Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An up-close insight into these wonderful creatures
I was given this as a leaving present, as a kind of joke, but my colleagues didn't realise I've always loved ants and really wanted one of these for ages! I wasn't disappointed. This is a well-designed product which provides hours of entertainment and fascination. I've seen all sorts of strange things going on in my Ant World: ants moving things around then back again...
Published on 3 Aug. 2008 by Mindpower

versus
46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Escaping ants
My live ants arrived in post really quickly, service and customer care at interplay is faultless.. However after just 2\3 days I found the odd ant outside the tank, couldn't work out where they were escaping, after a week and finding maybe 10 ants loose, some of which across other side of room! rang interplay for advice, which was that I maybe had a tiny gap between...
Published on 18 Jan. 2012 by Mrs. E. Stankovich


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Escaping ants, 18 Jan. 2012
By 
Mrs. E. Stankovich (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ant World (Toy)
My live ants arrived in post really quickly, service and customer care at interplay is faultless.. However after just 2\3 days I found the odd ant outside the tank, couldn't work out where they were escaping, after a week and finding maybe 10 ants loose, some of which across other side of room! rang interplay for advice, which was that I maybe had a tiny gap between connecting frame work so my advice is.... When pack arrives, take care to click pieces carefully together! Once sand is in, it's impossible to do so, so I have taped every seam! customer care at interplay added that when the ants are happy it's possible to leave tank open and theyre not interested in leaving! They gave a tip of leaving drop of honey in feeding station, which so far, has certainly caused a stir with the ants, I'm hopeful I now have happy ants that won't be escaping..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 115 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An up-close insight into these wonderful creatures, 3 Aug. 2008
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ant World (Toy)
I was given this as a leaving present, as a kind of joke, but my colleagues didn't realise I've always loved ants and really wanted one of these for ages! I wasn't disappointed. This is a well-designed product which provides hours of entertainment and fascination. I've seen all sorts of strange things going on in my Ant World: ants moving things around then back again like women designing a living room with furniture, a brutal murder when an ant I thought had escaped turned out to clearly be from outside (i.e. it was killed within minutes of entry), and interesting preferences for lunch: fruits not as popular as one might think, honey, other insects and even nuts proving popular on the menu. Further, there's plenty of ways to improvise with this kit, and I also think the teamwork ethic the ants display is a nice lesson for children (and adults!) I've had this product for 3 years and bought another one to compare red and black ants. The reds I brought in from outside, the blacks I ordered from Interplay. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - I never knew ants were so cool, 1 April 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ant World (Toy)
Well this arrived about a month ago but we waited until the weather got a little warmer to collect our ants, Jam works wonders!!! Two days and the ants have been really busy digging!! My children are two and four and they love watching the ants although they do think they need feeding everyday!! My husband and I are the most fasinated with this. The product was a little fiddly to put together but we've had no escapees so I am happy. All in all a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 21 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ant World (Toy)
My son got this for Christmas. Having seen a brilliant ant set-up at Lakeland Wildlife Oasis, I was enthusiastic to make this work. Ordered the ants from Interplay and followed the instructions to a tee having read them from start to finish several times before starting. Had no problems putting it all together, although putting the mud/sand mixture in was a bit fiddly. The ants just didn't seem interested in surviving in there whatsoever - couldn't even be bothered to dig into the sand/soil. They just milled about a bit for the first couple of days and then got slower and slower before they finally ground to a halt and died. Could be that there was no queen, but the manufacturer doesn't supply queen ants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great fun at first - then what?, 22 Jun. 2013
By 
spYder (UK via elsewhere) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ant World (Toy)
Bought for kids as fun and learning. Easy and enjoyed setting up together. Found ants and watched for a few weeks as they built tunnels. Few weeks on and nothing more to do or see. Release 'into the wild' and start again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 1 Dec. 2007
By 
C. Christie (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ant World (Toy)
My son of 6 got this as a birthday present from a friend and he and his brother (age 4) have been fascinated by it ever since. It is fiddly collecting the ants and getting them into the plastic box - adult help is essential - but the boys really enjoyed finding an ants nest and locating the queen which you need to do. It was a great success watching the ants build the colony and fun for the boys to be actively involved by feeding the ants - made a good 'show and tell' at school as well. Can be cleaned out and used again - although you would have to get more sand. Really recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy , fun !, 3 Dec. 2003
By A Customer
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ant World (Toy)
That's true, you will have to pick the ants yourself! A walk in the woods will help you to find them from the same colony ( better for them to work together). This farm ant is just great, easy to set, esay to feed, easy to observe, not too big, and definitely easier to handle than a dog (lol). The children get involved and responsable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, brought for grandson who loved it, 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ant World (Toy)
Excellent ,brought for grandson who loved it,but us adults loved it too. You definitely need to make sure when collecting ants that they are from same colony,otherwise as we found out,they fight,we did order our ants on line like it says you can in instruction book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but when you buy ants online you can't seem ..., 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ant World (Toy)
Good but when you buy ants online you can't seem to put them in the farm without them trying to escape so at the moment they are all still living in the test tube connected to the farm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and educational, 19 April 2008
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ant World (Toy)
I bought this for my niece and she liked it. Its a great gift for kids who are curious about nature and interested in science. Easy to install. Only downside is its not as big as I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ant World
Ant World by Interplay UK
£7.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews