Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin at their best
Unlike the only other Led Zeppelin dvd, The Song Remains the Same, this dvd set has no annoying home videos or fantasy sequences. It is simply footage from some of their best concerts from the 70s. The highlights on this DVD set are the songs Led Zeppelin didn't commonly play live, White Summer (a Black Mountain Side type intrumental from Jimmy Page), What Is and What...
Published on 27 May 2003 by Robert R Rogers

versus
13 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars calm down!
OK, after considering the fair comments made I have added a star; at its best, yes, this is fantastic, but its best unfortunately is the MSG footage, a mere 4 songs. The rest is TV quality film & sound compared to MSG's magnificent film quality.
There's some other very interesting stuff, but not of the MSG class - if only they'd release that concert in its entirety...
Published on 11 Nov 2004 by Max Bondo


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin at their best, 27 May 2003
This review is from: Led Zeppelin [DVD](2003) [Region 1] (DVD)
Unlike the only other Led Zeppelin dvd, The Song Remains the Same, this dvd set has no annoying home videos or fantasy sequences. It is simply footage from some of their best concerts from the 70s. The highlights on this DVD set are the songs Led Zeppelin didn't commonly play live, White Summer (a Black Mountain Side type intrumental from Jimmy Page), What Is and What Should Never be (lovely performance here), The Ocean, Going to California, That's The Way, Bron Yr Aur Stomp (this 3 song accoustic set is perhapse my favourite part of this release - very very nice folk-style music which many people don't even know Led Zeppelin was great at) and of course Achilles Last Stand and Kashmir.
The interviews aren't particularly interesting, but at least you get to hear Jimmy Page's voice for a change which is nice.
The sound quality is amazingly good. The video quality is fine, obviously not like a modern recording but absoluteley fine for what this is - a live performance.
Jimmy Page and Dick Carruthers really have made a product worthy of possibly being Led Zeppelin's final release, and they have made up for the annoying (but still very good) The Song Remains The Same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zeppelin Double DVD a real treat, 5 Jun 2003
By 
P Jacomb "Paul RHJ" (Chippenham, Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin [DVD](2003) [Region 1] (DVD)
This Led Zeppelin DVD package is, quite simply, the best DTS DVD you can buy. Despite the age of the source material, Jimmy Page and the producers of this DVD have gone to extraordinary lengths to ensure that the final product was one of real quality.
Anyone who appreciates rock music should buy it, as not only does it give you the shots of how they made some of those extraordinary sounds, but shows a fascinating insight into their thoughts at the time. It also explains why they never released singles in the UK, how they conquered the US, plus loads of bonus footage (including some bemused Danish teenagers who probably boast to their children and grandchildren about the fact that Led Zeppelin played to only about 50 of them in a studio). I would recommend this DVD to anyone who has ever owned any Led Zeppelin Album - and none of this was ever released on Video.
Jimmy Page and Dick Carruthers have gone to extraordinary lengths (must have taken them years to do this) to reconstitute film with sound from sources such as 2 inch Video (apparently they had to search world-wide to find anything to play the tape
on!!).
Don't delay - get this. It's bloody marvellous - most of it in DTS too. If you've got a good 5.1 system - why haven't you got this yet?!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another quality mystic biscuit from our heroes, 5 Sep 2003
This review is from: Led Zeppelin [DVD](2003) [Region 1] (DVD)
The best way to describe this package is to describe my response on hearing and seeing the two discs in one sitting through dts surround sound. Spookily good! hairs standing up on the back of my neck and it may be a cliche but it was like having the band in my front room. The sound quality is the success story of this package - choose between 6 channel stereo or dts, both good with dts having the edge. If you have neither of these then an investment is due. The film footage is very good too. You may notice from time to time when the picture flicks to odd angles of the band and odddly coloured outlines of Robert and Jimmy - thats where the original footage is missing or of poor quality. Its well put together though and the splices hardly impede the viewing quality. For one thing all the film footage shows Led Zeppelin as the insanely precise outfit we all believed they were. The live experience is witnessed in full. Bonham and JPG hammering out precise and complex rhythmn whilst jimmy goes nuts on the guitar in the most rock-jazz robot kind of way only he knows how. The most interesting concert footage for me however was the Knebworth gig. I never liked the studio version of Achillies last stand and was never that taken with anything from that era. They must of worked hard before the gig to obtain the precision with all the tracks presented here as I was blown away by the aforementioned song as much as anything else. An immense performance which made me think that 10+ years together as a band does weird things with their understanding of each other, musically that is. The hair styles and clothing is not of seventies origin, a more 80's and reasonably normal dress code from both Page (suit and blue shirt)and Plant (curious perm and black spotted shirt. For me this was just plain weird as I never think of Led Zeppelin other than in the 70's guise. Anywho, this is a must have, but make the most of it and buy surround sound.
Moth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Footage You Could Hope For, 5 Jun 2003
By 
Mr. E. Prince "A. BLOKE" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Led Zeppelin [DVD](2003) [Region 1] (DVD)
I am a huge Led Zeppelin fan, and as such you would normally take anything I say with a pinch of salt, but believe me when I say that this is an astounding DVD. Yes the footage is at times 30 years old, but it doesn't suffer for it. Apart from occasional white outs, which have been masked with stills, there is extensive footage, with close, intimate camera work. The rendition of Moby Dick blows TSRTS out of the water, Bonzo's passion, and incredible technique are clear. Very few bands perform as well live as Led Zeppelin did, and this is Led Zeppelin captured at their best.
I have read a lot of reviews of this DVD from fans around the world, and not one has had a bad word for this release. I would love the opportunity to thank Jimmy Page for this chance for me to see my favourite band play live, as I was too young to catch them for real. If you like Led Zeppelin, remember they were a live phenomenon so this double disc feature is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stairway to Led Zeppelin Heaven, 28 May 2003
This review is from: Led Zeppelin [DVD](2003) [Region 1] (DVD)
(Excuse the bad title !!)
If like me you're not old enough to have seen Lep Zeppelin in their prime then this 2 disc DVD is essential.
Covering the bulk of their career this DVD has it all. There's some stunning concert footage, along with some rare and insightful extras. A whopping 5 hours 20 minutes of Zeppelin, what more could anyone want.
See Led Zeppelin in front of a French TV audience (and if you look carefully you can see someone covering their ears !!)
The indifference of TV audiences and the limitations of the equipment have been cited as reason they stopped TV promotion.
So that left the one and only true outlet for them - the live performance, and this DVD is packed with them.
Covering performances at the Albert Hall, Knebworth, and Earls Court, plus others, this DVD has been painstakingly assembled and compiled from mountains of old film, having said this the quality is stunning.
One of the most amazing sections is during "moby dick", and bonzo's mind-blowing 15 minute! drum solo, the man was a drumming genius. His arms are a blur of frenzied drumming, he even plays a section with no sticks, just his hands. There's loads of incredible performances, even a couple of acoustic numbers. The rendition of "since i've been loving you" is truly stunning.
There's not a single bad feature on this DVD, the extras are fantastic, and even the menus use rare unseen footage.
Not as good as being there, but probably the closest most of us will ever get.
If you're a fan of Led Zeppelin then you will love this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please double the five star rating, 11 Jun 2003
This review is from: Led Zeppelin [DVD](2003) [Region 1] (DVD)
This is undoubtably the best rock dvd ever. The 5.1 surround sound is excellent, and the picture is superb, yet again (even though they haven't been around for some 20 odd years) Led Zep shows the rest of the world how it should be done.
Okay so there may be a couple of minor gripes for those picky enough to find them, but the bulk of this release is faultless.
The best rock band ever, live in your own home, in gloriously clear colour, and superb surround sound.For those fans like me who were too young to catch the band live, this has got to be the next best thing, even better in some respects because you can relive the experience again and again and again.....
So why are you still reading this review, just buy the dvd now! and while you're at it get "How The West Was Won" on c.d. too, sheer flippin' brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puts the music of today to shame...., 10 Jun 2003
By 
Matt Harris (Halesowen, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Led Zeppelin [DVD](2003) [Region 1] (DVD)
A totally amazing DVD, mindboggling, they must surely be the most talented band of all time.
Robert Plant is sensational as the frontman, Jimmy Page on acoustic is the most beautiful thing I have ever heard, in particular on 'Thats the way' and 'Going to California'.
John Bonham's 'Moby Dick' is also out of this world. The band together hardly drop a note, and play with an amazing sense of raw power and unbelivable timing.
A must see DVD, with stunning live sets and rare interviews with the band that proves them to be the best band ever. Puts the music of today to shame...Long live Zep....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this now!!!, 5 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: Led Zeppelin [DVD](2003) [Region 1] (DVD)
As a 13 year old girl who missed them first time around, this is as close to seeing them live as I'll get. It is brilliant.
It starts with footage from 1970 at the Albert Hall with them all looking very young and less confident on stage than on The Song Remains the Same, but the music itself is amazing. It's worth watching just to see how young they looked.
Then it goes to 1972, with some 'bootleg' footage of them doing Immagrant Song. Next, is the songs from Madison Square Gardens that weren't shown on The Song Remains the Same. Well, two of them were. It is interesting to see their style of performing and confidence there compared to earlier footage. They were having fun and you can really see it.
Next is spome more excellent footage from Earls Court, showing three of their acoustic songs and the fantastic In My Time of Dying, as well as Trampled Under Foot and Stairway to Heaven.
Then there is Knebworth. They all look older, and more built (not fat at all, just bigger somehow) apart from Jimmy Page who still looks anorexically thin. The music is really good, especially Whole Lotta Love, with Robert Plant thanking the audience at the end for '11 years'. When they leave, the crowd sing 'You'll Never Walk Alone.' It looked really special, I just wish I could've been at ALL of the concerts shown.
Not to forget the Extras. There's some footage of them in the late 60s, all looking very very young but are very very good live on TV. Well, apart from one instance when they're miming badly. Also, there are interviews. One of them is asking Page and Plant about the Beatles, which is weird cause they are so different.
Anyway, if you're a Led Zeppelin fan, you simply have to buy this. It is ALL brilliant, amazing. BUY IT! BUY IT! BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the stunning 10 year journey of Led Zeppelin, 8 Mar 2005
This review is from: Led Zeppelin [DVD](2003) [Region 1] (DVD)
The power and content of Led Zeppelin's work will be appreciated by anyone who likes experimental music, whether rock, jazz or classical. In this phenomenal 2 disc set you see them evolve and change, and hear how the physical changes affected their music.
Nowhere is this transformation more evident than in Robert Plant, who in concert is one of the three most riveting personalities I have ever seen on a stage, and I have seen a lot. He starts out as a rather scruffy looking albeit brilliant performer on Disc One, the highlight (and one of the highlights of the entire package) is "Dazed and Confused", with Jimmy Page showing us why he's one of the most creative musicians in rock history, getting amazing sound playing his guitar with a bow. The audio/visual quality is a little fuzzy, but one feels fortunate the concert was captured, and we have this fine a record of it to enjoy.
Disc Two starts with a short take of the "Immigrant Song" from 1972 in Australia. This is rather jumpy film but it captures the energy of the moment.
It then moves on to 4 numbers (not in "The Song Remains the Same") from the '73 Madison Square concert; here you have the group showing definite signs of decadence, and obviously in a chemically induced haze, and I think it took the shine off their brilliance.
Earl's Court in 1975, the group looks healthier, with a lot more maturity, and a some astounding music; the beginning is "unplugged", with a fantastic "Going to California", and ending with the classic "Stairway to Heaven".
Knebworth 1979, and we see Plant, looking younger and positively gorgeous, in a blazing, glorious concert. "Kashmir" is my favorite Zep song, and for the ultimate treat, we get "Whole Lotta Love", to compare with the version on Disc One from ten years earier.
What a journey it was...bravo to Robert Plant, Jimmy Page, John Paul Jones and John Bonham for their outstanding musical legacy, and to Page and Dick Carruthers for this DVD package which contains some of the best concert footage ever seen and heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome....stunning...., 10 Oct 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Led Zeppelin [DVD](2003) [Region 1] (DVD)
I wouldn't particularly describe myself as a diehard Led Zeppelin fan. No matter. Let me spell this out quite simply: this DVD is compulsive, stunning, breathtaking viewing.

If you have any interest whatsoever in either rock music in general, or Led Zeppelin in particular, I would sincerely advise you to go out and buy this DVD as a matter of the utmost priority.

The DVD contains lengthy, digitally re-mastered footage from four pivotal concerts spanning the band's career: Royal Albert Hall (1970), Madison Square Gardens (1973), Earl's Court (1975) and Knebworth (1979). The sound and picture quality throughout are quite staggering (all in 5.1 surround sound) and perfectly captures the raw, visceral, uncompromising power of the music, the quality of the group performance and the band's extraordinary, mesmeric personal chemistry.

The Albert Hall concert, in particular, is a raw, sledgehammer-heavy, blues-infused tour de force. I prefer the shorter, tighter songs, which keep bombast to a minimum, but that's just a personal preference. The concert as a whole is phonomenal......spellbinding.

The 1973 Madison Square Gardens concert showcases the band at their absolute peak; consumate showmen delivering stadium rock to a world stage. It's a real pity, however (and the DVD's only shortcoming) that only four songs from the two night stand at MSG were selected for inclusion.

The Earl's Court footage from 1975 favours some of the band's more folk-flavoured material along with highlights from 'Physical Graffiti' and a fine 'Stairway to Heaven'. Only the Knebworth footage slightly disappoints; the performance lacking the cutting edge and youthful swagger of their earlier stage shows.

The pick of the bonus footage is a wonderful, impromptu live studio performance from 1969, recorded for Danish TV. The ease with which the band knock off a blistering set, culled mainly from Zeppelin I, is a delight to behold.

All in all, there are nearly six hours of sublime, historic footage to marvel over from one of the greatest rock bands of all time. Do yourself a massive favour - click that mouse and get this thing into your ownership at the earliest possible opportunity. Honestly, you are really going to enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Led Zeppelin [DVD](2003) [Region 1]
Led Zeppelin [DVD](2003) [Region 1] by Dick Carruthers (DVD - 2003)
14.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews