Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin at their best
Unlike the only other Led Zeppelin dvd, The Song Remains the Same, this dvd set has no annoying home videos or fantasy sequences. It is simply footage from some of their best concerts from the 70s. The highlights on this DVD set are the songs Led Zeppelin didn't commonly play live, White Summer (a Black Mountain Side type intrumental from Jimmy Page), What Is and What...
Published on 27 May 2003 by Robert R Rogers

versus
13 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars calm down!
OK, after considering the fair comments made I have added a star; at its best, yes, this is fantastic, but its best unfortunately is the MSG footage, a mere 4 songs. The rest is TV quality film & sound compared to MSG's magnificent film quality.
There's some other very interesting stuff, but not of the MSG class - if only they'd release that concert in its entirety...
Published on 11 Nov 2004 by Fungus of Terror


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!!, 15 Jun 2003
By 
D. Q. RAMOS (Sintra, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (2003) [DVD] [Region 1] (DVD)
If youre a fan of Led Zeppelin, this is quite simply a MUST-BUY.
I wasnt fortunate to see them live (was only born in 71) and they never performed in my country, but i can almost say that this is practically like being there, listening to one of the best bands the world ever known.
From the roots back in 1970 to Knebworth in 1979, this 2 DVD set covers quite perfectly the Zeppelin's career and evolution throughout the years.
The image and sound are perfect (considering the time they were made, of course) and the line-up of the songs is great.
Also, the menu-background videos are great, some showing Zeppelin live, some showing images from the 70s and that, in my opinion, just adds to the atmosphere.
I would dare even to say that this 2 DVD set is even better than "The Song Remains the Same", more complete and more satisfying in Live performance.
A MUST HAVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply,.......Awesome, 27 May 2003
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (2003) [DVD] [Region 1] (DVD)
Having been fan of Led Zeppelin for er,30 years now i couldnt
wait to get my hands on this double dvd set.
Unfortunately i have never seen the band live and the only time
i have "seen" them play was in an excerpt from The Song Remains
The Same on television.
This is well worth the wait,now i have messrs Plant,Page,Jones
and Bonham in my living room any time i want!
Well worth the money it is too,i would have paid it for the
second disc alone which contains footage from Madison Square
Garden 1973,Earls Court 1975 and Knebworth 1979.
On the first disc there is footage from The Royal Albert Hall
from 1970.
A few questions need answered though,why did the band wait
so long to release anything like this excellent package?
What have they not included here?
How long will it be before the dvd sleeves wear out due the
amount of handling they will endure?
How long will it be before my dvd player wears out ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Generously overwhelming, 15 Feb 2008
By 
Jeremy Walton (Sidmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (2003) [DVD] [Region 1] (DVD)
I found this for 11 at Zaavi a few weeks ago, and bought it for - what I guess you could call - old times' sake, having been a big fan of the band in my youth (which included seeing them at Earls Court in 1975). It is, by any standards, a generous collection. Clocking in at over five hours, you get the impression that it's been packed to the rafters with all the material that could be found and restored. The four big shows (Albert Hall, Madison Square Garden, Earls Court, Knebworth) are all impressive, but I found the extras just as appealing.

Chief among these is a dynamic, intimate performance of "Communication Breakdown" on Danish TV with the band on a tiny stage and the audience sitting at their feet (the contrast with the big shows is remarkable). As the camera zooms in on Page going into the solo, you realise all over again that, when you strip away the studio overdubbery and the lasers, pomp and enormous scale of their later performances, they could really, really *play*. In spite of that, and their total dominance of the musical scene (an interview in which they're compared to the Beatles is also included), they weren't always well-received initially; the other version of "Communication Breakdown" in here comes from a hilarious performance on French TV. For some reason, most of the shots are taken from behind the band, so you can see the stony, unmoved expressions on the faces of the audience (consisting - it seems - of middle-aged couples, small children and - I'm sure my eyes weren't deceiving me - a Salvation Army brass band) as the band cavort on stage. It provides a refreshing change from the adulation portrayed in their later shows and it's generous of them to include it here (actually, they said that it shows rather neatly why they refused to do any more TV shows after this point).

Lovingly assembled, finely detailed and generously overwhelming, this collection is completely essential for any fan of this band, though it has to be said that even the most rabid enthusiast would be going cross-eyed if they sat through the whole thing in one go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the stunning 10 year journey of Led Zeppelin, 8 Mar 2005
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (2003) [DVD] [Region 1] (DVD)
The power and content of Led Zeppelin's work will be appreciated by anyone who likes experimental music, whether rock, jazz or classical. In this phenomenal 2 disc set you see them evolve and change, and hear how the physical changes affected their music.
Nowhere is this transformation more evident than in Robert Plant, who in concert is one of the three most riveting personalities I have ever seen on a stage, and I have seen a lot. He starts out as a rather scruffy looking albeit brilliant performer on Disc One, the highlight (and one of the highlights of the entire package) is "Dazed and Confused", with Jimmy Page showing us why he's one of the most creative musicians in rock history, getting amazing sound playing his guitar with a bow. The audio/visual quality is a little fuzzy, but one feels fortunate the concert was captured, and we have this fine a record of it to enjoy.
Disc Two starts with a short take of the "Immigrant Song" from 1972 in Australia. This is rather jumpy film but it captures the energy of the moment.
It then moves on to 4 numbers (not in "The Song Remains the Same") from the '73 Madison Square concert; here you have the group showing definite signs of decadence, and obviously in a chemically induced haze, and I think it took the shine off their brilliance.
Earl's Court in 1975, the group looks healthier, with a lot more maturity, and a some astounding music; the beginning is "unplugged", with a fantastic "Going to California", and ending with the classic "Stairway to Heaven".
Knebworth 1979, and we see Plant, looking younger and positively gorgeous, in a blazing, glorious concert. "Kashmir" is my favorite Zep song, and for the ultimate treat, we get "Whole Lotta Love", to compare with the version on Disc One from ten years earier.
What a journey it was...bravo to Robert Plant, Jimmy Page, John Paul Jones and John Bonham for their outstanding musical legacy, and to Page and Dick Carruthers for this DVD package which contains some of the best concert footage ever seen and heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More stars please?, 27 May 2006
By 
C. Sacks "Zep - Brezza" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (2003) [DVD] [Region 1] (DVD)
I have bought a few DVD's. The problem is I bought this one first. And I always compare every DVD to this one. You can't, you just can't compare, its impossible. This is the best DVD on the best band. If you are thinking about buying it, buy it. If you heard about it, buy it. If you here by accident, buy it. Whatever you do before exiting this page - BUY THIS DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best music DVD I've ever seen..., 10 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (2003) [DVD] [Region 1] (DVD)
Well I must say I bought this DVD with no real knowledge of Led Zeppelin, just to check out Jimmy Page's solos really. The 1st DVD is breath-taking, not a bad note is hit and some of Page's work literally blew me away. 2nd disk lags a bit but still is incredible, with the performaces of "Immigrant Song" and "Stairway to Heaven" making it even better. BUY THIS DVD. Trust me It'll change the way you think...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Zeppelin DVD, 2 Feb 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (2003) [DVD] [Region 1] (DVD)
It's impossible to exaggerate how good this collection is. Distilled from several of Zeppelin's filmed live performances from 1969 through the 1970s and released in 2003, taken as a whole this is possibly the greatest concert DVD of all time from a rock-blues band.

You get around five hours of astonishing live performance footage spread over 2 DVDs. A gig filmed in b&w in front of a tiny studio audience in 1969 for Danish Radio is the earliest footage; the latest a masterful performance at Knebworth in summer 1979, the last time the band played together in public before Bonzo's untimely death in 1980.

