Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hidden dream
If you only buy one album this year, then get this. If you want your faith restored that there are bands out there who are producing pure class in pop/rock then look no further. Bruce Soord and his band have produced his masterpiece and all fans of later Porucpine Tree, mellow Radiohead and Mew should simply buy this and be blown away. Each track has melodies and hooks...
Published on 10 Jun 2003 by David A. Saunders

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bitty
I was expecting a lot from this cd having read reviews but was a little disappointed, not a consistent album for me.
Published 14 months ago by Jim Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hidden dream, 10 Jun 2003
By 
David A. Saunders (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Variations on a Dream (Audio CD)
If you only buy one album this year, then get this. If you want your faith restored that there are bands out there who are producing pure class in pop/rock then look no further. Bruce Soord and his band have produced his masterpiece and all fans of later Porucpine Tree, mellow Radiohead and Mew should simply buy this and be blown away. Each track has melodies and hooks to die for, superbly played with music ranging from sublime and haunting ballads to more progressive leanings away from pop to rock. Bruce manages to do this with the greatest of ease but never losing his sense of melody or structure. This is his band's third release with the first hinting of the talent, the second taking big leap forward in terms of composition and style and now with the third, he has surpassed himself. If you love the aforementioned bands but with a touch of his own style, then go out and buy this. It is no good going through each track as they are all wonderful. As I said earlier, this album has restored MY faith in music, now let it restore yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 23 Jun 2007
This review is from: Variations on a Dream (Audio CD)
I bought this album as it was a recommendation from amazon.

Having never heard the band before I was simply stunned when I listened to this beautiful, crafted masterpiece of music. The whole album is superb but in particular We Subside, Vapour trails, Part Zero, and Remember Us.

Great melodies, excellent guitar, thought provoking lyrics. Mellow, chill out, melodic progressive rock that grows on you with each listening untill it burns into your soul.

This band should be MASSIVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take a chance, 4 Oct 2007
By 
Booker (Vancouver, BC, CAN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Variations on a Dream (Audio CD)
What a great find. PT (not to be confused with the most excellent Porcupine Tree) is a hard-to-get item over here in Canada, but I took a chance based upon a recommendation, and I'm sure glad I did. The production is not "large record company/super shiny" quality, but that's what makes this album so amazing. Fans of Radiohead, Smashing Pumpkins, et al, take note. Sure, Soord sometimes evokes the two lead singers from the aforementioned bands, but he's also got a quality all his own. The arrangements and ambient effects created by the fact that this album was produced in Soord's own house lends itself to a much more loved approach.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite!, 9 Oct 2006
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Variations on a Dream (Audio CD)
This album is a real find. It's beautifully crafted and really well played. The arrangements sometimes border on the classical (with a bit of Mike Oldfield thrown in) and with vocals that are reminiscent of Thom Yorke (Radiohead) or even Smashing Pumpkins. It's an album that I find I'm playing again and again. This is well worth taking a chance on - it's a really delightful listen and has made me want to explore what else this excellent band has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant third album from this very contemporary rock band, 4 May 2004
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Variations on a Dream (Audio CD)
Though signed to the British progressive rock label Cyclops, this bands sound owes more to the streamlined contemporary rock of Porcupine Tree, Radiohead and Anathema. Songwriter Bruce Soord has created a very fresh sounding record, with lots of beautiful guitar and keyboard textures throughout. There are progressive elements in the arrangements, particularly on the lengthier tracks such as "Vapour Trails", "Part Zero" and the album highlight, the 16 minute closer "Remember Us". But there is nothing indulgent or overblown here. The arrangements are tight and everything flows effortlessly. The songs are classic English melancholia which bands from Pink Floyd through to Anathema do so well. Not depressing, but introspective and a touch haunting. A new album is promised for later this year and I hope wider recognition ensues. This band deserves to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely Record, 1 Oct 2004
This review is from: Variations on a Dream (Audio CD)
I've recently got a copy of this album from Amazon, and I am very, very impressed. It nearly gets five stars but not quite as I do get the feeling Bruce and his pals have almost hit the musical jackpot, but one more nudge is required. A new album is coming soon, and this could well be the one that does it.
Prog afficionados will love it and at the same time it is poppy enough to appeal to fans of bands like Coldplay and Keane. It's also somewhat reminiscent of pre-Kid A Radiohead. Being signed to a prog label doesn't help sales but does free the band from any duty to purvey insipid and dreary music - like Coldplay and Keane! Whilst the "progressive" tag has stopped groups such as the band's initialsake Porcupine Tree from becoming megastars, it generally means you'll get creative music played from the heart. This is certainly the case with this lovely record.
Not a duff track in sight, though initially the long ones - "Vapour Trails", "Part Zero", and "Remember Us" stand out - but with later listens, less obvious tracks such as piano-led "The Bitter Pill", the immaculate "Sooner or Later" and the Floydy "This Will Remain Unspoken" knock at your door. There is some great guitar work and the expertly played synthesised classical instruments add grandeur - nice mellotron too.
This an exquisite album. Prog it may be, but it deserves a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Gentle Prog Rock Album, 6 Sep 2004
This review is from: Variations on a Dream (Audio CD)
I wholeheartedly agree with the ringing endorsements of all the authors below. A stunningly beautiful recording of haunting prog music, one that deserves to go down as one of the best of this type ever. Highlights are Vapour Trails, Part Zero and the 'semi-epic' closer Remember Us but there is no weak song on the whole hour's recording.
I eagerly await the new recording which is promised soon and will be seeing them soon at the Chippenham Prog Festival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding work of genius, 21 Jun 2005
By 
S. Adamson "adder77" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Variations on a Dream (Audio CD)
Short and sweet, this is a must have.
This is an album of infinite beauty with soaring guitar of the highest quality.
The first and last tracks are two of the best you will ever have heard (you can sample the last track as a free MP3 from [...]
You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars holds you on the edge, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Variations On A Dream (Audio CD)
As with other pineapple thief albums this is musically excellent with atmosphere and depth and twists and turns, but there always seems to be the moment your waiting for something loud and explosive to happen, a blinding guitar solo or a few heavy riffs but it stays on or about one level and tempo, still a good album....I just wish they would let themselves "go" once in a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: Variations On A Dream (Audio CD)
This is the first pineapple thief album i have bought and i can tell it most certainly will not be the last!! I have never been so taken in by an album before, it has such a rich and varied sound, i didnt want it to end! I like many bands from tangerine dream to iron maiden, but this album has given me faith that there is some quality music out there and its not all hollow, soul less crap!! Cant wait to get the rest of the back catalogue!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Variations on a Dream
Variations on a Dream by Pineapple Thief (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews