Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of the Cliffhangers
I loved "Flash Gordon" as a child and watching the series again on DVD brings back many fond memories. Each 15-minute episode features the adventures of our hero Flash, the lovely Dale Arden, and intrepid Dr. Zarkov on the planet Mongo, with Flash escaping death at every turn: The Shark Men nearly drown him, he faces the Fire Monster in the Tunnel of Terror, and he's in...
Published on 30 May 2009 by Kona

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who will save Flash now?
I love Flash Gordon, and this is his best serial. Unfortunately, this is a poor transfer. It flickers, its dark, the sound isn't that sharp. I really want to point you at a better transfer, as this serial deserves so much more than my paltry 3 stars, but I don't own one. As this is, this is mostly for those willing to look past the transfer to the landmark serial that is...
Published on 20 Feb 2007 by R. R. Turner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who will save Flash now?, 20 Feb 2007
By 
R. R. Turner "Robovski" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flash Gordon - Space Soldiers [DVD] (DVD)
I love Flash Gordon, and this is his best serial. Unfortunately, this is a poor transfer. It flickers, its dark, the sound isn't that sharp. I really want to point you at a better transfer, as this serial deserves so much more than my paltry 3 stars, but I don't own one. As this is, this is mostly for those willing to look past the transfer to the landmark serial that is contained on these disks; more a curiosity or of academic interest than sheer entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King of the Cliffhangers, 30 May 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Flash Gordon - Space Soldiers [DVD] (DVD)
I loved "Flash Gordon" as a child and watching the series again on DVD brings back many fond memories. Each 15-minute episode features the adventures of our hero Flash, the lovely Dale Arden, and intrepid Dr. Zarkov on the planet Mongo, with Flash escaping death at every turn: The Shark Men nearly drown him, he faces the Fire Monster in the Tunnel of Terror, and he's in mortal peril in the Static Room!

The characters are still fun: Buster Crabbe is every bit the blonde dreamboat hero and Jean Rogers is a delicate and beautiful Dale Arden. Princess Aura still plots to steal Flash for herself, King Vultan of the Hawk Men still has his booming laugh and angel wings, and Ming the Merciless, Emperor of the Universe, is still giving everyone the evil eye and the creeps.

This serial probably wouldn't interest children today with its hokey effects - oh, that spaceship! - but it's a fun bit of nostalgia for those who liked it the first time around. The actors play it straight and don't play down to kids. I appreciate that young viewers were expected to read the chapter synopses which had pretty big words in them.

I'm glad this came out on DVD. It's a lot of fun to revisit this classic sci-fi serial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the original and the best!!, 17 July 2008
By 
all 13 episodes of this classic saga on 1 dvd, of all the old classic adventure serials,the flash gordon series remains the best,and is a great addition to anyones dvd collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended buy., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flash Gordon - Space Soldiers [DVD] (DVD)
Spot on.Can be bought very cheaply.Great for anybody who likes to collect old classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Flash Gordon - Space Soldiers [DVD], 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Flash Gordon - Space Soldiers [DVD] (DVD)
This was recommended by Amazon in conjunction with Buck Rogers: 70th Anniversary [DVD] [1939] [US Import] - unfortunately the same episodes are included in the 70th Anniversay set, but this was not included in the Amazon web advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars flash gordon, 9 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flash Gordon - Space Soldiers [DVD] (DVD)
i never got to watch any of the complet series back in the 50s or 60s as i didnt go to the cinama very offten so to now be able to watch the complet series really interest me just i could be watch the complet series which i only ever watched a few of back then the years gone by
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flash Gordon - Space Soldiers [DVD]
Flash Gordon - Space Soldiers [DVD] by Buster Crabbe (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £5.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews