opted to watch the original version first before the directors cut. You have to bear in mind that the directors cut was not supposed to be a REPLACEMENT for the original, just a sort of, different version. So dont get too angry about it as the original is still there and the picture and sound quality is definately good bearing in mind the fact that its pretty old film!
My main problem was the complete obsession the camera seems to have with Nick Mason, the drummer. 3 quarters of the film must be focussed on him, and there is very little of Dave Gilmour at all which is unfortunate! Thus the DVD is not brilliant for this reason of the over-focus of drums which eventually just gets boring to watch. A little variety would have been nice (I would listen to the albums if i just wanted to HEAR it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD But Lousy Directors Cut Default Version, 21 Jun 2009
By 
D. Turner (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pink Floyd - Live at Pompeii [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I bought this film on VHS some 25 years ago and now I've finally laid that to rest after investing in this top quality DVD release. The only fly in the ointment is the dreadful 'Directors Cut' version which had me asking 'WHY?' numerous times whilst viewing it. It might appeal to some, but for me it's a bit like painting a smile on the Mona Lisa face and was totally unnecessary. After all if something isn't broken, then why try to fix it? But don't despair as the original 1971 film version is on there, even though you have to go into the 'Extras' to locate it and it really should have been the default version. Either way it's worth buying, although I'd have thrown it at 'The Wall' had the original version not been present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Genius, 25 Sep 2001
By 
Pink Floyd at their best? I think so, filmed nearly 30 years ago and it's still up there with anything around today. No modern day band could possibly produce this kind of performance, worth every penny of the wonderfully low price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pink floyd - live at pompeii dvd, 25 Oct 2003
By 
N. lomax - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pink Floyd - Live at Pompeii [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
like so many floyd fans who have been waiting to update there worn vhs copy's of ' live at pompeii ' this release was eagerly
awaited on dvd , so it came as some surprise that ' the director's cut ' version of the film basically translated as' the directors cut in lots of new and at times ' irrelevant 'footage !! .
beatles fans would be none to pleased to find ' richard lester ' ( director ) cutting in new cips onto ' a hard days night 's dvd release so why ' adrian maben ' ( pompeii director ) felt the need to update this classic rock movie does raise alot of questions , and the never before seen black and white film of the band in paris , included in this dvd , would have made a more interesting addition in the dvd extras in its entirety , than in short parts between songs on the main feature .
although the original version of the movie is also contained on the dvd , the second version of the film with the clips from the band recording ' dark side of the moon ' at emi studios is the version fans were expecting to get on this dvd in its original form , and not alot of interfearing ' rockets taking off 'clips and computerised pompeii scenery !
a classic early seventies rock film , with a a disappointing remodel !! .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live at Pompeii - The pinacle of Pink Floyd, 11 Feb 2002
By A Customer
If you like the earlier Pink Floyd, before Roger Waters politicised the band, then this video is a must. Shot before the release of the hugely successful "Dark side of the moon" at the amphitheatre of the ancient city of Pompeii, the band performs some of the greatest music they have written. Songs such as Echoes, Careful with that axe Eugene, Set the controls for the heart of the sun, One of these days (I'm going to cut you into little pieces) etc. My only (slight) criticism is that although the setting of ancient Pompeii is an excellent venue, it would have been better performed at the site of the pyramids and the Sphinx in Egypt.
The film also portrays the band in a series of interviews and also shows the making of Dark side of the moon.
If you're a Pink Floyd fan, this is a welcome addition to your music/video portfolio, but if you're an early Floyd fan, then this film is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original or Director's Cut?, 4 Nov 2003
By 
This review is from: Pink Floyd - Live at Pompeii [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The question is, do you prefer the original one, or the director's cut? Wel, both are available on this DVD.
In short: I give 5 stars to the original concert (again, which is on this dvd) and 2 stars to the Director's cut. This total I round down because of the absolutely abominable computer graphics, which I will come to in a second.

First of, what is new in this Director's Cut edition? There is new footage added, concerning the recording of Dark Side of the Moon. This turns the movie round for 180 degrees. Where it used to be a registration of a classic Floyd show in Pompeii it turns into a rockumentary that is only interesting for the hard core fans. Unfortunately, the Director's Cut also involves some terrible computer graphics. Both the documentary sequences and the graphics take the speed and the 'feel' out of this movie. I had high hopes the director's cut would have been more interesting, and far more sophisticated then this, I felt disappointed.

Why then 3 points? Fortunately, the original recording is also on the DVD and this show of the classic early seventies Floyd you need to see if you're a fan of this period: Echoes, Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun and Carefull with theat Axe Eugene (to name but a few) against a backdrop of the ruins of Pompeii, and the harsh rock of Vesuvius. Eventhough the original concert at Pompeii only lasts for an hour, it really has impact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eggs, Sausage, Chips & Beans and a tea, 20 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Pink Floyd - Live at Pompeii [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Like many reviews, I do not persnally like the directors cut version of this dvd.
Again, this dvd is rescued because the original cut is included in the extras. If you own the video version, keep it as it is more essential to own the first two versions than this monstrousity. What is wrong with this version?
Firstly it doesn't represent the time that the concert was filmed. Why include 2000's animation and film on a concert from early 1970's? This doesn't gel, and the Space Ship concept is a load of twaddle.
Secondly whilst the additional footage of the floyds is interesting, it detracts from the "concept" that this is supposed to be a concert, not a documentary.
Thirdly, the interview makes it clear that the event was totally staged...I was not aware that some of the filming took place in Paris & to me knowing this takes away from the spontaneous atmosphere you get from the VHS versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pink Floyd - Live at Pompeii [DVD] [2003]
Pink Floyd - Live at Pompeii [DVD] [2003] by Adrian Maben (DVD - 2003)
4.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews