Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Will Certainly Get The Party Started
Big Brovaz have been described as a cross between Outkast and So Solid Crew...so how can you really go wrong???
This album certainly rocks the party. Big Brovaz authentic style, combining hip-hop, R&B and urban soul has swept the nation, showing us that maybe we aren't losing British music to soppy boy bands and "talent" contest winners.
Big Brovaz Album Nu Flow...
Published on 30 April 2003 by Kirsty

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good album....
when big brovaz first came out i loved them i still do, i think their songs are original and brilliant. there album however isn't the best ive heard. The best songs on the album are 'Nu Flow' its catchy, memorable, and the lyrics stick in your head. 'OK' a good R'n'B track with great lyrics. 'Favourite Things' brilliant song, great lyrics, and the new song 'Baby Boy'...
Published on 16 Aug 2003 by lisa


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good album...., 16 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: Nu Flow (Audio CD)
when big brovaz first came out i loved them i still do, i think their songs are original and brilliant. there album however isn't the best ive heard. The best songs on the album are 'Nu Flow' its catchy, memorable, and the lyrics stick in your head. 'OK' a good R'n'B track with great lyrics. 'Favourite Things' brilliant song, great lyrics, and the new song 'Baby Boy' great song, great ballard, great lyrics, great video!! the other songs on the album aren't as good as the main four singles, The tracks are listinable but not memorable and they dont stick in your head. i think the album is average and could be better, but they are still a great group/.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Will Certainly Get The Party Started, 30 April 2003
This review is from: Nu Flow (Audio CD)
Big Brovaz have been described as a cross between Outkast and So Solid Crew...so how can you really go wrong???
This album certainly rocks the party. Big Brovaz authentic style, combining hip-hop, R&B and urban soul has swept the nation, showing us that maybe we aren't losing British music to soppy boy bands and "talent" contest winners.
Big Brovaz Album Nu Flow presents us with young urban British talent, which will be loved by anyone with an urban taste in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nu Flow, 9 Feb 2003
This review is from: Nu Flow (Audio CD)
A catchy title track (with very little resmblance to it's title) first made this band stand out, along with the colourful clowning-around video. But the diversity of each member's talent really makes the track a great one.
The other tracks are equally unique and interesting. They bear a resemblance to the striking minor chords of US band Spookz and refreshingly they don't nag on about how the group was poor and disadvantaged.
Tracks like 'OK' bring edgy rap along with it's rarely seen bedfellow - secure jobs. The orchestral accompaniment on these tracks add depth to the head-bopping bass beat and the contrasting lyrical feats of each member means you'll never get bored trying to match the vocal gymnastics.
Overall, this is an excellent album for anyone looking for a British alternative, the class of Misteeq, the influences of the John Barry orchestra and a good dose of plain old fashioned fun. A definite must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit Boring, but some good tracks, 12 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Nu Flow (Audio CD)
The beginning and end of this album are very good but in the middle is complete crap. The only songs I liked were Nu Flow, Baby Boy, Ok and I aint What You Do (all songs that they have released as singles!) Sometimes the chorus' can be quite catchy but the rest is SO BORING! I will definetel not be buying any more Big Brovaz music until they start making their music a LOT better. Before I got this album I liked them Now I don't. So if you don't own this album and like The Big Brovaz then DON'T BUY THIS ALBUM ** TWO STARS **
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars unclear song listing, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nu Flow (Audio CD)
because there are two versions of this album, details were very unclear which songs are on which album, this is obviously the "amateur" version when listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 5 Oct 2004
This review is from: Nu Flow (Audio CD)
When a band brings out two singles I like, I get the CD. In most cases this works but it doesn't with Big Brovaz. The singles "Nu Flow", "OK" and "Baby Boy" were amazing songs but the rest of the album....isn't. Although a few other tracks are great RnB tracks like "Gotta Get" and "Summertime" but other tracks you just skip cause they sound horrible. The guys definately have to work on their raps and the girls have to learn how to sing in tune. I think Big Brovaz are very promising and they will improve but you might want to skip this one. Unless you loved all those singles that is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nu Flow will keep on Flowing !!, 9 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Nu Flow (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic. Each track is different from the rest, and it is an album that u can easily listen to from start to finish. If you like R 'n' B, hip-hop and rock ( 'OK' rock remix is wickid ) u will luv this album. Big Bruva definitely stands out from the crowd of wots around in the musik world 2 day and I fink this is 1 band that will b around 4 a while. An album worth investing in - easy listening and chilled back tunes just wot u need !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT GOOD AT ALL!!!, 5 July 2004
This review is from: Nu Flow (Audio CD)
THIS IS NOT HIP HOP! This is watered-down, wannabe-US, pop tunes for 13 year old girls. To call this Hip Hop is an insult to the genre!
The singing is passable but the rappin is terrible! This doesn't represent UK Hip Hop at all!
If you want real UK ish then I'd suggest checkin Jehst, Klashnekoff, Universal Soldiers, Yungun or Taskforce.
BUY THIS IF YOU LOVE N-SYNC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the flip side, 31 May 2003
This review is from: Nu Flow (Audio CD)
I agree with the other amazon.co.uk reviews. Only fans usually write reviews so you dont often get a balanced oppinion. Well here is the flip side. This album is very very poor. 3 guys from the UK putting on hard New York accents when they rap, the lyrics are very uninspiring and the songs are almost as cringeworthy. The album content and the group are a poor attempt at copying US R&B acts. This would not be posted if I put anything defametory and I havent. This is just one persons oppinion. UK Hip Hop acts should be just that UK Hip Hop acts... rapping in a style that reflects where you are from. Cant say I get how you can rap about "keeping it real" while you are saying "feelin yo style" in an NYC drawl when you hail from London. If you want US style Hip Hop/R&B stick with the missy elliots, bustas, outcasts, tweets, sunshine andersons, jaheims etc etcif you want real hip hop try Jurassic 5 or Ugly Duckling and the like.. I had to put 1 star as it wouldnt let me put nuthin at all!
However this is just a criticism of this album. The girls have sweet voices and I hope that if a second album is made they will progress beyond the US R&B thing and explore a more British take on R&B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New So Solid?, 4 Nov 2002
This review is from: Nu Flow (Audio CD)
First of all let me start by saying that I was a So Solid fan and when I first heard the single 'Nu flow' I was already hooked to the catchy beats that had made me a So Solid fan.
The two bands are noticably similar so if you hated So Solid Crew you should probably stay clear. Each track has it own idividual feel and the album - unlike many around - never gets samey.
The orginallity in the lyrics is refreshing and the beats although not revolutionary accompany the lyrics well. The mix of 3 males and 3 females merges exceptionally with each MC having their own style and feel.
For me - they take the elements that made So Solid great and expand of them making Big Brovaz a great new prospect.
A must buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nu Flow
Nu Flow by Big Brovaz (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews