Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get involved on this!!!!
What a brilliant CD..this really does take me back!
This CD is allabout the next stage from the rave culture then swinging into the mid90's. Dance music took off in another
direction and DJ's finally began to recognise the changes from pumpingacid house to soulful, funky, vocal, House/dance mucic!
From the mid 90's and onwards 'going out' was all about...
Published on 27 April 2004

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars crap
I'm 32 and my hubby's 37 we were looking for a decent cd that would take us bk to our clubbing days ! This cd didn't do that so if you were a raver or into trance music DON'T buy this its utterly, crap
Published 3 months ago by lee mc laughlin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get involved on this!!!!, 27 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Back To The Old Skool Club Classics (Audio CD)
What a brilliant CD..this really does take me back!
This CD is allabout the next stage from the rave culture then swinging into the mid90's. Dance music took off in another
direction and DJ's finally began to recognise the changes from pumpingacid house to soulful, funky, vocal, House/dance mucic!
From the mid 90's and onwards 'going out' was all about making someeffort!
This CD has cleverly achieved that real dance music feeling
that was loved by everyone and still is today! By many of us, includingmyself these tunes are sadly missed. They may have gone but they aredefinitely not forgotten! This album is a true
reflection of danceculture after the mid 90's. The only tunes missing from this album has tobe JX-cant keep my hands off you and DJ Flavours-your caress.
Towards the end of the decade the progression of speed garage becamehighly popular e.g Sandy B, Rip Groove, Spin Spin sugar, Ruff Driverzetc.. There even appears to be a come back with speed Garage
in manyplaces now! Thank god!
At the moment i really cant think of anything worse than Sean Paul andthat dreadfull Beanie Man! Whats happend to the good old days of thefunky, lively, dance music that was around????
Oh well thank god for the likes of Hed Kandi and Defected..theres stillroom for good House Music!
Anyone agree? curlygirly92@hotmail.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A totally true reflection of mid 90's CLUB classics, 9 Sep 2003
This review is from: Back To The Old Skool Club Classics (Audio CD)
I've got 90% of these songs on singles but never got round to compiling my own CD. This is absolutely brilliant and has the advantage of a fully mixed compilation, so if like me you were at college/uni 7-8 yrs ago and spent many a Friday night in your local (dance) club/uni bar you'll not find a better CD to remind you of those fantastic times. If your after a trance/house CD or pre 1995 this isn't really for you, but there are plenty of these around anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really was born in the wrong decade..., 28 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Back To The Old Skool Club Classics (Audio CD)
As an 18 year old I missed out on clubbing to Old Skool music....for a long time this bothered me UNTIL Ministry of Sound starting releasing these excellent compilations. From Lovestation's "Love Come Rescue Me" to the all-time classic "U Sure Do" by Strike...this cd has everything I could ever want to replace missing out on probably one of the best eras of dance there has ever been....one thing missing though- Blackbox "Ride On Time"....now that's a song to get up for....this cd is brilliant-buy it if you are like me-wanting to get into older dance music or if you are the 20-something ravers struggling to remember your youth-this cd has it, and more....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top old skool tunz!, 6 Aug 2005
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back To The Old Skool Club Classics (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of dance music in general and especially old skool club tunes. This compilation has all the big floor fillers of the 90's on it and will bring back many memories for many I'm sure, and a great era of music to new listeners. There are other various old skool compilations but few have as many of the top tunes on them as this does as well as a few you love but forgot the names of, Ripgroove in my case. The best tracks in my opinion are Insomnia a real classic the same as Dreamer, Passion great beat and vocals much the same as Show me love, Another night, Spin spin sugar, The real thing are 3 different tracks all great dance tunes. The music is just great and is the happy feel good music that will get anyone in the mood to boogie on down! ; )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Nostalgia Trip, 15 April 2003
By 
G. Ormrod "georgie" (lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back To The Old Skool Club Classics (Audio CD)
Unlike most Old Skool albums about this one doesn't stop at 1994!! This album follows on from The Ministry's other Old Skool compliations with more 'up-tp-date' classic skool tracks from the mid-90s onwards.
The compilation has both the huge tracks that were smash hits as well as some more off-beat songs that keep it interesting & diverse from other compilations in the genre.
The mixing between the tracks is as professioal as you'd expect from Ministry & the choice of mixes of each track makes the album flow really well.
My only gripe is that it's a shame cds don't run longer than 70-odd minutes as afew tracks have been seriously cut to fit in, which is a shame. Other than that it's an amazingly happy nostalgia filled album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant set of Old skool, 16 Nov 2005
This review is from: Back To The Old Skool Club Classics (Audio CD)
Set of nicely mixed fairly well containing all tracks and tunes you would think putting on. Alot other too a very good old skool set along with like Old skool euphoria worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take a trip back in time...., 16 April 2003
This review is from: Back To The Old Skool Club Classics (Audio CD)
I saw the ad on TV for this CD a few days ago, I knew I HAD to have it! I'll just get straight to the point, this CD is great. Songs that I had totally forgotten about have all come flooding back, great times, great memories. I've bought 'Back to the old school' albums previous to this, nothing compares though, this is the crem de la crem of old school. From the start this CD (x2)it really kicks off in the party mood with the club classic Dreamer by Livin' Joy, most of the stuff is from early 90's and with a couple of 'not so classic songs' it's the only reason why it didn't get 5/5. It is well on its way though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars TRACK JUMP?, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To The Old Skool Club Classics (Audio CD)
LOVELY CD BUT THAT,S WHY I BOUGHT IT??
I TRACK JUMPED?? WAS GUTTED BUT THAT,S LIFE WAS GOING TO SWOLLOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old Skool from Amazon, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Cheekysheep - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To The Old Skool Club Classics (Audio CD)
What can you say about the Old School Club Classics, a timeless classic, cheaper than iTunes and you get to keep a hard copy (CD), a purchase with no draw backs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Banging Songs from the old skool., 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To The Old Skool Club Classics (Audio CD)
What can I say about the this cd. Absolutely fabulous music. Memories came flooding back! Can't wait to hear other cds purchased from amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back To The Old Skool Club Classics
Back To The Old Skool Club Classics by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews