Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars8
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£9.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 March 2007
B.B.King has described 'My Kind of Blues' as his favourite album and it's easy to see why. Recorded around March 1960 using only a sparse accompaniment of Lloyd Glenn(piano), probably Ralph Hamilton(bass) and Jessie Sailes(drums) King's stinging guitar and powerful voice come across beautifully. Originally one of 12 LPs B.B.King made for the CROWN label 'My Kind of Blues' has now expanded from 10 to 18 tracks with songs coming from the pens of Sleepy John Estes, Roosevelt Sykes, Muddy Waters and Doctor Clayton.

Expertly re-mastered by ACE RECORDS and compiled and annotated by blues expert John Broven this is a model blues CD re-issue and an ideal introduction to B.B.King's music.
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
What attracted me to purchase this album was the rare opportunity to hear BB King playing with a sparse accompaniment; whereas usually his recordings are supported with brass. Given that this album was recorded more than 50 years ago, it is a fine crisp sound and BB's playing of his Gibson guitar, Lucille, is as usual outstanding. There are no poor songs in this collection. It is great to hear BB at his brilliant best. I definitely recommend this album.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
Now this (to quote it's title) is my knid of blues. Some of these tracks were overdubbed (wrongly) at a later date with orchestration. This bare bones album is great listening and I'm sure glad I found it.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
This was B.B. King's personal favorite album. It has a terrific live, immediate sound and a very tasty mix of styles. I would give it 5 stars but a few of the tunes didn't appeal to me. But, any fan of B.B. King, any blues fan and any aspiring guitarist of any style of music will enjoy this album. If all you know of B.B. is his (to my taste) soppy, MOR hit The Thrill Is Gone - listen to this for a taste of what he would have sounded like playing in a roadhouse circa 1960.
Great American music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
I have over forty BB King albums including three different box sets. But "My Kind Of Blues" is up there with "Completely Well" as my favourite studio albums of the man so much so that after uploading them to my iPods the discs are kept and often played in the car.Highly recommended
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
WOW the best kinda Blues Original..
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
BB without all bells and whistles
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Excellent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.