The first disk contains the early stuff, kicking off with a 102-minute concert at The Royal Albert Hall in 1970 with the band bursting with energy as they deliver 12 numbers mainly from the first two albums, but with a couple of surprises like Page's virtuoso solo-turn on electric guitar `White Summer.' The extras include the aforementioned Danish Radio performance, a promo for `Communication Breakdown' and two more TV performances of `Dazed and Confused' - one on French TV with both Page & Plant in bright red trousers.

The second disk culls material from Madison Square Garden, the last night of the 1973 US tour; from the shows at Earls Court in mid-1975 (the album's high-point acoustic set proving what exemplary folk musicians they were); and the sell-out Knebworth show in 1979.

The sound quality is overall surprisingly crisp, the film quality variable but never less than acceptable with occasional brief snippets of bootlegged film from members of the audience and close-up stills spliced in. Overall, it's a fine production job.

There's also some footage revealing Robert Plant as the warm, articulate spokesman for the band, notably a relaxed interview with Bob Harris in 1975 when he discusses the forthcoming `Physical Graffiti' album.

Overall if you're a fan of this greatest-of-all British rock/blues bands of the 1970s then buying this is a must. If you're a young, aspiring musician of a later generation and don't understand why Zeppelin is held in such reverence, then watch the performances on this DVD just once - and you'll get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic visual history of Led Zep., 23 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (2003) [DVD] [Region 1] (DVD)
I saw the second Knebworth show in 1979,so I had to buy this just for that footage.Brought back some memories,I can tell you.
The first DVD is a show in London in 1970,highlighting material from the first two albums."Whole Lotta Love","Dazed and Confused" and Bonzo's epic drum solo on "Moby Dick" are standouts.
The second DVD starts off with bootleg film of LZ at a show in sydney,synchronised with an "Immigrant Song" from Los Angeles.Works well.Then comes material from New York in 1973,some which got onto "Song Remains The Same",two tracks didn't.
Next up,London 1975,and a great aucoustic set,also "Stairway To Heaven"(complete with cigarette lighters in the audience).Finally Knebworth 1979,their last show in Britain.Last two songs are great versions of "Kashmir" and "Whole Lotta Love"-compare and contrast with the 1970 version on DVD 1.Robert Plant thanks the crowd for the last 11 years,and they respond with a chorus of "You'll Never Walk Alone".Were there really that many Scousers in the crowd?
Comes with extras too.The sound quality of the shows is fantastic,as you'd expect from a Jimmy Page production.If you were around for Led Zep in the 1970s,it's a lovely nostalgic watch,if you were too young,you'll realise what you missed.
This and "How The West Was Won" could hopefully be the start of a release programme from Led Zep's vaults of live shows.I can dream,can't I?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended and Bittersweet, 14 July 2007
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (2003) [DVD] [Region 1] (DVD)
Great detail and sound quality ( whether remastered or not ) - this is as I remember them - spirited, intense, gifted, inspired, intelligent, celebratory.
Recommended for all as a document of musical history and an introduction as well as for fans who want to see and hear and remember.
To say we will never see their like again may be going too far, but if you love these guys this DVD is for you.
It's so good to remember the magic.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great DVD for the greatest rock band ever!, 13 Dec 2003
By 
Ranvir S. Panesar "reckless_life" (Slough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin (2003) [DVD] [Region 1] (DVD)
This a brilliant DVD showing Led Zeppelin at their best. Its packed full of 5 hours of concert footage, interviews, tv appearances, and promotional videos. My only problem is that sometimes the band get too self indulgent for their own good, there's a completely unnecessary 20 MINUTE drum solo in Moby dick and the solo's in Dazed and Confused and Stairway to heaven are overlong. These minor problems aside, this DVD is a must for any Led Zep fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4985f18)

This product

Led Zeppelin (2003) [DVD]  [Region 1]
Led Zeppelin (2003) [DVD] [Region 1] by Dick Carruthers (DVD - 2003)
17.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews