Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Music!
For the first time tracks that have only ever been heard on tour and on dancefloors are available all on one CD!(ABOUT TIME!) Dating all the way back to the old skool of 1995 it is a collection of totally unique and perfect instrumental beats to please any Aim fan!
Having owned "cold water music and "hinterland" and also numerous albums from the amazing Rae and...
Published on 7 April 2003 by youngdaniel85

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but it's no Coldwater Music
Intelligent hip-hop is the best way to describe AIM, aka Andy Turner. With two cracking albums already under his belt in the shape of Cold Water Music and Hinterland, Means Of Production is a retrospective collection of earlier releases, neatly brought together in one handy CD. Well, it beats carrying round a clutch of twelve-inch vinyl, that's for sure. If you're not...
Published on 12 July 2003 by Mr. P. Ridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but it's no Coldwater Music, 12 July 2003
By 
Mr. P. Ridge - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Means Of Production (Audio CD)
Intelligent hip-hop is the best way to describe AIM, aka Andy Turner. With two cracking albums already under his belt in the shape of Cold Water Music and Hinterland, Means Of Production is a retrospective collection of earlier releases, neatly brought together in one handy CD. Well, it beats carrying round a clutch of twelve-inch vinyl, that's for sure. If you're not familiar with the name, imagine a harder Massive Attack with a hint of an orchestra, a touch of house and just a smidge of scratching and you'd be on the right lines. Effectively a singles collection from 1995-99, Means Of Production is more upbeat and dancefloor oriented than the albums, which worked so well because they were like nothing else around at the time on the rap scene. In fact, to call it 'rap' at all is a misnomer as there's virtually no 'rapping' at all on any of his work, but rather a more subtle blend of bluesy vocals and the odd bit of 'spoken word'. There's no posing or posture, just an elegant soundscape crafted with love. The highlight is an excellent Rae & Christian remix of Loopdreams which is worth the money alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Music!, 7 April 2003
This review is from: Means Of Production (Audio CD)
For the first time tracks that have only ever been heard on tour and on dancefloors are available all on one CD!(ABOUT TIME!) Dating all the way back to the old skool of 1995 it is a collection of totally unique and perfect instrumental beats to please any Aim fan!
Having owned "cold water music and "hinterland" and also numerous albums from the amazing Rae and Christian (who mix and engineer this album)this album has everything you could want! Funky, up beat, intelligently mastered hip hop to down tempo, chilled, soulful and relaxed listening.
My favourites include "Let the Funk Ride" a magical mix of samples,scratching and a beautiful guitar loop! Will have you bobbing your head all day! and also "Soul Dive" just an absolutely gorgeous uplifting song. Other highlights are "Concentrate", "Just Passin'Through" and "Phantasm" all totally unique and perfectly created!
This album sums up Aim in all there glory! Truly genious that must be listened to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars impeccable - this will not leave your stereo!, 1 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Means Of Production (Audio CD)
If your considering purchasing this cd, stop pondering - do yourself a favour, buy it now!
This album quite simply rocks . If your new to aim, this is as good as any place to start. If you already own both CWM and Hinterland, then this will be a most welcome addition to your collection.
Mr Turner continues to drop intricate beats, collages and grooves and intertwines them like no one else can. This is most apparant on track 3 , let the funk ride. If your not reaching for the repeat button after this track there's something wrong with you!
This album doesn't mess with that distinctive aim sound - jazzy, innovative, old-skool, funky, beaty, the sound of pure quality.
If you were hoping for some new aim sound, you won't get it on this album, what you will get is ten outstanding tracks that will blow you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hip hop lessons for all, 13 Mar. 2007
By 
P. J. Ollerton "PJO" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Means Of Production (Audio CD)
Still required listening a decade on. Just Passin' Through is one of the finest hip hop tunes of all time, complete with Wynton Marsalis and Harlem River Drive samples. Loop Dreams (not the remix alas..), Concentrate, Soul Dive, and Phantasm are timeless tracks, way better than anything on the subsequent albums. You can also hear Evil Knievel laying out his philosophy on life to a class of schoolkids. If you are lucky enough to find them you'll pay a fortune for these on 12".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Aim, 18 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. Jeremy Joe Taylor "Incredible inch" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Means Of Production (Audio CD)
This is unmistakably Aim. Laid back beats, vocal samples, including 'retro information programmes' and a lazy vibe which is so easy to listen to. It isn't up to the same standard as Cold Water Music. I can't say why; it is excellent but just makes a happy second best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aim "Means of Production", 17 Mar. 2003
This review is from: Means Of Production (Audio CD)
Subtitled "Singles 1995-1999" Means of Production collects tracks from Andy Turner's 4 EP releases prior to his debut LP Cold Water Music. The quality of these tracks rivals anything on either of his subsequent LPs charting a clear progression from his debut Pacific Northwest EP ('Concentrate', 'Let the Funk Ride' and Diggin' Dizzy') though to 1999s Downstate EP ('Demonique' and 'Coast Road').
In general the material reflects the more upbeat moments from Cold water Music or Hinterland with the focus on the dancefloor (tracks like 'Soul Dive' and 'Phantasm') though the pinnacle is surely Rae & Christian's fantastic remix of Loopdreams, still my favourite Grand Central tune to date.
The only quibble here would be that 3 mixes from the 4 EPs have been left off the LP (including the excellent 'Lazy Vocal' mix of 'Soul Dive') but this doesn't change the fact that this is a very good collection of downbeat tunes previously unavailable on CD and almost impossible to find elsewhere on vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 14 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Means Of Production (Audio CD)
Simple - must buy, essential for any real music lovers collection - innovative music at its best. I feel i should probablry write sometthing like fat now, only with a "ph", but i won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic piece of work, 7 April 2003
This review is from: Means Of Production (Audio CD)
I thought i knew what type of music defined me as a person. I thought i knew the type of music that i loved. This album and the others before it (cold water music, and hinterland) have changed my perspective on music ten fold. This album gives us the chance to here the sounds of Aim before he graced us with his first album back in 2000. This album provides you with the singles or 12s that gave aim his reputation between the years of 95-99.
I have had has this album a week, and it has not left my cd player. it really is that good, i could say this about all of aim's albums, there something refreshing and different about all of them. They just all sound amazing, each album stretches your ears, and makes you actually hear beats in a way you have never heard before.
Means of production offers some truly great moments, my personnel favourites are Soul dive, the first time i heard this i just was like "yeah this is awesome"it made me want to tell all my mates exactly what i was listening to, as i knew that they were missing out on something great. Second would have to be Concentrate. This just makes me wanna move. this may sound a very simplistic thing to say, but there is nothing else to say. This album along with the other two as mentioned, really have altered the way i think and ultimately feel about my music.
Because i know that there is something different, better, and more exciting out there. And right now i have found it. Really, please get this album, even if your not really into hip hop, i wasn't and this purchase was one of the best that i have ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 25 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Means Of Production (Audio CD)
This album contains all those tracks pre-"cold water music" which helped Aim get their second to none reputation. The ideas and tracks are just as fresh and outstanding as when they were conceived. This is definatly a must have for any Aim fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Means Of Production (Audio CD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Means Of Production
Means Of Production by Aim (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews