Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i loved this film
This film is slightly predictable but wonderful. Small twists as the plot ran it's course made this film enjoyable. Terrific performances by Matthew Rhys and others added to the outcome, leaving me with an intense feeling of wanting to buy this film. It was wonderfull, i can honestly and really reccommend this film.
Although it was kinda predictable it was wholly...
Published on 28 April 2003 by forgiveboromir

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Didn't know what to expect but overall wasn't a bad film - entertaining and kept me interested to the end.
Published 18 months ago by Lostinromance


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i loved this film, 28 April 2003
This film is slightly predictable but wonderful. Small twists as the plot ran it's course made this film enjoyable. Terrific performances by Matthew Rhys and others added to the outcome, leaving me with an intense feeling of wanting to buy this film. It was wonderfull, i can honestly and really reccommend this film.
Although it was kinda predictable it was wholly enjoyable and perfect for a girls night in, after all, everyone loves a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is amazing!!!, 20 April 2007
By 
A. Box - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this film - it was all I expected and more!You know those films that you put on and they automatically bring a smile to your face and make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside well this is one of them!!!

Its an adventure, period drama, action, romantic comedy, drama and swashbuckler all rolled into one!

Its definatley one for the ladies though - I couldnt help but swoon over the two male leads!!!

This is definatley one of my fave films - a must-see!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a film not to be missed!!, 15 Dec 2005
By A Customer
I love this film! Its class actors' superb performances make it a thoroughly enjoyable watch. There is no getting away from the fact that it is a romantic comedy, so if that’s not your thing then this might not be for you, but its great comic timing make it enjoyable for all viewers. The only slight draw back of this film is that is does make you feel like you'd like to be 'abducted' by a lovely, gorgeous (slightly Irish-accented and looking like Mathew Rhys) gentleman on a white horse who'd take you away and marry you, just for the hell of it! ... but other than that, it's fab! The most under-rated film of the past 5 years, a thorough recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light, Clever Escapism, 24 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Abduction Club (DVD) (2002) (DVD)
Loved it for several reasons: (1)This is not a dreamed-up scriptwriter's tale. Abduction clubs really existed in Ireland in the 18th century. Improvements in inheritance laws would eventually make them unnecessary, but for a time, abduction was a way to snare a monied bride. (2)These fictitious characters are really quite funny, or at least what happens to these two smart-aleck, good-looking rogues when they take on the Kennedy sisters is. (3)The film has a quick pace and one does not have to worry much about how it will turn out. Sometimes you just want a film like that. Too bad it has never been released in the United States. I watched it in Europe. Some critics found it distasteful and degrading to women, but I am an American career woman and I enjoyed it. Come on, U.S. distributors, why are you not picking this one up?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A feel-good period romance, 8 Jun 2008
By 
Lilacstar (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Abduction Club (DVD) (2002) (DVD)
I thought this was a great little movie that parodied the troubles of those 'unfortunate' enough to be born second sons in the gentry. It is witty in places, making me laugh aloud several times. I thought both the leading men were great - in looks and acting. Strang definately steals the movie. I smiled all the way through and would definatley watch it again.

The critic in me though couldn't help but wonder why Catherine sounded a little wooden when she revealed the truth about the family fortune. The story could have been stretched a little longer.

Overall, a different take from your usual regency-type romance since it doesn't take itself too seriously. One I'll be adding to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun romantic period drama, 1 Oct 2012
By 
Josh "The Claw" (Wherever I'm needed) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abduction Club (DVD) (2002) (DVD)
This film, based upon the real life exploits of less eligible batchelors of the nobility, is a fun rolic through 1800's Ireland. The period detail is good, it is a fun film, but there is also betrayal and danger, and of course romance. Not a classic, but enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight but great fun, 19 Jun 2014
By 
Joe Joe "Ego Joe" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abduction Club (DVD) (2002) (DVD)
This is not a cerebral film, it is a great family romp, funny and a little sad at times. Beautifully filmed, and of course the fantastically beautiful Sophia Myles to look at. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Abduction Club (DVD) (2002) Alice Evans, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abduction Club (DVD) (2002) (DVD)
Good family entertainment fun film with know immorality old fashioned adventure and love story we both enjoyed
watching this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this film, have since i saw it on tv, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abduction Club (DVD) (2002) (DVD)
A great funny historical romance, the plot is obvious with hero's etc but fun to watch highly recommended for fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abduction Club (DVD) (2002) (DVD)
Didn't know what to expect but overall wasn't a bad film - entertaining and kept me interested to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Abduction Club (DVD) (2002)
The Abduction Club (DVD) (2002) by Stefan Schwartz (DVD)
5.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews