Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great new artists!
This is such a good album! Track 2 'out of place' by Gavin Thorpe is a wonderful David Gray/Coldplay type intelligent heartfelt song, Track 1 by Leslie Millis is really catchy and cool, all Oliver James's (star of the film) ballads are lovely and John Gregory's song number 15 is a brilliant goosebumpy delight. Don't be fooled by the appearance of Craig David and Holly...
Published on 23 April 2003 by Alexandra Gray

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars big mistake
Played this and only first track played properly. The rest were all distorted. On second try even the first track was distorted. Very disappointed
Published 5 months ago by trevor williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great new artists!, 23 April 2003
This review is from: What a Girl Wants (Audio CD)
This is such a good album! Track 2 'out of place' by Gavin Thorpe is a wonderful David Gray/Coldplay type intelligent heartfelt song, Track 1 by Leslie Millis is really catchy and cool, all Oliver James's (star of the film) ballads are lovely and John Gregory's song number 15 is a brilliant goosebumpy delight. Don't be fooled by the appearance of Craig David and Holly Valance (I'm not a big fan of either) all the new artists on the album make up for anything they lack. I'm listening to the album over and over and buying one for a friend...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace!, 6 Mar 2004
By 
Mel (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: What A Girl Wants (Audio CD)
This album is the best! I feel it really sets off the film, which is great too. The songs are really catchy, and are great if you need cheering up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a Girl Wants Rocks!, 2 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: What a Girl Wants (Audio CD)
The music on this cd was fabulous. The movie itself was really good. I really like the mix of upbeat and ballad songs on the cd. They are so catchy. If you liked the movie then you should definitely pick up the album as it has all the good tunes from the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amanda, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Girl Wants (Audio CD)
Enjoyed the film, enjoyed the music. What else to say other than Amanda Bynes (for my husband) and Colin Firth (for me)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars big mistake, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What A Girl Wants (Audio CD)
Played this and only first track played properly. The rest were all distorted. On second try even the first track was distorted. Very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really worth it !!, 7 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: What a Girl Wants (Audio CD)
When i watched the movie, i couldn't keep saying to myself" the music is really cool !!" . So i wanted to buy the soundtrack. the problem was that i live in france, and it doesn't exist there, so i had to buy it on amazon.co.uk, and make it come all over from england !! But it was really worth the trouble !! this cd is GREAT !! Most of the song are unknown, but they are all fantastic !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unexpected wonder!, 29 Oct 2003
This review is from: What a Girl Wants (Audio CD)
i bought this soundtrack just on an impulse buy really. i was amazed however by just how great in infact was! the music varied to suit different tastes and i really enjoy listening to it. oliver james, who also stared in the film has an excellent voice and easily blends in to all the other talents of the soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a surprise!, 25 April 2003
This review is from: What a Girl Wants (Audio CD)
Soundtracks are generally fall into two camps these days,,ones that are filled with b sides and songs from established artists who are about to release a new album,,the others are ones that are filled with songs from unknown artists that the record company is desperate to plug.. This CD does not fall into either catogary,and is unusual in that its appeal lies right across the board,,from kids to adults who like contemporary music. This is not a bad thing but it does make for an album which is no cohesive, the songs seem to be grouped together in catogories and you get the feeling that it doesn't flow but that said, its not bad.
The opening track, good life, is a real summer stunner, sort of sheryl crow lite,, and its the first song in a group lumped together to be called 'rocky pop' the follwing song by newcomer Gavin Thorpe, is ok. Meredith Brooks makes a real barnstorming effort with Crazy. The following song,London Calling is the classic by the clash,,mercifully no one has covered this. This is followed by The Donnas, rock chick group of the moment. Two songs by singer Oliver James,, who also appears in the movie, and they aren't bad, sort of daniel beddingfield but not as good. To make sure that it sells well in Europe, Kiss Kiss by Holly Valance is included,,along with a whats your flava by Craig David,,both of these are known to the uk, and possibly the US too. This is followed by the shabby song i wanna be bad by Willa Ford, its sound is dated and similar to britney spears. Duncan Sheik contributes one of the better songs, Half Life, not known in the UK, his voice soars on this ballard, a very good song. Newcomer Erica Rivera performs Somebody Stop Me, which is ok, very much like christina milian and err, what happened to her? The other newcomer on here is Lucy Woodward,,whose sound is similar to sheryl crow, the song whats good for me is ok. The final track stands out strongly, Ride of Your Life by John Gregory, is sensational, a rocky feel good inspirational track and not disimilar to the goo goo dolls.
One of the major surprises on this CD is the production values, producers include Rive Droite, Mark Taylor et al(cher, celine dion, daniel beddingfield) Murlyn,(celine dion, ruby amanfah and Bellefire) and John Shanks,(laura pausini, Michelle Branch, and celine dion)
On the whole a reasonable CD, although you get the feeling that most of the tracks on here are just pushes to get the artists into american radioplay. It could have done with some more well known faces on it, and considering most soundtracks are a mixture of songs, this on the whole is a good attempt at a soundtrack which gels in someplaces, not all.
I gave it 4 stars, just for the opening track, good life,, and Ride of your life!
go and buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What a Girl Wants
What a Girl Wants by Various (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews