Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon MV600
What can I say about the MV600? Its light, produces excellent video and is possibly the best value for money camcorder on the market. The MV600 as pointed out is a basic model. Firewire port/AV output only (and no firewire cables), no case, no tapes and limited Windows XP software, so buyers should be aware of what you do not get. What you do get is a fun, easy to use...
Published on 4 Jun 2003 by Alan King

versus
45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting Buzz out of Canon
This camcorder does everything you'd expect an entry level machine to do, plus a little bit more.
The various shooting modes are well thought out, but do note that the advertised "night mode" is simply a slow shutter/low frame rate option that produces quite grainy and jerky results.
The picture quality is excellent, and the various connection ports all do what...
Published on 10 Aug 2003 by Peri Urban


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting Buzz out of Canon, 10 Aug 2003
By 
Peri Urban "periurban" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon MV600 Digital Camcorder [Mini-DV 18xOptical DV-out] (Electronics)
This camcorder does everything you'd expect an entry level machine to do, plus a little bit more.
The various shooting modes are well thought out, but do note that the advertised "night mode" is simply a slow shutter/low frame rate option that produces quite grainy and jerky results.
The picture quality is excellent, and the various connection ports all do what they should. With a firewire card installed in your PC, editing is easy and pain free (as long as you have some decent software, the camera comes with no editing software).
But there is one major problem.
The internal microphone picks up the sound of the motor. This means that everything you shoot is marred with a constant and very loud whine. Even when shooting in moderately noisy environments it is audible, and when recording speech in a quiet room, it can actually drown out softer speakers!
An external microphone is essential, and whilst you can pick these up for little more than the cost of a pack of tapes, it will add to the bulk of the camera, and unless you buy Canon's own (very expensive) microphone, you will need to carry extra batteries too. It's a bit of a pain, to be frank!
So, a great camera potentially spoiled by sloppy sound insulation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon MV600, 4 Jun 2003
By 
Alan King "Alan King" (Lincs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon MV600 Digital Camcorder [Mini-DV 18xOptical DV-out] (Electronics)
What can I say about the MV600? Its light, produces excellent video and is possibly the best value for money camcorder on the market. The MV600 as pointed out is a basic model. Firewire port/AV output only (and no firewire cables), no case, no tapes and limited Windows XP software, so buyers should be aware of what you do not get. What you do get is a fun, easy to use camera that produces excellent video. It has some nice video effects and various program functions including night shooting (some light is still needed for exceptable results - full moon etc) so the MV600 still has some techie things you can fiddle about with! I have found only 2 slight issues that I have with the MV600. Firstly Canon claims the standard battery supplied (BP-508)has a life of 75-100 mins depending on conditions and which viewfinder/screen you use. The actual battery life is more 35-60 mins, so a spare battery is essential. The MV600 charging method is via the camera itself so you will have to buy a seperate charger (charging takes around 110mins for the BP-08)if you want to film while your spare battery is charging. Secondly the MV600 has a very easy-to-use zoom feature, however the zoom switch is spring loaded to return the switch to the center position. If you release the switch during zooming the switch swings back to the normal position under tension and produces a rather loud tap sound each time it happens. As the MV600 can record in 16bit quality this sounds terrible on video! I now keep my finger on the zoom switch and guide it back into its center position (no tapping). Apart from these 2 small grumbles, I have found the MV600 a pleasure to use and it deserves 5 stars esecially at the asking price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 101 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic , small & extra kit needed to appreciate fully, 26 Mar 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon MV600 Digital Camcorder [Mini-DV 18xOptical DV-out] (Electronics)
If you have a very limited budget for a camcorder, this model is pretty good value for money for a digital camcorder, quite easy to use and comfortable to hold. There is a good sized LCD screen and an adjustable view finder. The quality of the pictures taken are very clear as is expected with a digital camcorder. The functions available are limited, the next model up in the range the Cannon MV600i has a few more features including smart card memory for taking digital photos and MPEGs that can be easily downloaded via USB, but it is a bit more pricey, but worth it if your budget can strech to it. The MV600 does not have this function (it will still take photos, but it records them onto tape) and there is DV-out but no DV-in as listed in the technical specification on Amazon. If you want to edit your videos on computer once you've recorded your footage, you will need an IEEE 1394 connection (which isn't included), though its pretty straight forward to transfer footage onto VHS with the leads supplied. The camcorder can also double up as a webcam for video conferencing (provided you have the IEEE 1394 connection on your computer and Windows XP as the software supplied only works with XP) In fact not much is included with the camcorder. You will also need tapes, also not included and its also a carry case of some sort (also not included). Another concern is the speed with which the battery ran out and its worth buying a spare battery if you are thinking of taking it out and about. This is my first camcorder and I was looking for a machine that would be small/light enough to take on holiday and simple to use, i.e. can be taken on a plane as hand luggage (preferably smaller than my hand bag) and the instruction manual must be lighter than the machine. The MV600 weighs about half a kilo and is pretty compact compared to other models in the same price range and the English instruction manual is quite thin despite providing instructions for four models, though I have to say the manual was a bit confusing at first as it told me a lot about what the MV600 couldn't do, but what the other models in the MV6** family could do! However, because this is the base model, there weren't so too buttons and terminals to get confused with and it was quite easy to suss out what most of the buttons were for. This is a pretty basic machine so not much can go wrong. If my budget could stretch to the MV600i, I would choose this model over the MV600, but you will still need the same extra kit as mentioned above to use the machine fully. However, if you are just looking for an uncomplicated, good quality camcorder without any fuss of extra features, this might just do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost, just not quite, 10 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Canon MV600 Digital Camcorder [Mini-DV 18xOptical DV-out] (Electronics)
Having bought this just a few days ago, i was remarkably suprised at its size. it is tiny! Although lacking in size, this camera delivers astonishingly good sound and picture quality. The LCD screen is most useful for small editing tweaks, and of course as a viewfinder. Watching your shots on it may be tedious. The only down side? Battery life. One Mini-DV tape is 1 hour on standard play (the camera supports long play as well- 90mins) The battery supplied lasts around an hour and 15 minutes, so its well worth getting a spare. Charging takes place on the camera itself, not with an external charger, which is annoying to me, as wires lead everywhere when watching on a TV and charging at the same time.
Other disadvanteges include: No DV input- you can play araound with your footage on a PC, but can't get it back onto the camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic camcorder, 4 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Canon MV600 Digital Camcorder [Mini-DV 18xOptical DV-out] (Electronics)
This a fantastic intermediate level camcorder at a great price.I have used many photography products from Canon before, and as always was very impressed to see that Canon does always give great value for money to it's customers.
The 18x optical zoom is awsome for people who have used zooms of 3x, 5x.
The recording quality is fantastic. The audio/video quality is excellent.
The camcorder is easy to handle/operate with all the buttons/controls well placed/designed.
This camcorder has colour viewfinder in addition to the colour LCD screen.
The user manual is well laid out and gives clear instructions and examples of use, though I guess for most part you won't need the user manual, because the controls are self explaining.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon MV600, 17 May 2003
By 
Andrew J. Blakemore "andyblakes2" (Walsall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon MV600 Digital Camcorder [Mini-DV 18xOptical DV-out] (Electronics)
Unbeatable value. Posseses a high power 18x optical zoom and colour viewfinder. Feature packed and really easy to use.Sharper images than the MV500 series due to upgraded sensor and yet retailing at over 100 cheaper than the MV500 model it replaced.Unbeatable value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon MV600 Digital Camcorder [Mini-DV 18xOptical DV-out] (Electronics)
Unfortunately, the write up on the Amazon site failed to state that the camera had a fault. Apears theses cameras suffer from a problem with the ccd.sensor, preventing camera from functioning fully. That is, the camera couldn't see anything. Seems to be a known issue with this model camera. For me not a problem. Playback and transfer function to a PC to allow what I needed the item for. May see if I can get it fully repaired one day.
Otherwise item packed well, and delivery on schedule as advised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon camcorder at very competitive price, 21 Mar 2003
This review is from: Canon MV600 Digital Camcorder [Mini-DV 18xOptical DV-out] (Electronics)
Canon is a well known name in the technology industry.So no surprise that the camcorder looked rather impressive. The Canon MV600 Mini-DV digital camcorder is very compact and rather nice to look at. The compact size is a major plus. It records on the mini-dv format which gives good picture quality. It has a DV out which allows you to send stills to your PC for editing. It has features other more expensive camcorders have like night mode ( enables recording in low light conditions), electronic image stabiliser, audio dubbing e.t.c. Definitely a very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic little camera, 27 Dec 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon MV600 Digital Camcorder [Mini-DV 18xOptical DV-out] (Electronics)
This camera is great value for money. The quality of both film and audio is exceptional. I recommend that you buy a firewire cable so that you are able to download your video to your computer so you are able to edit and create special effects on your video then e-mail it to a friend (or even put onto CD).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nice Camera, when it worked, 7 Nov 2003
This review is from: Canon MV600 Digital Camcorder [Mini-DV 18xOptical DV-out] (Electronics)
I bought one in July. I used it a few times and then it malfunctioned. I didn't return it within the first month. Canon's policy is to repair it, not to replace it.
In my opinion this is a crazy policy. Compact electronic devices are not designed top be tamperered with or repaired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews