Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.26+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2003
In 1963 Paramount pictures released 'Fun in Acapulco', an amusing musical/comedy directed by Richard Thorpe, the same director of 'Jailhouse Rock' starring the King, Elvis Presley one of the greatest entertainers of all times.
On this box office hit, Elvis goes to Acapulco, works as lifeguard and sings a few memmorable songs, like the classic 'Bossa Nova Baby', and ' I think I' gonna like it here' or latin pop songs like, The Bullfigther was a lady', 'Mexico' and 'Marguerita '.
The dvd presents a good print of the film, showcasing it's beautiful photography and the sound was remastered to 5.1 D.D.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2010
After watching the last part of "Fun in Acapulco" at the German ARTE HD, I decided to buy this DVD because it has Danish subtitles. Though I understand English and German I thought it looked so interesting, that I had to buy it. I must admit that the acting, music and most of all the script was not bad at all. To the fellow which mentions that the music is not good, he probably compares it to the well known Elvis hits. OK, lot of the music is rather Mexican, but nevertheless good performed by Elvis. Which shows how versatile he was. I don't understand how the scene where Elvis cycles with the little boy on his knee, could he been filmed in Hollywood. Because it must have been in a Mexican city, with all those Mexican signs? The colour on this DVD is so fantastic, which reminds me of these Elvis cards pupils used to play up against the wall in Denmark around 1967-70. If "Acapulco" is not one of the best moves Elvis made, I suppose I still have a lot of Elvis DVDs to enjoy. So this is only the beginning. Maybe the 4 stars is a result of my nostalgic taste, because I loved the 1960's. But I like it and is happy that I bought it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 April 2013
Fun in Acapulco is directed by Richard Thorpe and written by Allan Weiss. It stars Elvis Presley, Ursula Andress, Paul Lukas, Elsa Cárdenas and Larry Domasin. Music is by Joseph J. Lilley and cinematography by Daniel L. Fapp.

Mike Windgren (Presley) is working as a boatman down in Acapulco when an unfair dismissal sees him taking up employment as a lifeguard and singer at a local hotel. Getting involved with two gorgeous women, Mike has plenty on his hands, especially since he has greatly annoyed one of his co-workers who thinks he has claims on one of the girls. But why is Mike in Acapulco in the first place? It seems he has something in his past that greatly troubles him...

By the time 1963 had rolled around, Elvis Presley movies had settled into a safe formula purely designed to cash in on the star. All hope Presley had of becoming an actor of worth had been left behind with the likes of Jailhouse Rock, King Creole and Flaming Star.

Fun in Acapulco basically sees Presley have women problems, have a fight with another macho man, kill off a demon in his past and sing a bunch of tunes. Unfortunately where the songs are concerned for this one, they are in keeping with much of Presley's 60s film output, not really worthy of his talents. The exception is Bossa Nova Baby, where a truly fine rendition from The King is backed up by an energetic snake-hips performance. In fact one of the film's strengths is that Presley looks in great shape, as does Andress and Cárdenas, the pic is never less than colourful and graced with beautiful people!

It plays out exactly as you expect and production values waver from scene to scene. But there's nearly always something cheery about Presley's movies, and this one is no different. If you can accept them for what they are, and ignore what a shame that Presley's early acting promise wasn't fulfilled? Then there's a good time to be had down in Acapulco. 6/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2011
As Elvis musical movies go this one isn't too bad and Elvis was still a big office draw when it came out in 1963.
The plot is nothing special but most of the songs are pleasant enough with a strong Mexican flavour. The soundtrack album did very well and the single Bossa Nova Baby was a classic.Fun In Acapulco
There are the usual girls,swimming pools,nightclubs,beaches etc. and the whole thing is well presented in wide screen.
Unfortunately Elvis did not go on location and all his outdoor scenes were shot either by using a double or with a studio back projection.
This is a pity as the film would have been much better if he had gone to Mexico to make it.
By now the Elvis movies were starting to cut back on production overheads which became all too apparent later on by the time of the dreadful Frankie & Johnny or Double Trouble.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 March 2008
Elvis plays the part of a life guard who has a skeleton in the closet.Two beautiful ladies are chasing him and there is the obligitory fight with the boyfriend.The songs are appalling but Elvis carries them off with that great voice.The acting is good,a good fun storyline and great singing make for a very enjoyable 95mins.Recommended to all regardless of whether you're an Elvis fan or not.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2011
My 7 year old daughter loved this. She now knows all the words to Bossa Nova Baby,and does the dance as well. What a babes he was,mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2010
Nice wide screen copy, but except for Bossa Nova Baby even the songs are bad in this one!

Clearly Elvis never left LA & the doubles are not that convincing for all the long shots.

Not a good movie even for an Elvis fan.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Item arrived on time, very good standard and quality. I am a very pleased customer as I received exactly what I ordered and wanted. Therefore, would recommend to use this company.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Exactly like the picture . . . . . . . .. .. . . . . . . . . . . . . ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
elvis at his best, great scenery and some good sing along tunes, nice one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)