Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mac is back with a vengeance!
I was slightly worried when I went out to buy this album, after hearing every other song ever written by Fleetwood Mac and Stevie Nicks, that the Mac would have lost its fire and originality, along with Christine McVie. Luckily for me and everyone, this album is extremely pleasing, and not only has it not lost it's fire and/or originality, it has a power that I haven't...
Published on 6 Dec 2003 by morizzio

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars strong links to this chain
In this CD age, the pontificators of the music world deem themselves worthy of stuffing an insufferable amount of filler just because technology allows it. That is a minor problem with this otherwise worthwhile set from the Christine McVie-less outfit. The other being that it’s Christine McVie-less. People under-estimate the totality of her role in the eon that...
Published on 19 July 2003 by J. christian


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mac is back with a vengeance!, 6 Dec 2003
I was slightly worried when I went out to buy this album, after hearing every other song ever written by Fleetwood Mac and Stevie Nicks, that the Mac would have lost its fire and originality, along with Christine McVie. Luckily for me and everyone, this album is extremely pleasing, and not only has it not lost it's fire and/or originality, it has a power that I haven't heard in the latest Mac albums for a long while. Although it may take a while to find the wavelength it is on, the end result is unbelievably satisfying, with truly original and modern songs, without losing the old Mac feel, like 'What's the world coming to" and especially 'Thrown Down', which is my favourite song off the album, and I personally feel it is Stevie Nicks' best Fleetwood Mac song since 'Seven Wonders' in 1987. Lindsey Buckingham gives unmeasurable energy to every song, be it his or Stevie's, but especially his jaw dropping guitar solo on his own 'Come', and great work on Stevie's 'Running through the garden'. Other highlights include Stevie's 'Illume', 'Say you will' and especially 'Everybody Finds out', which has a great synth string solo at the end. So all in all, with or without Christine McVie, Fleetwood Mac can still rock, and harder if you ask me, and the only question left to ask is : WHY didn't this album get to number 1? Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fleetwood Mac's Edgiest Release Since Tusk, 15 Nov 2003
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Say You Will (Audio CD)
There has been some complaint that SAY YOU WILL doesn't sound like a typical Fleetwood Mac album. The irony, of course, is that there really isn't any such thing as a "typical" Fleetwood Mac album. With a history stretching back to the 1960s and line ups that have included Peter Green, Jeremy Spenser, Bob Welch, Billy Burnette and Rick Vito, the band has never really generated a consistent sound. And that has even been true of the "golden" line up of Stevie Nicks, Lindsey Buckingham, Christine McVie, John McVie, and Mick Fleetwood, whose work has run from the folk-hard rock fusion of their blockbuster RUMORS to the angst-ridden and anxious art rock of TUSK to the chime-like pop gloss of MIRAGE. So if you expect the same thing you've heard before, you're out of luck--and that's pretty much true regardless of which Fleetwood Mac albums you happen to be comparing at the moment.
SAY YOU WILL is easily the most edgy album the band has done since TUSK: at times grating, jarring, and incredibly dissonant, at times lyric and liquid and smooth. At it's best, it is Fleetwood Mac at their best; at it's worst, it's at least interesting. The CD is a bit slow to start, with a streak of four selections ("What's the World Coming To," "Murrow Turning Over In His Grave," "Illume," and "Throw Down") more interesting than actually enjoyable--but the Mac hits its stride with the fifth cut, "Miranda," and from there it never lets up, belting out one memorable selection after another.
But there's something missing here, and it's Christine McVie. Both Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks are what you might call extreme artists, and left to their own devices they can edge toward the self-indulgent. And in her absence, it becomes very obvious that the cool edge Christine McVie brings to the band with her rain-spattered blue voice and meticulously crafted pop melodies has been the artistic bridge between the two extremes; her sound--be it at the keyboard or her graceful and perfectly controlled vocals--is sorely missed here; without it, the band seems to lack a center.
All of that said, and while SAY YOU WILL falls short of the mark in Christine McVie's absence, it is still a solid Fleetwood Mac album--and perhaps more than any other of their albums it is one that requires several listenings before you begin to develop a feel for what Lindsey, Stevie, John, and Mick are creating here. Recommended--but if you're expecting the Fleetwood Mac of RUMORS, you'll be just as disappointed by SAY YOU WILL as you probably were by TUSK. And Christine McVie, if you're reading this, we all need you back with the Mac!
GFT, Amazon Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A UK Fan review, 27 April 2003
This review is from: Say You Will (Audio CD)
If you’re thinking that this is another Tango In The Night album, like 1987's release, then perhaps think again. This album heralds Fleetwood Mac's new album, "Say You Will" after their successful Reunion album, "The Dance" and features a special edition CD album as well as its mass released version. Although there is an apparent absence of keyboard contribution by Christine McVie, this album seems to be able to blend McVie's characteristics from the past;
The title track, "Say You Will," seems to have a typical Christine McVie undertone and marks a title track that Nicks has written for the first time during her career with the band. However, Christine's absence has brought an earthy feel to this album, similar in sound to Tom Petty of old ("Steal Your Heart Away") alongside Stevie's tambourine contribution and BV’s by Christine in this particular song. In hindsight, "Say You Will" makes a good CD to have in your collections, and brings back hints from Buckingham's solo albums' creative content in this album with songs such as "Red Rover" and the excellent "Murrow Turning Over In His Grave," amongst other greats. "Miranda" features excellent guitar work again, similar to Buckingham’s' excellent live rendition of "Big Love" on the Dance live album. Stevie's song “Silver Girl,” brings memories of a style similar to Christine McVie in sound. "Destiny Rules" by Stevie Nicks has given John McVie a similar bass to her solo single release song from her album Trouble In Shangri La, "Sorcerer" as well as feel. So, to every fan that has got this album, there are songs here that everyone can identify with in feel, sound and creativity. It is apparent though that certain energies have been created to get messages across from the slightly bewildering "Illume (9/11)" contribution by Nicks displaying her thoughts surrounding September 11th tragedy as well as Stevie’s final thanks to Lindsey and to the band perhaps for their get together in producing this wonderful album ("Say You Will")
To sum up, this is an excellent album from the band and should be in every fan's selections as well as people who have loved Fleetwood Mac at some point in their life. Christine’s absence isn’t felt so much though as electronic effects have been added to suspend and collaborate with Buckingham’s guitar additions. This band has come a long way with Christine McVie, but her presence is still felt on this album. Stevie's farewell song, like a couple of albums before from Fleetwood Mac, ends with "Goodbye Baby," similar in style to her version of her song "Crystal" from the Practical Magic soundtrack album, leaving the listener with warm feelings and basking in the light that Fleetwood Mac's albums have done before. Not exactly another Rumours album, but very close to it. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No hit singles, but a very good album nonetheless!, 15 Sep 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Say You Will (Audio CD)
OK, where do I start with this album? Like just about everybody I know, I have been a Fleetwood Mac fan just about all my life. This album delivers a good solid Fleetwood Mac performance, with their edgy, ever interesting - and ever changing - sound. None of these tunes hit it big as singles, but they are great songs nonetheless. My personal favorites are Say You Will and Say Goodbye, both of which are excellent!
My one and only complaint against this wonderful album is that they laid some protection on it, to keep the pirates off, but it also keeps me from playing it on my computer. I listen to CDs on my computer at work, but I cannot listen to this one. :-(
But, that said, this is a very good Fleetwood Mac album, one that I enjoy listening to every chance I get. I highly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trust them...this is what they do.., 21 Nov 2003
By 
Damien Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Say You Will (Audio CD)
Word for word, lyric for lyric, chord for chord, arrangement for arrangement...this may be Fleetwood Mac's finest recording. That is indeed a big boast but I have every confidence that fans will concur.
It has been a long time since the Mac recorded together...we have living off the tunes of the past gladly sheparding them in the "thanks for the memories" section of the CD stand. This album has been the surprise of 2003, firstly because of their sudden reappearance (brave in itself) and secondly because it is a truly wonderful piece of music.
The magic touch that Lindsey Buckingham brings to FM and, especially, to Stefanie Nick's songs can't be overstated. He has matured and, before its too late, realised that this band wins always over his solo career (good though it is).
It is true to say that there isn't a weak song on the album. It starts with typical Lindsey tracks "Whats the world coming to" and "Murrow's turning in his grave"...you know at this stage that somethings special has arrived
We then hear some really outstanding Stevie tracks..the September 11 gentle tribute "Illume" and possibly the best track "Thrown down"...with distinct FM guitar and harmonies.
Miranda is "Lindseys' answer, a song with a "tusk" feel. we note John McVie's tremendous bass contribution. "Say you will" makes the perfect pop song and rightly made progress in the charts. "Red Rover" is guitar heaven but also very touching and sad. "Peacekeeper" brings a sobering anti-war feeling. This track also made the charts and brought attention that the 2003 reunion is for real.
The album continues in this vein.."Come" is soft one minute yet furious the next. There are other gentle tracks "Bleed to love her" and "Silver Girl".
Near the end of the album we hear a most special track ""Everybody finds out", a song that experiments a little with sound and a song that suits that higher pitched voice of Stevie Nicks. "Destiny Rules" has the most catchy guitar riff.
This album has "grammy" written all over it.
Fleetwood Mac -Thanks for everything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great comeback album, 16 July 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Say You Will (Audio CD)
This is a great comeback album from a great group. It has some wonderfully written songs, Stevie's beautiful voice and exceptional guitars from Buckingham. What more could you want? Buy this album and relive one of the best line ups fleetwood mac has ever had, reunited and playing some of their best stuff.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mac are Back, 28 Nov 2003
This review is from: Say You Will (Audio CD)
I am a bit of a cynic, and a Fleetwood Mac fan. All I can say is that this album has exceeded my expectations. Fleetwood Mac has produced some truly superb albums in the past, and this one is a match for anything they have produced to date.
So, Stevie Nicks sounds a bit old, as does Lindsay Buckingham. At the end of the day, this is worth every penny. There's a lot of dross on the music scene, and Fleetwood Mac reminds me of what it's like to listen to talented musicians playing their instruments, and playing them well.
In fact, playing them superbly!
This album is really, really good
Long live the Mac
Rob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars strong links to this chain, 19 July 2003
By 
J. christian (brooklyn, ny United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Say You Will (Audio CD)
In this CD age, the pontificators of the music world deem themselves worthy of stuffing an insufferable amount of filler just because technology allows it. That is a minor problem with this otherwise worthwhile set from the Christine McVie-less outfit. The other being that it’s Christine McVie-less. People under-estimate the totality of her role in the eon that is Fleetwood Mac. While many of her songs are FM [and F.M.] classics, the importance of her contributions as an over-all factor is lost on the hordes of Stevie Nicks fanatics. But, she was the middle ground, tying together the space cadet flakiness of Nicks and the avant-gardism of Lindsay. That said, there is still plenty of that avant-gardism and flakiness – which, in the realm that is Buckingham Nicks, feels cozily at home. And there is still no denying their power of songwriting craft. In spite of the aforementioned minor quibbles, adding only a few missteps along the way [e.g. Nicks’ lazy drawl brings down a few of her tracks], Lindsay’s brilliant ‘Red Rover’ & ‘Miranda’ are oddly beautiful and emulous, and Nicks is haunting on ‘Goodbye Baby’ and splendid on new Mac classics ‘Running Through the Garden’ and ‘Smile At You’. Buckingham utilizes Nicks’ gift for harmony gloriously. And, second only to the Stones, John McVie and Mick Fleetwood continue to prove that legendary rhythm sections are not made of folklore, but breathing and alive and kicking. I’m not sure how Christine would have fit in on this CD, but as it stands on its own entity, this is Fleetwood Mac’s most satisfying and consistent work since “Tusk”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcomed return to form!, 24 April 2003
The return of Fleetwood Mac is a joy to behold, even if there has been a gap of 8 years to produce a new studio based work, and in Lindsey Buckingham's case, 16 years since 'Tango In The Night.' But this is no nostalgic package or a rush of songs designed simply to cash in on the brandname. Although the Mac miss the presence of Christine McVie, the album's 18 tracks sparkle, and the band display tremendous passion and energy. The rhythm section of Mick Fleetwood and John McVie continue to impress as ever. And the songwriters themselves are in fine form. Stevie Nicks shines with the breezy 'Thrown Down' and adds a sterling vocal to 'Smile At You'. She is also responsible for the cheerful and exuberant title track, featuring a very catchy chorus in true Mac fashion. Buckingham's own efforts are just as special. The seductive nature of 'Come' launches into a powerful guitar and organ driven song, while 'Red Rover' and 'Say Goodbye' display his underated guitar skills. Ultimatly, the best songs on the album are found with radio-friendly 'Peacekeeper', together with the feel-good 'Steal Your Heart Away' and 'Bleed To Love Her' (familiar to Mac fans who hear this song on 'The Dance' live album). As well as a brief cameo from Christine, and contributions from Nick's friend Sheryl Crow, this is without a doubt, the best effort to come from the Mac since the equally ambitious 'Tusk'. This version also comes complete with a bonus disc; a fine Dylan cover, a new song by Nicks and live versions of 'Peacekeeper' and 'Say You Will'. With the band at the top of their game, it looks like 2003 could be the year of the Mac. Many new bands could learn something from them! (I have the import version of this album, which is exactly the same as this one - hence the review!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Tusk than Rumours, 23 April 2003
This review is from: Say You Will (Audio CD)
This album has a long and torturous history, but for those of us who were waiting for the solo album that Lindsey Buckingham announced he was working on during 'The Dance', this is as close as we're going to get.
That said, the Mac are on good form here. The album overall has a similar feel to Tusk, with Buckingham and Nicks both giving vent to very different approaches to songwriting, but with the absence of Christine McVie giving them both more room to manoever. It's hard to say how the album might have turned out had she come on board. Her silky vocals and arrangements might have served to smooth off some of the rougher edges of both Nicks and Buckingham, but would that have been a good thing? Perhaps not.
Buckingham takes a cue from his seminal 1992 solo effort 'Out of the Cradle' by alternating between well-crafted classic pop songs (What's the World Coming To?, Peacekeeper, Steal Your Heart Away, Bleed to Love Her) with some rawer, more experimental work (Murrow Turning Over in His Grave, Come, Red Rover). His guitar riffs are as usual flawless, even the ones he has lifted from Mac classics like Gypsy and Big Love (again!), although some fans of his more melodic playing might find the odd one-note solo a bit tedious. The lyrical development he began on 'Out of the Cradle' also continues on this album.
Stevie Nicks produces her reliable brand of soft/country rock (Thrown Down, Say You Will), but also contributes some harder edged material, most notably Illume (9/11). Her vocal collaborations with Buckingham on both her songs and his are particularly rewarding.
I wouldn't say this album was an immediate pop hit like Rumours or even Tango in the Night. Like Tusk, it's lengthy and a little quirky in places, but I believe that the songs reward repeated listening, giving it greater longevity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SAY YOU WILL
SAY YOU WILL by Fleetwood Mac (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews